We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heather Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stopped in for the night on our way through to Penticton. This is a really nice little place, very comfortable and clean. The staff were great and there was kind of a pride that they took in their lodge, there was a vegetable garden out back. The grounds and scenery were just beautiful. The food was really great as well. We felt right at home, we would recommend this lodge and we will be staying there again, next time we are through that area. The only thing I'd say was the signage is not that great, there is a very small sign saying Heather Mountain Lodge and then the turn off is RIGHT there, keep your eyes open for it :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protype9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Location:
We stayed two nights at Heather Mountain Lodge, making trips in the direction of Golden each day. Make no mistake, when the hotel's website says "off the grid" they mean it's off the grid. There is little or no cell phone reception and the wi-fi is more off than on. It's 55km from Golden on the one side, and 89km from Revelstoke on the other - and there are no towns inbetween. It was not a light drive to Golden since there were roadworks while we were there, which slowed the traffic down. However, this is exactly why people come to this hotel: - its proximity to national parks, trails, hikes, ice fields and glaciers.

If you want peace and quiet, access to the top natural attractions of British Columbia, and amazing mountain views, and if you are the sort of person who likes luxury in the countryside, this is the place for you. In the winter months, Heather Mountain Lodge is closed to the public, to accommodate heli-skiing parties.

Room:
The hotel is really attractive, with attention to the finest design details - expecially the restaurant area with its beautiful wood work. Booking-in was straightforward, and the receptionist/manager made an effort to get us into our suite even though we were early. The suite was attractive and spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was large and luxurious. The two beds were just firm enough and had good linen. Our room had an excellent espresso maker with good coffee, which I've never seen in any hotel room. It also had a fan, which was necessary since it was boiling hot and the room gets a lot of sun.

Food:
The hotel emphasizes that it is a place for "foodies" and while the menu was brief, the food was really good and they had a good selection of wine. This is an important point since, being so isolated, you are basically stuck with the hotel food. On booking in, we immediately bought some gelatos at the front desk, which were delicious. Sometimes the service in the restaurant was slower than we expected, but that forced us to take it easy and relax.

Entertainment:
On our last night, the hotel booked a rock band from Golden to play live - "Willhorse", and it was a pleasant surprise since they were excellent. Those guys are really talented. Upstairs from the restaurant is a cosy pub with books, magazines, TV and a billiards table.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

On our way from Bamff to Kamloops, we happened upon this lovely Lodge for lunch. The setting is beautiful. They only had a small lunch assortment available- but it was delicious. My husband had a Elk and cheese pastie or potpie and I had a focaccia sandwich with Brie and garden fresh basil and tomatoes. We sat on the porch and relaxed for our drive ahead. Would try and stay at the lodge and have dinner next time up here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank martinione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

First time at the Lodge July 11,2012 after driving by many times...great experience;room,meal,staff and as luck would have it surprise visit from a band named Willhorse...absolutely fantastic music experience! Catch them if you can, and don't pass this lodge next time.
Ray

Room Tip: Bottom floor on a hot day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our 2 boys paid for this weekend at Heather Mountain Lodge. It was like a 31st anniversary gift. From the moment we walked in to register til the moment we left we felt like family to the staff. So friendly and helpful. The food was amazing . Hats off to the chef and his help. It was nice to really relax and unwind for 2 days and nights. The packed lunch was a nice touch too. The waiters and waitresses were great. Highly recommended. Will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On our road trip from Clagary to Vancouver, we stopped off for the night as it is just off the Highway. The food was amazing and the staff very friendly they made us really welcome. They gave us tips for hikes and walks that were on their doorstep, the views were awesome we stayed an extra couple of days. The food was to die for. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Don't miss any of the meals - they are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Heather Mountain Lodge. We were there with a Groupon deal, and stayed 4 nights. Part of that package was a packed lunch every day, which we took on hikes in the parks every day. My husband has a wheat allergy, and after he mentioned it, his sandwich was prepared on wheat-free bread thereafter. When we sat down to dinner at the restaurant one night and the waiter introduced himself, he said he was aware that my husband had a wheat allergy, and wanted us to know that almost all of the dishes could be adapted for him. This was impressive communication between staff! We ate at the restaurant twice, and the food was truly outstanding. Menu items are $12-$18, and the chef's nightly 3-course special ranges from $30-$50.

The rooms all have beautiful mountain views, although I missed having a chair of some sort to stare through the window in the morning as I sipped my espresso from the in-room espresso maker. I also wished the rooms had a small porch or balcony. Consequently, we spent most of our time at the lodge in the public spaces. The staff lights a campfire every night and provides marshmallows for roasting. There is a beautiful barrel cedar sauna (which no one used but us, from what I could tell) and a hot tub that was actually HOT! Also a pool table and ping pong table. After a day of hiking in the mountains, we loved returning to the lodge for a delicious meal, games, and some heat therapy. We will be watching for the next Groupon to go back this fall.

We were traveling with two dogs, and we saw a lot of other dogs at the hotel. Their pet fee was reasonable, and there was ample space to walk the dogs around the grounds so they could do their business. We did have a bit of a snafu checking in with the dogs; even if you mention your dogs when you make the reservation, make sure the person checking you in is aware of the dogs, as there are pet-specific rooms.

Room Tip: I believe that all of the rooms are exactly the same: two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenakinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
28.8 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
24.9 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 17 in Golden
367 reviews
22.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
24.7 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Mountain Lodge

Address: Box 401 | Rogers Pass, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $179 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heather Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Mountain Lodge is located on the Trans-Canada Highway halfway between Golden and Revelstoke British Columbia. Nestled in the mountains at the East Gate of Canada's Glacier National Park, this classic Canadian timber frame lodge will be a highlight of your holiday. Our restaraunt offers an outstanding dining experience, seasoned with memorable mountain views. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heather Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing