We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Winston for one night in August 2013 and had a great stay there! The common area is lovely, with big comfortable couches, games, fireplace and snacks constantly stocked. The lodge and rooms are very clean and very inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the linens are lovely. The jacuzzi bathtub was fantastic!

Having the bar attached to the lodge is also a great touch. We did not leave the premises after checking in until we checked out the next morning!

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 768Carol_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    25
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Winston Lodge for two nights. I was a little worried at first how it would go, as we decided to take our 20 month old along for the ride. But I worried for nothing. This "hotel" was excellent, with a very homey feel (if you live in a gorgeous log cabin of course :D). A beautifully large common room, with a breakfast eating area filled daily with treats and drinks greets you as soon as you walk in. The suite that we were in was beautiful, with a king sized feather bed, along with a single feather bed for the little dude. The facilities were great, a saloon for dinner and drinks attached to the hotel area, and a games room downstairs with pool, Foosball and darts. The staff were welcoming and very helpful! It was an awesome stay, we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeldash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Winston Lodge while attending a wedding celebration at Kicking Horse. At first, I found it really annoying to have to take off my shoes at reception. Then I realized why: the lodge is kept immaculately clean, and now with your feet liberated and kept cozy in the slippers they provide you, you're free to pad around the lodge as if it were your own house. The common area is homely, cozy and like an extension of your living room. The rooms are large and the beds are huuuge! We felt so comfortable from the moment we arrived – check-in was fast and we received a helpful, friendly tour of the lodge on arrival. We had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. We'd totally go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. He had stayed the previous year with mates and was keen to bring me to Kicking Horse after raving about how amazing the skiing was.

Luckily he sold it to me based on the luxury accommodation with a hot tub and pub attached - Winston Lodge - because if I'd known how hard the skiing was, I might not have come here!! Seriously though, after a few days skiing, I was getting used to the challenge of double black diamond slopes and loving this resort. Once the sun started to shine and I saw what I had been going down, I was pretty pleased with myself!

There were many excellent things about Winstons, the room was lovely, quiet and with the most amazing comfortable beds - made it hard to get up every morning! There was a hot tub outside and a sauna, games room and heated ski and boot room downstairs, and the place is only a 5 min walk to the gondola. Connected to the lodge is the bar, so you don't even have to take your slippers off before going for an apres drink or two. We drank here both nights and the atmosphere was lovely, really friendly staff, nice pub food, a band on one night and loads of board games, plus a log fire. It was pretty busy with people who were coming in from other lodgings, as there is really not too much going on in Kicking Horse at night, so Winstons was as lively as it got for us!

My only complaint was the lack of true customer service. A lot of the trip advisor reviews say how wonderful the owners were and even knew their names. We were not introduced to anyone, and had a very strange welcome after waiting for 10 minutes at reception. You'd think they would welcome and appreciate previous guests coming back, but this was not the case for us. There was a strange atmosphere at breakfast where it was deathly quiet and they definitely needed some music or radio, or just a friendly face to greet people, plus not enough tables to seat all the guests when they came down to breakfast at once. Breakfast was lovely though, with a choice of continental or hot breakfast and tea and coffee available all day with cakes and muffins in the afternoon.

Overall, this place was beautiful, with just a few amendments it could be exceptional. One last comment was that I do think it is a bit too expensive, and I nearly cried when I saw a sign at the bottom of the road in Golden on our drive up to Kicking Horse, advertising walk in rates of $99.....a sure fire way to annoy your guests before they even arrive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delemont, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After being in Vancouver, Whistler and Revelstoke, we stayed 3 nights at the Winston Lodge in Kicking Horse last January and that was far away the best place to stay we have experienced during our stay in British Columbia. The lodge is built in wood, very clean and well equipped (sauna, hot tube, pool room). The couple of owners is very nice and they try to make our stay as pleasant as they can.
If Kicking Horse was not so far from Switzerland, we would be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to literally find the Winston Lodge via TripAdvisor at the last minute during one of the busiest three day weekends in CA in February 2013.

Tracie and Bill (run and own the lodge) and the Lodge were AWESOME! The bedrooms, beds, comforters, and bathrooms were sweet and so relaxing especially after full days of backcountry split-boarding. The morning breakfast and lodge accommodations were fantastic. THe drying rack was great as was the hot tub, fireplace and pool table. If you are skiing/riding at Kicking Horse, you could not ask logistically for a better location to roll out of bed, hit breakfast, and then charge the hill.

Bottom line, I originally was staying one night at the Winston and wound up securing a second night at the lodge because I had such a great experience and awesome sleep!

I cannot wait to bring my wife and kids up to Kicking Horse and we will definitely be staying at the WInston Lodge!

Room Tip: All the rooms seems really nice. My suggestion would be to ask for a room on the second floor facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the most fantastic Ski Lodges I've ever stayed in. The two owners are simply wonderful hosts. Always a fire going in the great room and tons of fun games in the basement. They have such a nice setup and the views from the room are beautiful while still giving you a less than 5 min walk to the ski hill. Great breakfasts and a super relaxing hottub. You sink right into the beds for an absolutely beautiful sleep.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a great view of nothing but the mountain. Room 7s jacuzzi tub has a giant window that vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.6 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Lodge & Spa

Property: Winston Lodge & Spa
Address: 1593 Cache Close | P.O. Box 5, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RoomsRomantic and extremely comfortable describes this rustic wood and stone western inspired Lodge. You can choose from 10 luxurious Silver (standard) or Golden (deluxe) rooms, or treat yourself to the Platinum (VIP) Loft suite. Every room is appointed with antiques and hand-crafted solid wood furniture, sumptuous feather down beds, soothing jetted baths or walk-in showers and private decks with stunning mountain views.The SpaWinston Lodge features an exclusive in-house spa that offers massages, manicures, pedicures and facials in a lovely window clustered treatment room on the second floor mezzanine.The LodgeEnjoy the large common areas that feature an outdoor hot tub, sauna, games room, library, fireplace, no-host bar and a sitting room that's just for our guests.The Saloon"Ya'll gotta eat, so you might as well enjoy it". Come to our classic western saloon or family restaurant. We offer tasty homestyle meals and a wonderful selection of micro-brew beers, wines and spirits. Have fun playing board games or our famous Giant Jenga. Listen to live music or the pop of our real wood burning fireplace, and don't forget to get deputized before you leave.Restaurant and Conference CentreOur second story conference centre accommodates up to 100 people and provides a perfect venue for weddings, reunions, celebrations, business meetings or training. The 2 big screen tvs will educate and entertain your guests while we feed them delicious appetizers, full meals and desserts.If your group exceeds 100 we have plenty of space for an outdoor tent reception on the grass pavilion beside the lodge.ActivitiesAbundant adventure and beauty surrounds the lodge on all sides. We're located at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort where a multitude of winter and summer activities abound. The Golden area and local parks provide even more things to see and do.Ask the front desk to help you book your activities, they truly know the area like the back of their hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Winston Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing