We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
17
45
49
32
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
45
49
32
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews door pool walking distance bed room the location is perfect cable tv free wifi sledding summer skiing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 196 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

Basic motel with all the amenities needed. We stayed there in summer and the motel has perfect outdoor pool with many inflatable toys. The location is very close to the city center, good restaurants and shopping.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Svetlana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

First off, this is the second time we've stayed at this location, and both times we've been put in different rooms, different buildings. If we had to rate this motel based on the first visit, we'd rate it "average." If it's based on the second visit, we'd rate it "poor." The main reason for the difference is the building in which you are placed. The newer building seems adequate, which is probably why some reviewers give a more favourable review and others do not. The old buildings (and there are a few) are quite old and dated. That being said, we're doing the review on our last visit, which is in one of the old buildings.

We were disappointed when we first walked into the room, as it was very dark on the inside and it felt like a throwback to the '50s. Old chairs, sink, toilet and bathtub. The bathtub was so old that the shower had a rusty screw and wing nut assembly that you pull out to start the shower water flowing. On the plus side, the shower was nice and hot. The archaic brown AC unit is above the sink and you have to stand on a chair or on the sink counter to turn it on and off. On the plus side, it did work and kept the place cool while it was on. The door and windows were dilapidated. It took us quite awhile to get into the unit as the lock just didn't seem to want to open. After jiggling it for awhile, it finally opened. The door looks like someone tried jimmying it open at least once in it's past.

There is a mini fridge and microwave in the unit. Both worked well for our needs, despite their age. What concerned us was the number of appliances plugged into one, old power bar, with no other options to plug in elsewhere.

The beds were fine. We slept well for our one night. The room had a newer TV and newer flooring/carpeting, which was a few of the nicer features of the room. Towels and linens were fine too, though not too many towels were provided.

The overall impression we had was that tourists probably get put in the newer building and labourers or maintenance workers stay in the old. Personally, since our second stay was a bit of a disappointment, we are considering staying elsewhere next time. Even though it was still cheap, it was still more expensive here than other newer places for what we got.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moongloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

We have been travelling over Alberta and BC and stayed in all.types of accommodation.
Mary's is an honest , down to earth Motel. Very clean and the location is perfect.
The receptionist, Julie was very friendly and helpful as was the handyman.
It's not expensive, so don't expect concierge services and all the trimmings. But if you want a quiet place to get your head down while you are travelling it is perfect. In fact Golden is one of the friendliest places we have visited.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jamesey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

It’s one of the most cheapest places to stay near Yoho National Park. The rooms are okay but there’s an old smell. The bathroom is actually nice. The lady is friendly. There’s parking and you can book on the previous day.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank danielacP2927KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Price, pool and position. Walk to anything in town, Spirit Square and IGA just a block away. Large scale operation but everyone is still friendly. Internet has just been upgraded so reach and reliability has been greatly improved.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews