We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST Place we ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Ranked #8 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Dear Doris and Norbert,
I tried to send you a regular email but could not get it to go.
We are now pretty well back in our Arizona home routine, arriving here last Thursday around 3:00 pm. We had a wonderful stay in Bozeman, MT. for four days and were sad to leave our friends home, built much like yours, but without the wings off the sides. They sit on 100 acres and have their own lake, that John had to bring back to life. They had it drained, scooped out the messy part, refilled it and put in aerators, and stocked it with trout, which keeps them alive during the hard winter freeze.

The first day out, John showed Luke how to fly fish. The next day they went out and he caught an 18 inch rainbow trout within 20 minutes. The next day he went out on his own and came back 15 minutes later with a 19.5 inch cut-throat trout that I liked better. John was shocked and said it was the biggest fish ever caught there in the last three years! They were delicious, and John and his wife Karen, cooked them on a cedar plank they soaked in water for 4 hours before putting on the grill. They were wonderful!

We will remember our stay with you with the warmest of affections. What great people you are to welcome us strangers into your gorgeous home.
It is a beautiful lodge and the warmth you provide to your guests is just wonderful. Now, the meals you prepared as quick as can be, were scrumptious! We continue to be amazed at how fast you, Doris, could serve the most delicious food, satisfying all our requests...truly amazing. Of course your apple pancakes were the big hit with all of us for breakfast.

We will also compliment you on your rooms that were the most comfortable we have ever stayed at. The beds were big and great mattresses, not to mention the spacious size of the room, one could dance in. We consider ourselves to have been very fortunate to have John tell us about your wonderful lodge.

Please know you will always have a special place in our hearts for your warm, wonderful welcome to your fabulous lodge. If only there were more lodges like yours to stay at! It was very special.

Love to you both,
Miriam and Bill and of course, Luke!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountains-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

My brother and I spent a week at Glenogle, and Doris and Norbert, the proprietors, treated us like we were part of the family, with one important exception- we had no responsibilties, they did everything for us. Doris' cooking is beyond compare(who knew that a key to a tasty salad is a touch of sugar or ever heard of potato crusted chicken or oatmeal pancakes?) and the enormous portions which were quite welcome after a full day of hiking, were remarkable. Doris and Norbert could not do enough for us. When me legs ached, Doris provided a 1 1/2 hour massage. The rooms were clean, the grounds lovely, the prices quite reasonable and i could go on and on. The key point- how could u not stay here?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Four of us stayed at Glenogle and we could not have asked for more. The hosts are amazing, the food was outstanding. The property was beautiful with amazing views and the rooms and cabins were so comfortable, clean and well maintained. I will definitely stay here again if I find myself in Golden.

Room Tip: The cabins were huge - great for families or couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBGAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

the 2 people that run glenogle lodge are the best and by the time you leave youll feel like part of the family,also the food there is the best you could ask for.over all the beds and the spa is very nice and i will stay there when ever i go 2 canada

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke64100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Wow. We were two couples coming from Lake Louise, unfortunately the pass was closed due to mudslide so we had to go to Radium and then back up to Golden. We had intended to arrive at 7pm but due to traffic and detours, and construction we got in around 1am. Doris was up waiting for us and genuinely concerned. She greeted us with giant hugs and whisked us off to bed; you can worry about the paperwork in the morning. This greeting was only the beginning of the incredible hospitality.

The buffet breakfast was amazing. And after a day of white water rafting (at Glacier Rafting Company 5/5) we decided not to go eat in town but to try some of Doris' German cooking.

Doris told us to arrive at 7, and that she would make us a dinner that wasnt on the menu. What sh created was mix of traditional German foods that was out of this world! We really had no idea what we were eating, but it was all so amazing! Absolutely delishious food (not at all diet friendly - but we didn't care because we were on vacation). For $200, four of us ate like kings, split a bottle of wine and enjoyed delicious desserts and coffee.

The service and hospitality was over the top!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Gorgeous lodge - beautiful patio and house. Delicious food too. Make a day of it and just enjoy the natural beauty and hospitality of Doris!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mscglouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay with Norbert and Doris. As other guests have said they could not be more welcoming and the food was lovely. The position of their home is gorgeous, so peaceful with fabulous views. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Ros27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
5.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 18 in Golden
366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa

Address: 913 Oster Rd | Box 2078, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: $150 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast Lodge. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa is one of Golden’s newer exquisite accommodations, designed to exceed all your getaway expectations. Our attention to detail and outstanding service will contribute to your creation of a memory to cherish. Our Lodge is nestled in a quiet valley, about 8 km north east and 400 m above Golden, British Columbia. You will find yourself amidst spectacular views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountain Ranges. The breathtaking view of the mountains and the bubbling creek will bring you back to your Center. Our licensed lounge and European cuisine will fill your spirit and ensure you have a grand getaway. Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa features a beautiful dining area with spectacular views and fireplace. The dining area was built around an extremely large tree, which lends to the amazing architecture of the lodge. Glenogle features 10 luxurious rooms with soft warm down duvets and fluffy bathrobes, as well as a 2-bedroom suite, complete with living area and a big-screen TV in the main lodge. We also have 3 private, cozy and fully equipped chalets for those romantic getaways. Glenogle Lodge is the ideal setting for small weddings, romantic getaways, family reunions, vacations, retreats, business meetings. Indulge yourself in our comfortable surroundings, enjoy a massage after an active day or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenogle Mountain Hotel
Hotel Glenogle Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing