We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved greatly since 2012 but bring back the ski shuttle!”
Review of Palliser Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palliser Lodge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Improved greatly since 2012 but bring back the ski shuttle!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The accommodation at Palliser Lodge is excellent - huge rooms with a large, fully equipped kitchen. As there were three of us we opted for a two bedroom apartment with a private hot tub, which was well worth the extra money. The ski-in, ski-out is a great facility.

Despite all the information stating that the rooms are only cleaned every fourth day (unless you pay a surcharge), housekeeping staff came daily and were happy to restock toiletries and coffee/tea etc.

There is still no reception desk at Palliser but the reception staff (especially Crista) at Glacier Lodge are now excellent, which was not the case a year ago.

The only down side is that the free shuttle bus to Golden has now been stopped. This means that a return taxi trip to the town costs CA$60 - not worth it to visit a small town. The resort must do something about this or they will lose business.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms (307) are good if you want a hot tub with a great view of the resort and mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review along with returning to Palliser Lodge for another winter getaway. I’m delighted to hear your comments regarding both our Housekeeping Team and one of our Guest Services Agents regarding how our delivery in service has improved from your last visit. Unfortunately the shuttle program isn’t in place this year, however, I will ensure that this information is shared with the Kicking Horse community so we can better enhance the Guest experience. Thank you kindly for the wonderful review and we look forward to hosting you again for the 13/14 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    20
    22
    7
See reviews for
41
46
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good location for ski in ski out. Enjoyed our new years celebration on the hill. Lots of fun! Our unit however had some negatives. The kitchen was under- equipped, lacking a full complement of cutlery and glasses. The hot tub was nice but the access was so slippery. The caution signs are not sufficient. Rubber matting would be in order. The tv was so old. Need an investment in flat screen. The piece de resistance was the frozen dog feces we discovered on the deck. This required two calls to the front desk before it was attended to. Unacceptable on so many levels! Pets should not be allowed in these units and if so prospective guests should be warned. Friends in another unit found copious amounts of pet hair imbedded in the carpet. Would definitely not stay here again. Standards of cleanliness are sub-par. I am not a clean freak, but dog feces was too much.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge - I am very sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback you provided us with regards to the items you mentioned and I will be sure to follow up with our Housekeeping Team about the inventory, cleanliness and the concern with the patio. We do have select units within Palliser Lodge that are Pet Friendly, however, this is not common practice where pet hair is left behind as we spend extra time in the units to make sure these items are prevented for the next guests stay. Once again my apologies on behalf of our Team and I hope we can regain your trust and host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Palliser lodge is an awesome place to stay. I stayed in a one bedroom, includes a small balcony, living room, full kitchen with utensils and appliances, a large bathroom with separate shower.

Very close to the kicking horse gondola so made it very convenient to get to and from the mountain.

New Year in kicking horse was great. Wonderful fireworks and events leading up to them. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMonfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments along with brining in the New Year with us at Palliser Lodge. I agree with you that the annual New Years Eve fireworks were fantastic! We received just over 30cm of snow in the last 24 hours – Perhaps you can make out this weekend for another visit and enjoy some of the fresh powder that we lacked during the holiday season. Thank you again for the nice review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to Palliser lodge at Kicking Horse ski resort in Golden B.C. for Xmas ski trip with 2 other families. The accomodations were excellent. Resort is in great condition and each unit has a private hot tub on the balconies and units are equipped with all the amenities required ie. stove, fridge, granite counter tops, tv and seperate dvd player, washer and dryer.
The lodge is minutes from the main ski lodge and you can ski out from the base of Palliser lodge. The lodge also has a seperate storage and locker area which can be accesed through with your room key.

Room Tip: We had an excellent view of the surrounding mountains from our room #411
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Operations Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments from you Christmas Vacation with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m glad you enjoyed your experience along with the excellent amenities that the property has to offer. If you get a chance to make it back please be sure to ask about our hot tub units at Palliser – You can’t beat having your own private hot tub to relax in after a day out on the slopes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Palliser was a perfect place to stop while we were travelling back from the west coast. We had a fully furnished unit that had a kitchen and laundry facilities. The staff where very professional and helpful and very quick to respond when we requested an extra blanket. Overall it was a very nice stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank c_271_myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the nice review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m very happy to hear that you were able to experience the property and enjoyed a restful stopover on your way back Home. Should you decide on a trip back, please ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking direct with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for additional savings. Thank you once again for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time in Golden and I think we found our destination of choice. Very nice one bedroom with hot tub and patio area. A friend of mine has been here in in the winter and said we should check it out. The guest services was very nice and extremely helpful. The area is gorgeous and there is plenty to see and do around the. Palliser is a great central place to base yourself out of if making day trips around the area, which we did. I can't believe how during the day it can get up to 30 degrees and a few hours later after the sun sets it goes down to like 10 degrees. After reading reviews about no air conditioning I was sceptic but the "tips" are right; get a place facing the valley and you will be more than fine. Plus, we're from Ontario and we have humidity, so this is nothing when it comes to the heat (which is great).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Palliser Lodge as your destination along with the contributing to the Trip Advisor community with your great review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with all the great attractions that surround the Kicking Horse area. As you mentioned the weather can be rather warm during the afternoon hours but once the sun sets over the mountains it does cool down to comfortable temperatures. Please be sure to “Like” us on Facebook to stay current with all our great promotions. Thank you once again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

-Great Staff
-Amazing Room with Hot Tub
-Great Amenities
-Can't beat the price
-Will return

We had a great experience at Kicking Horse and the Hotel was great. The common areas were very clean and the room was spotless. The weather during our stay was gorgeous and the evenings were breathtaking while watching the sunset behind the Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the kind review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I really enjoyed reading your comments and am happy that you had a nice stay. Palliser Lodge is a well-appointed property with great amenities and is only a short 3-5 minute walk from the main village. Palliser is defiantly known for having private Hot Tubs in select units on their balconies and you can’t beat having a nice soak after a day of skiing (in the winter) or hiking while overlooking the mountains. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.6 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge

Property: Palliser Lodge
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palliser Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing