We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a spot in the mountains just outside of the National Parks after spending the day at the Columbia Ice Fields glacier. What an amazing location overlooking two mountain passes! We were greated at the front door by the owners, (one of whom gave my wife a great big hug upon entering). The rest of the time we felt like family. Great meals cooked onsite by the owners themselves, and best pancakes we've ever had! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkielstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    23
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
95
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It's a lovely setting several miles out of town with some rooms in the hotel and several freestanding cabins. Super clean and comfortable. No need to go elsewhere for food since the restaurant is fantastic (reviewed separately). Nice to have WiFi in such a remote place. Doris and Norbert work hard to make the place great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, AB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nowhere have we ever received such a warm welcome....a hug from Doris, just like we
were family whom they hadn't seen in a long while. And so, it continued, we were treated so special. From our welcome and everything in between which we will also agree with other reviewers, the food was home made, delicious, plentiful, and spectacular, to our extended departure (it's truly hard to leave), we can not thank them nearly sufficiently. Our stay was truly enjoyed because of our host and hostess Doris and Norbert. We highly recommend this beautiful location and enjoy Doris' cooking. Her menu has several selections to choose from for dinners and her breakfast buffet,
complete with anything you could possibly wish for. Norbert provides off the cuff entertainment effortlessly with his serving skills and hospitable nature. Thank you Doris and Norbert.....we'll be back!! E&J St.Albert, AB/ T&B Perth, Au.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms with full ensuite bath facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nallie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Went to Golden for the Walk with the Wolves and stayed at the Glenogle Mountain Lodge. We were welcomed as soon as we walked in the door, and felt very welcomed for our entire stay. It was like staying with family! Doris and Norbert were fantastic Hosts, from the conversations to the cooking, 10 all around. When there, make sure you try the German Beer, excellent! But best of all, try the pancakes, they are so awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Glenogle Mountain Lodge. It’s a little off the beaten path, and you can feel the pace slow down as you pull up the drive. Beautifully designed, the lodge has large, charming rooms and an excellent restaurant. The owners and chefs, Doris and Norbert, are very entertaining, and they have developed a large and loyal following, which is due at least in part to Doris’s legendary pancakes. We highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Upon arriving to the Lodge on our motorcycles, we are greeted warmly by Doris, the owner. She shows us our room and once we're done unloading and changed, we have a pint of German beer to sit and relax on the deck overlooking the valleys and mountain range.
Doris discusses with us if we would like to have dinner there and if we would like something that she will create for us. Of course we go for her creation.
Later that evening we had the best dinner that we had on our entire trip. The schnitzel served with mushroom sauce and spaetzle was tender and delicious. We also had Doris's home made German cheesecake. What a treat!! As for breakfast, we can't say enough about Doris's secret pancakes. I am not a pancake person, but had to try these and they are to die for. Not like any regular pancakes you have ever tasted!!
The room was clean and comfortable and a very good size. We would definitely recommend the Glenogle Mountain Lodge and Spa for the food, good company and homey atmosphere. We will be back. We departed the lodge hugging Doris goodbye.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Dear Doris and Norbert,
I tried to send you a regular email but could not get it to go.
We are now pretty well back in our Arizona home routine, arriving here last Thursday around 3:00 pm. We had a wonderful stay in Bozeman, MT. for four days and were sad to leave our friends home, built much like yours, but without the wings off the sides. They sit on 100 acres and have their own lake, that John had to bring back to life. They had it drained, scooped out the messy part, refilled it and put in aerators, and stocked it with trout, which keeps them alive during the hard winter freeze.

The first day out, John showed Luke how to fly fish. The next day they went out and he caught an 18 inch rainbow trout within 20 minutes. The next day he went out on his own and came back 15 minutes later with a 19.5 inch cut-throat trout that I liked better. John was shocked and said it was the biggest fish ever caught there in the last three years! They were delicious, and John and his wife Karen, cooked them on a cedar plank they soaked in water for 4 hours before putting on the grill. They were wonderful!

We will remember our stay with you with the warmest of affections. What great people you are to welcome us strangers into your gorgeous home.
It is a beautiful lodge and the warmth you provide to your guests is just wonderful. Now, the meals you prepared as quick as can be, were scrumptious! We continue to be amazed at how fast you, Doris, could serve the most delicious food, satisfying all our requests...truly amazing. Of course your apple pancakes were the big hit with all of us for breakfast.

We will also compliment you on your rooms that were the most comfortable we have ever stayed at. The beds were big and great mattresses, not to mention the spacious size of the room, one could dance in. We consider ourselves to have been very fortunate to have John tell us about your wonderful lodge.

Please know you will always have a special place in our hearts for your warm, wonderful welcome to your fabulous lodge. If only there were more lodges like yours to stay at! It was very special.

Love to you both,
Miriam and Bill and of course, Luke!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountains-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
468 reviews
2.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
204 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Property: Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing