We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Nearby Hotels
$74
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Inn Golden(Golden)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountainview Inn(Golden)(Great Value!)
$96
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Golden(Golden)(Great Value!)
$70
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Golden)(Great Value!)
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rondo Motel(Golden)
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
56
42
24
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
42
24
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingone bedroom suitehot tubnice bedroomski hillcoming back next yearhigher floorearly seasongondola ridefull kitchenkicking horse ski resortflat screenski tripwould stay againbalconyskiinglodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 155 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The accommodation at Palliser Lodge is excellent - huge rooms with a large, fully equipped kitchen. As there were three of us we opted for a two bedroom apartment with a private hot tub, which was well worth the extra money. The ski-in, ski-out is a great facility.

Despite all the information stating that the rooms are only cleaned every fourth day (unless you pay a surcharge), housekeeping staff came daily and were happy to restock toiletries and coffee/tea etc.

There is still no reception desk at Palliser but the reception staff (especially Crista) at Glacier Lodge are now excellent, which was not the case a year ago.

The only down side is that the free shuttle bus to Golden has now been stopped. This means that a return taxi trip to the town costs CA$60 - not worth it to visit a small town. The resort must do something about this or they will lose business.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms (307) are good if you want a hot tub with a great view of the resort and mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for the great review along with returning to Palliser Lodge for another winter getaway. I’m delighted to hear your comments regarding both our Housekeeping Team and one of our Guest Services Agents regarding how our delivery in service has improved from your last visit. Unfortunately the shuttle program isn’t in place this year, however, I will ensure that this information is shared with the Kicking Horse community so we can better enhance the Guest experience. Thank you kindly for the wonderful review and we look forward to hosting you again for the 13/14 season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good location for ski in ski out. Enjoyed our new years celebration on the hill. Lots of fun! Our unit however had some negatives. The kitchen was under- equipped, lacking a full complement of cutlery and glasses. The hot tub was nice but the access was so slippery. The caution signs are not sufficient. Rubber matting would be in order. The tv was so old. Need an investment in flat screen. The piece de resistance was the frozen dog feces we discovered on the deck. This required two calls to the front desk before it was attended to. Unacceptable on so many levels! Pets should not be allowed in these units and if so prospective guests should be warned. Friends in another unit found copious amounts of pet hair imbedded in the carpet. Would definitely not stay here again. Standards of cleanliness are sub-par. I am not a clean freak, but dog feces was too much.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cucgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge - I am very sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback you provided us with regards to the items you mentioned and I will be sure to follow up with our Housekeeping Team about the inventory, cleanliness and the concern with the patio. We do have select units within Palliser Lodge that are Pet Friendly, however, this is not common practice where pet hair is left behind as we spend extra time in the units to make sure these items are prevented for the next guests stay. Once again my apologies on behalf of our Team and I hope we can regain your trust and host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Palliser lodge is an awesome place to stay. I stayed in a one bedroom, includes a small balcony, living room, full kitchen with utensils and appliances, a large bathroom with separate shower.

Very close to the kicking horse gondola so made it very convenient to get to and from the mountain.

New Year in kicking horse was great. Wonderful fireworks and events leading up to them. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMonfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments along with brining in the New Year with us at Palliser Lodge. I agree with you that the annual New Years Eve fireworks were fantastic! We received just over 30cm of snow in the last 24 hours – Perhaps you can make out this weekend for another visit and enjoy some of the fresh powder that we lacked during the holiday season. Thank you again for the nice review and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to Palliser lodge at Kicking Horse ski resort in Golden B.C. for Xmas ski trip with 2 other families. The accomodations were excellent. Resort is in great condition and each unit has a private hot tub on the balconies and units are equipped with all the amenities required ie. stove, fridge, granite counter tops, tv and seperate dvd player, washer and dryer.
The lodge is minutes from the main ski lodge and you can ski out from the base of Palliser lodge. The lodge also has a seperate storage and locker area which can be accesed through with your room key.

Room Tip: We had an excellent view of the surrounding mountains from our room #411
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments from you Christmas Vacation with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m glad you enjoyed your experience along with the excellent amenities that the property has to offer. If you get a chance to make it back please be sure to ask about our hot tub units at Palliser – You can’t beat having your own private hot tub to relax in after a day out on the slopes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Palliser was a perfect place to stop while we were travelling back from the west coast. We had a fully furnished unit that had a kitchen and laundry facilities. The staff where very professional and helpful and very quick to respond when we requested an extra blanket. Overall it was a very nice stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank c_271_myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for the nice review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m very happy to hear that you were able to experience the property and enjoyed a restful stopover on your way back Home. Should you decide on a trip back, please ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking direct with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for additional savings. Thank you once again for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews