We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great size condo, AMAZING mountain escape amenities are not convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great size condo, AMAZING mountain escape amenities are not convenient”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First off i have to say Kicking horse mountain resort is a newly developed ski resort that is up and coming and so far really great.
We attended a wedding at the top of the mountain and it was truly the most incredible views and location for a ceremony. The gondola allowed access for everyone and anyone can enjoy the views and some easy to complex hiking if you desire.
I would absolutely recommend this resort location for a beautiful wedding ceremony, special event or anyone that wants to do hiking or mountain biking. There is an awesome grizzly bear refuge right under the gondola so you can often see the bear underneath you on the ride up.

We rented a spacious one bedroom condo in the Palliser lodge.
The building itself was fairly new. Checking in was very hard to figure out, we had to drive back down and around to a lodge four buildings away to check in which was confusing and not convenient and there are no staff in this building to point you in the right direction.
The front desk service was ok but other than check in or check out, we never saw a staff member in 3 days.
This is a condo type getaway so there is no housekeeping service or front desk and the lodge we stayed in only offered one small pool and no other amenities. The beds were also not at all comfortable and the linens and towels were all on the poor quality, scratchy side.
Also, you have to walk down the hill to the little village to get any food or otherwise.

The couple restaurants we did go to were great overall though and they do offer a little of everything in this village.
If you are looking for a private condo style stay, this resort is suitable and i would recommend a hot tub room. If you prefer a coffee shop or available staff or any hotel type services, you should stay in the mountain lodge itself which is where we checked in at.

The condo lodge was average, however Kicking Horse Resort village overall is one of the most incredible mountain getaways i have experienced. The hiking trails are so well laid out and the whole mountain experience was fantastic. I hope this resort is able to develop more soon, perhaps add some camp sites or other services. There was a mountain biking competition on the go and lots of people had to tent it in the gravel parking lots as there were no other options.

I woud highly recommend renting a house instead of a condo for a big group. Every house up there is a brand new incredible estate style chalet and the 3 homes our families were staying in were all absolutely stunning and affordable for a big group.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private hot tub. The suites are really large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for you recent stay and candid review of the resort and the Palliser Lodge.

The main Front Office for all of the Bellstar properties (including the large estate homes) is located at The Glacier Lodge building. The housekeepers do come by your room after your third night stay, where they will replace all linens and amenities. The small pool located outside is actually a large common hot tub for all guest to be able to use. Some of the Palliser Lodge rooms do come equipped with private hot tubs, while others do not. Other amenities within Palliser Lodge include a common BBQ located in the courtyard for everyone staying to use, and a fitness center located right beside the hot tub entrance.

Thank You again - Your great comments and suggestions will assist other travellers in making their travel plans more complete. We look forward to be able to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    21
    23
    7
See reviews for
41
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SK, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the Kicking Horse Palliser Lodge on July 23, 2013. We noiticed this lodge on the internet, when searching for a place to stay on our trip to BC. They had a special rate on a "guest" room, so we decided to book there. We have never stayed at a ski resort before, so being off season, we thought we'd try it out. We had been driving most of the day, and it was getting to be after supper, when I realized on our reservation, it said that check-in was up to 6:00 and after that to call a phone #. I did that, and a cheery man answered and said not to worry, as he'd be there until 10:00, and to come to the Glacier Lodge to check in. We didn't know where the Glacier Lodge was on the property, so we drove around. We first found the Pallser where our room was. We stopped there, and walked in. It was dark, no one at the desk and no one around anywhere. Not the reception we are used to and it felt different, We knew we had to find the Glacier Lodge, but thought we'd take a look at the building we were going to stay at, and thought maybe there might be a map of the facilities there, but didn't see one. Then we drove further, after passing another building "Mountaineer", we came across the Glacier Lodge. My suggestion to the resort is to put up some signs pointing to each building so people like us, who drive in for the first time, know where to go. Another sign saying "register at the Glacier Lodge" or something would help. The man at reception at the Glacier was very friendly and gave us all info we needed to find our room. They do have a couple restaurants there, but since we were checking in late, only the saloon was open, until 10:00. We drove back to the Palliser, where they have underground parking which was nice, and would be great for a winter stay. Our room was nice and clean, with a king size bed, kichinette and balcony, We did notice that the sliding door to the balcony didn't lock, but we were on the the third floor, so didn't think of it as a problem. We then went to the saloon to eat, which was really nice. The waiter was great and attentive. Our stay in the room was comfortable, and it was really quiet there. In the morning we dropped off the key back at the Glacier Lodge, then drove around to see the new homes being built there, take some pics of the beautiful views of the mountains, and headed back down into Golden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherSK_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Palliser Lodge.

I am sorry to hear your initial entrance to the resort was a bit confusing. We are changing our check-in instructions to include a map of the resort to show new guests where the main front desk for all Bellstar accommodations is located.
The Resort itself is located 14 km's from the town of Golden (approx. 15 min drive) up the paved mountain road, but once up here, the views are incredible!

I am very glad though to hear that after your friendly check in experience, that everything else had worked out well, and you had a great time while visiting here. We hope that you will come back and visit us again, whether during our ski season, or during our summer months.

Thank you again for your Trip Advisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to check into the Pallister Lodge after travelling for most of the day and just wanted to get into our room and shower and chill-out.... And what a carry-on trying to get the keys for our room and after several phone-calls to some mystery man we managed to get our keys from the reception in a near by hotel that was also totally devoid of any staff....
We had three nights stay there and in all that time saw no members of staff at all and also one night when we were out on our balcony my friend helped six other new arrivals to find their keys as everyone seem to be suffering the same scenario as we did.
I know this is the off-season for the Lodge but i'd have thought if you take bookings and the money off people you should as least provide a service for them, so why don't they just send you with your booking confirmation a list of instructions explaining that the chances are you'll see no staff at the reception and what to do in the circumstances.... Simple as......
But after saying that the rooms were clean and comfortable and the views from our balcony were simply stunning at anytime of the day and night.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and the view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for recent stay at The Palliser Lodge. The Glacier Lodge is where the Guest Services desk is located for the multiple properties that we provide accommodations to. The information is located on the Welcome Letter that we send out prior to arrival, along with the hours of operations. I can understand missing this information as it is also provided at the same time as our confirmation letter. We are looking into making the check-In instruction more clear and concise to alleviate any confusion over the periods when the desk is not open 24 hours.
I am glad though that after check in, you were able to relax and enjoy the spectacular mountain views from your condo.
Thank You again for your feedback - we are continually striving at improving our service levels for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We knew in advance that most (if not all) of the facilities in the Kicking Horse Resort are closed in June. However, it was more difficult to check in than we could have ever imagined. We got to the hotel and there was no one at the reception desk - the area was in total darkness. There was, however, a phone, with a small sheet of paper with a phone number. It took forever for me to get a response on the other end, and when I finally did, the guy gave me some very vague instructions as to the location of our keys. He said to look for 2 towers, and we did that for over 20 minutes with no luck. I then went back in and called him again, and he had no other information for me. We happened to see a couple walking around, and they told us we had to go to the Glacier Lodge and go past reception where a bunch of lock boxes are located. So I did that and just as he had said, there were the lock boxes containing our keys and personal info - unlocked and sitting unattended. The whole process took us over an hour. We finally got our keys and took a few tries to get them to open the parkade door at the Palliser. The room was very clean and had a nice balcony with a view of the mountains. If I had known better, I would have booked something in town, because it is a 14km drive from the townsite (incredibly confusing) to the Palliser - and we made the trip at least 10 times, so do the math!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit. I am truly sorry that you did not have a great experience at check-in. Arriving to a new place can be very challenging when not familiar with the area - especially in the evening. I have already spoken with the emergency contact person to be available to come out and assist when the assistance is required. We do send the check in instructions within both our welcome letter and confirmation emails, but I will still review and update our check In instructions to ensure that it is clear and very easy to understand. Outdoor signage on the road is also being looked into.
I am though, very glad that you enjoyed your room and the spectacular views from your patio once you arrived and settled in.

Thank You again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent spring skiing conditions during easter weekend. Our family spent three nights at palliser and a well appointed two bedroom suite. The place was spotless and the hot was a great bonus. The front desk staff were very polite and helpful.

Overall this was a great family experience and will defiantly return next season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fit4Life80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the warm review from your Easter Weekend trip with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m very happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time along with getting some final runs in before the hill closes after another great season. Please make sure to ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking direct with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for additional savings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Palliser Lodge this weekend with my wife and parents for a wedding at Kicking Horse. Firstly, we arrived late after driving all day only to find that there is no reception at the Palliser. We had to call the 24 hour service line (which took almost 20 minutes of button pressing to get through the annoyingly long automated system to actually speak to a rep) to find out that we have to check into our room at another location, albeit close by, it was very annoying and difficult to do in the dark in a place you have never been before.

Then we go to park our midsize vehicle in the underground lot at the hotel only to discover that there is no room anywhere because other guests had parked large vehicles over the lines. We ended up parking on the front driveway which was poorly lit and very icy. I could not believe how unbelievably negligent and dangerous this was, especially considering this was the main entry for both vehicles and pedestrians to the building. (I also noticed that the front entry way to the glacier lodge, where we had to check in, was clear of ice and snow and well maintained hmmm coincidence?) When we finally got into our room, after possibly the worst first impression I've ever had before in my experience in hospitality, we found that our phone didn't work in our room and discovered the next morning that our coffee maker was also broken.

On our second night there we returned to the hotel to find a bunch of drunk guys sleeping / drinking / loitering in the lobby and were harrassed and threatened on our way through. (really fun when you are alone with your wife and elderly parents) Another reason it would have been nice if there was a staff member present in the reception area.

On a possitive note, our suite was very nice and clean, with beautiful views and a fairly convenient location to the village amenities.

All in all it was a terrible experience in what could have been a really memorable vacation. Would not reccomend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Palliser Lodge. I would first off like to apologize to you and your family for not having the true exceptional resort experience that our team strives to deliver for all our guests. As you alluded too we don’t have a Front Desk at Palliser Lodge – Our Central Check-In is located at the Glacier Lodge for all our lodging guests. We include this information in our confirmation letters, welcome email along with signage at the Palliser Lodge but I can understand that this can be overlooked or not properly communicated. There are no excuses about your in unit phone; we have informed our telephone technician so it can be addressed immediately. Enjoying a fresh cup of coffee first thing in the morning is one of life’s simply pleasures, but having a faulty coffee maker is not the way you want to start your morning. I glad that a member of our team was able to address that by way of a new coffee maker upon having it reported. I have brought forward your comments regarding the underground parking and ice build-up to the Property Manager and I will make sure that they are addressed accordingly. Lastly I want to acknowledge that situation you faced when entering the Palliser Lobby upon returning to the lodge during the evening with the other guests who were occupying it. I can understand how that can be an unsettling experience but with our 24 hours presence on the resort we would have been more than happy ask these guests to partake the remainder of their evening in comforts of their unit. Once again my sincere apologies for the not so memorable experience you had with us at Palliser Lodge. I do wish that our team can make it up to you and invite you back to truly enjoy an exceptional resort experience at one of our proudly managed properties at Kicking Horse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Enjoyed a great four night holiday at palliser this past week. Room was spotless and well equipped. Kicking Horse is a beautiful resort and I highly recommend it for all who are looking for some great skiing at a reasonable price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the quick note from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m glad you had the opportunity to experience the Resort and get in some great skiing too! When you’re making your next booking please make sure to ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking direct with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for some great additional savings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.6 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Property: Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing