We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts make for an unforgettable stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts make for an unforgettable stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Four of us, 2 adult couples from Montreal and Calgary, spent the night of July 18th at Glenogle Lodge. We wanted our Montreal cousins to experience a quiet evening in the mountains as it was their first trip West; it was our first time at the lodge as well, but the reviews in Trip Advisor were so glowing that we wanted to try it.
When guests arrive, they enter a large main room which features the registration desk, a bar, fireplace lounge, and a dining area with lots of windows. Doris greeted all of us with hugs and showed us to our 2 spotless rooms in the lodge itself which were on the main floor just off the main lounge space. More rooms are upstairs.
Although both the owners had spent the day building a retaining wall, Doris quickly rustled us up a large, tasty meal in her large kitchen. While dinner was being prepared, we enjoyed the hummingbirds on the balcony-porch, and were delighted when a deer decided to graze just below us. We invited Doris and Norbert to join us as we ate, so while we chewed, they sipped wine we had brought, and told us the story of their hard-working lives. A thunderstorm temporarily took the power out, but luckily it was restored in half an hour or so, as they told us otherwise we would have just "one flush" each, and no hot shower until the power returned!
Glenogle is not luxurious, but it is comfortable. It is memorable because of the personalities of its owners and its quiet setting. The beds are good, the rooms and linens clean and fresh, and the food rib-sticking and creative. Don't expect TV, radio, or the Ritz Carlton but do expect an experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrkd4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    23
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
94
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NWT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Glenogle Lodge to attend a wedding at one of the nearby mountain resorts. When we were not out hiking or attending the wedding, we were completely looked after and fed Doris' fabulous, personalized gourmet meals and entertained by Norbert's stories. We had a lovely breeze blowing through our spectacular mountain view room at night, despite the heat outside. Some of the wedding guests staying elsewhere were quite unhappy with the noisy accomodations they had selected, so we were especially happy with our choice. We plan to return to Glenogle with our family this winter to enjoy the lovely hot tub and sauna after skiing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaela60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked this room because of the reviews. Doris is very welcoming and took us to a brand new cabin not far from the lodge. The cabin was adequate and very clean. In fact I would say spotless. This couple are obviously very hard workers and take great pride in their property. The property has great potential.
It was not what I or my hubby were expecting. Golden that day was 33 degrees. There was no air conditioning, no TV, no books, reading material, & no radio! Doris looked exhausted and no wonder as it was so hot. She asked if we had eaten but we said we would drive back into town. It was obviously too hot to ask her to cook.
This property is very quiet, there is not much else to do here but enjoy the company of your companion(s), Doris, her hubby. Perhaps the lodge itself would have offered more amenities. The reviews in the BC Accomodation guide states that this property is luxurious. It is a long way from being luxurious, it is adequate and clean and as I mentioned quiet. If you are looking to get away from it all, spend your time in isolation with zero interruptions, then this is the place for you. There is no granite, hardwood, flat screen TV's, bath products or plush towels...bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cndn40sumthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

I booked a stay at Glenogle Lodge thanks to the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor. I got Doris on the phone for the booking and in no time at all, we were conversing not only in German but the same dialect (give or take a few kilometers).

On arrival, the most amazing smell from the kitchen welcomed us (reception, kitchen lounge and restaurant are kind of in the same room). Doris wellcomed us and showed us to our spaceous and spotlessly clean room which definitely showed its German heritage.

For dinner, there was no menu. Rather you would negotiate with Doris what you wanted and she would cook it for you - and Doris is a great cook. The meal was finished off with a genuine Mirabellenschnaps, a private import from the Black Forest.

The beds were the most comfortable we ever slept in. Breakfast was booked for 8:30/8:45-ish. The table was ready with a big pot of coffee. I ordered the eggs on the soft side and we waited to be surprised with the most delightful breakfast of fried mushrooms, vegetables and onions with six eggs dropped on top and the oatmeal pancakes - delicious!

Needless to say... we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brn2bru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

I booked our stay with Glenogle based on all the reviews from Trip Advisor. When we arrived I was greeted with a huge hug from Doris. She made us feel so welcome it was as though we had known her for years. She took the time to learn my children's names and even gave them a big hug. While talking with us she found out that my husband was german and had a favorite food. When dinner arrived Doris had cooked us up the most fabulous dinner with my husbands favorite food, huge portions and excellent service!!

Our rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen. The beds were the most comfy I had ever slept in during our travels. My children when to sleep early while my husband and I sat on the balcony right outside our door and listened to the babbling creek. That evening we made plans with Doris for breakfast and once again were amazed! The oatmeal pancakes are now my new favorite food and I have been craving them since we left. We also had home made sausages!!!

Norbert as well always had a smile on his face and would take the time to answer any of your questions and even just stop to chit chat.

We left that day knowing that we will be back someday!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrydumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

This was a return trip for our family of 4, including 2 teenagers. This time, we were in cabin 2, a very quiet, comfortable and clean 2-bedroom cabin, which sported comfy warm duvets for all, and had a gas stove in the living room. It also had a full kitchen, which we only used for snacking. Perfect for a holiday-season relaxing ski getaway! After busy days skiing and tubing at Kicking Horse Resort, we were thrilled to retreat to the quiet comfort of our accommodations, knowing that Doris would take very good care of us with hearty delicious meals (her apple pancakes in the morning and the deer and rabbit at New Year's Eve dinner were most amazing!), and that we would meet interesting new dinner companions each night at the tables put together by Doris and Norbert. So European!

Our teenagers enjoyed watching every football bowl game possible on the satellite television in our cabin, and playing pool in the recreation room in the main lodge before every dinner.

Our hosts were most helpful in providing us with advice about highway travel to Revelstoke (unfortunately, the weather was not great on the days we wished to go) and on local activities.

This lodge is a labour of love for the owners, and it shows! For a warm friendly experience in the quiet surroundings of spectacular mountains, you cannot do any better! We are sure to return!

Amaste, Toronto

  • Liked — The personal touch of the owners.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex U.K.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Having read some of the reviews we changed our touring itinerary to experience this Lodge. Everything that has been said about Doris and Norbert is absolutely true - they are amazing hosts. From the moment you step into the reception area and receive a welcoming hug from Doris you feel like one of the family. We had reserved a room, but Doris insisted that we changed to a superior room which was superb - spacious and spotless ! From the tea and cakes on our deck to the wonderful dinners and breakfasts everything was exceptional. Why did we only book for two nights ? I wish that we could say that we will return soon, but British Columbia is a long way from the U.K. If we ever visit the Rockies again this will be our number one stop (and we'll stay longer). Thank you Doris and Norbert.

  • Liked — Wonderful hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
18.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Property: Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing