We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Palliser was a perfect place to stop while we were travelling back from the west coast. We had a fully furnished unit that had a kitchen and laundry facilities. The staff where very professional and helpful and very quick to respond when we requested an extra blanket. Overall it was a very nice stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank c_271_myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for the nice review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m very happy to hear that you were able to experience the property and enjoyed a restful stopover on your way back Home. Should you decide on a trip back, please ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking direct with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for additional savings. Thank you once again for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time in Golden and I think we found our destination of choice. Very nice one bedroom with hot tub and patio area. A friend of mine has been here in in the winter and said we should check it out. The guest services was very nice and extremely helpful. The area is gorgeous and there is plenty to see and do around the. Palliser is a great central place to base yourself out of if making day trips around the area, which we did. I can't believe how during the day it can get up to 30 degrees and a few hours later after the sun sets it goes down to like 10 degrees. After reading reviews about no air conditioning I was sceptic but the "tips" are right; get a place facing the valley and you will be more than fine. Plus, we're from Ontario and we have humidity, so this is nothing when it comes to the heat (which is great).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing Palliser Lodge as your destination along with the contributing to the Trip Advisor community with your great review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with all the great attractions that surround the Kicking Horse area. As you mentioned the weather can be rather warm during the afternoon hours but once the sun sets over the mountains it does cool down to comfortable temperatures. Please be sure to “Like” us on Facebook to stay current with all our great promotions. Thank you once again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

-Great Staff
-Amazing Room with Hot Tub
-Great Amenities
-Can't beat the price
-Will return

We had a great experience at Kicking Horse and the Hotel was great. The common areas were very clean and the room was spotless. The weather during our stay was gorgeous and the evenings were breathtaking while watching the sunset behind the Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the kind review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I really enjoyed reading your comments and am happy that you had a nice stay. Palliser Lodge is a well-appointed property with great amenities and is only a short 3-5 minute walk from the main village. Palliser is defiantly known for having private Hot Tubs in select units on their balconies and you can’t beat having a nice soak after a day of skiing (in the winter) or hiking while overlooking the mountains. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed 3 days, 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment in August, 2012.

We were very dissapointed with the appartment. The place is outdated...not close to the place shown in the website.

It was a 10-15 min walk from the base. There isn't any in-lodge guest services and the phone in the appartment didn't work.

No air condition in the apartment and the temperature inside was about 28C. There were not even fans. We had to call the lobby at the Glacier lodge from our personal cellphone to get a fan.

No BBQ, outdated TV, no good beds, carpet with stains. Bathrooms were clean.

Awsome hikes but i don't recommend the hotel! The apartments at the palliser are not worth the money!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laila2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your candid review from your recent stay at Palliser Lodge. I am truly sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay. Our Maintenance Team has already addressed the phone issue you reported and our Housekeeping Team will have the stain you mentioned addressed - Thank you for bring those items to our attention. None of our Palliser units have BBQ’s on their balconies; however there is a common area BBQ that is located beside the Hot Tub on the first floor for all guests. With respect to air conditioning unfortunately none of our properties on hill are equipped with them. With the cool evenings that usually dip down to single digits the units defiantly cool off in a hurry, but I do agree it can be uncomfortable during the day. Once again my apologies for the not so pleasant stay you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I am participating in the western open this weekend decided to stay up here on Saturday. The hill is in great condition for biking and the weather sure complimented it. I stayed in a studio style unit at palliser lodge which was perfect as I was travelling solo. The resort was busy which is great to see. I remember last year not being near as busy as it was this weekend and I was lucky to get a room as they were filling up quick. Hot tub was a perfect touch to end the evening after a day on the hill.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Hodgy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for finding time out of your day to make a contribution to the Trip Advisor community. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit along with the amenities that Palliser Lodge has to offer. The Western Open was a great success for all our properties this past weekend and it was nice to see all the participants enjoy the perfect weather while training on Saturday and duelling it out on the course on Sunday. Many thanks for you review we hope to see you back next year for the 3rd Annual Western Open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I participated in the Kicking Horse Cup this weekend and stayed at palliser lodge. The race was very demanding and the outdoor hot tub at the lodge was a great feature for these tired legs. The hotel was very clean and the bike locker room was a nice touch to store my bike. The nearby restaurants were fabulous and the nightlife was surprisingly great considering this is more of a winter destination. That said I will be back to test out the slopes this season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your pleasant review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I’m really happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations along with the on-hill amenities that Kicking Horse has to offer. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on the slopes this winter season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a very nice stay this weekend at Palliser lodge. We had a two bedroom unit with an outdoor hot tub. The lodge has a common bbq as well as a fitness facility. The staff were lovely and quick to respond when I requested some extra amenities. All in all this was a nice trip away from the city and will return.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank audreyc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your great review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite along with the amenities that the property has to offer. Palliser Lodge is always a favorite for guests; especially with the select suites that offer your own personal Hot Tub. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 18 in Golden
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 18 in Golden
116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: $140 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing