We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please improve on Coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heather Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2010

If you want to go hiking in Glacier Park, this is a good place to stay. It's clean and comfortable, no frills, a little noisy because of the highway.
The architecture of the main building makes the charm of the place in a beautiful setting.Taking an aperitif on the deck with superb views after a day of hiking is heaven....even if the quantity of wine in the glass was a little on the stingy side.
The food was good, a little overpriced, but the service friendly.
The disappointment came with a loveless breakfast. I think you can manage to serve an appealing continental breakfast without just throwing bread in plastic bags on the table with butter and jam in some big plates. And the coffee.... it was thinner than week tea.You could read your newspaper through it. improving on this could make this place a place you would like to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 257 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at Heather Mountain Lodge for friend's wedding. It was incredible. The people that run the lodge are passionate about providing an excellent experience for their guests and they're excited to share this hidden gem with anyone passing through the Rogers' Pass area. The day of the wedding we did an amazing hike up to the Sir Donald-Uto Col (only a 20 minute drive from the lodge) and enjoyed unsurpassed views of the surrounding landscape; hanging glaciers, tumbling waterfalls and rugged peaks all added to this great experience. The owners of the lodge are a young and vibrant couple that are exrtremely friendly and outgoing and it's evident that they want to make your experience at their lodge be one to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

THe staff went above and beyond expectations for our family and small children. Atention to detail and consideration of possible requests before they were even made make the staff at HML outstanding! The scenery is breathtaking, and if the drive through the rockies out of civilization into nature's majesty doesn't get you, that the breathtaking views from the lodge will!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvanessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We just returned from a perfect wedding in a perfect setting on a perfect spot. All guests attended to the rehearsal dinner, which was another party instead of a wedding-exercise. The next day all guests went hiking, enjoying the beautiful area. At the end of the day the wedding found place on a wooden bridge across the nearby river, followed by a delicious dinner and party. No nerves and no tight schedule but a wedding in a nice relaxed atmosphere instead, provided by the great hospitality of the staff of Heather Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We used this hotel as an overnight stop on our way to Kelowna. What makes this hotel great is you are right in the mountains and it's a great price! It is extremely quite and the rooms are clean. We stayed on the ground level and the carpeted floors were very cold...brrr. They could use some better beds and the pillows were too soft and thin.

As for the main building that you see in the picture, that is the backside and when we were there things were looking a bit run down. The hot tub wasn't working and the pond area need maintenance.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDTGFfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed one night in order to split the Vancouver/Calgary drive into two days. The mountain views are spectacular and the main lodge building is classic log cabin in the mountains style. The room was comfortable but the main lodge is the gem. We ate dinner in the restaurant and we have to say it exceeded our expectations. The food and presentation matched good big city restaurants and the value was second to none. I would recommend staying here rather than choosing a chain hotel/motel along the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We did a quick overnight on our way from Calgary to Kelowna (with a 6 year old). Liked it so much we stayed again on our way back. The rooms were comfortable, the staff extremely friendly, and the food at the restaurant was fantastic. We played pool in the lounge, listening to laid back music on satelite radio - it's a lovely place. Not sure about a long-term stay as we didn't do that but I got the impression that it's a good launch pad for hikes etc in the mountains nearby.

Also good to note that while they don't have a kids menu, they accomodated a 6 year old palate with a half order of mac n' cheese (with 2 year old aged cheddar!) She thought it was delicious.

This wasn't a 'romantic' trip as I was travelling with my cousin and her daughter, but I certainly thought my boyfreind and I would have enjoyed it were we to head out there for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
22.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
24.9 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
21.6 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#2 of 43 in Golden
77 reviews
29.8 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#4 of 43 in Golden
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Mountain Lodge

Address: Box 401 | Rogers Pass, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $178 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heather Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Mountain Lodge is located on the Trans-Canada Highway halfway between Golden and Revelstoke British Columbia. Nestled in the mountains at the East Gate of Canada's Glacier National Park, this classic Canadian timber frame lodge will be a highlight of your holiday. Our restaraunt offers an outstanding dining experience, seasoned with memorable mountain views. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heather Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing