We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Mount 7 Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount 7 Lodges
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Having done extensive research of where to stay in Golden we decided to stay in Bear Lodge, we were hugely impressed with the lodge it was clean, spacious and had incredible views looking back towards Kicking Horse. It was complete with every thing you could want from a self catered lodge with a great sitting room, big hot tub and you had a real sense of being in the BC wilderness in complete luxury. I for one am now planning my return visit.

  • Liked — View, Space and Hot Tub
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peter25London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed in Bear Lodge for four nights and had the most amazing time. When we arrived we were suprised by how spacious and how comfortable the lodge was. We walked straight out onto the balcony to find the most stunning view looking out over the mountains. The lodge is only a short drive away from Golden and Kicking Horse which provides some truly great skiing with some of the best terrain we found in BC. The hot tub on the balcony is definitely the best place to unwind after a hard day on the mountain and then you can either cook for yourself in the well kitted out kitchen or head to one of the nearby restaurants such as the delicious Cedar House Restaurant just round the corner.

Besides the comfort and relaxing stay the hosts, Jo and Dave, went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We managed to lose our car keys and without their help we would never have been able to get back to the airport with our hire car. They really went beyond the call of duty to help us and were incredibly friendly during our entire stay.

I can't reccommend this place enough. If you are heading to Canada to ski you should head to Kicking Horse and if you are going anywhere near Golden you should definitely stay at Mount 7 Lodges!!

  • Liked — Spacious, comfortable, great hosts and incredible setting
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jules062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Bear lodge far exceeded our expectations and was like our own log palace, the website is an understatement of the luxury provided! Everything about Bear lodge was meticulous to the last detail and there was no shortage of boys toys (TV, DVD, Sat, Hot Tub) as well which we made full use of.
The beds were comfortable, the rooms well laid out and clean, the showers hot and powerful and the view spectacular. It was by far and away the best accommodation we found in Canada and it was great to have such privacy yet to be so close to Golden and Kicking Horse.
The Hosts Dave and Jo were kind and approachable and far exceeded anything that could be expected of them....even towing our broken car to Calgary!
Already looking forward to our next trip and couldn't recommend it highly enough (6 stars at least!)

  • Liked — Wonderful hosts, privacy, modern comforts in rustic setting
  • Disliked — Not enough snow!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RSDHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Mount 7 Lodges are a 5-10min car journey from the town of Golden. This is just enough distance to feel a healthy balance of seclusion, while still retaining a tie to civilisation (if required). Owners Jo and Dave are perfect hosts and very patient (we managed to lock ourselves out twice). Also, if you are animal lovers, the have two of the friendliest dogs you could ever care to meet (Bart and Jubilee).

Golden is a town on the turn, with massive development taking place in the nearby Kicking Horse Resort, so if you chose to stay here, you will have access to activities all year round. Altenatively, you can chose to make the best use of the cabin as we did.

We arrived intent on heading out for an evening meal, but instead chose to stay and make best use of the fantastic lodge. The outside gas grill and personal hot tub were used both nights and we enjoyed the fantastic views of the montains from sunrise to sunset.

Must do's in the area include a run up to Kicking Horse to see how the other half live and also a journey to the Wolf sanctuary which will change your mind on these magnificent creatures forever.

Oh, we also managed to catch a glimpse of a couple of black bear cubs which rounded off the whole stay perfectly.

Thanks Jo and Dave and we will be back once I get my ski lessons behind me.

  • Liked — Quality, amenities and space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Mximise the length of your stay
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Popey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
7.1 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
7.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
5.3 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.1 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
20.2 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 7 Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 7 Lodges

Property: Mount 7 Lodges
Address: 891 Crandall Rd | Golden, BC, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 7 Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful log cabins in quiet location with spectacular mountain views. Set in 66 acres and only 10 minutes from Golden. Each cabin has its own private deck with hot tub, relax and enjoy the mountain views, sunsets and stars. Spacious cabins with full kitchens, wireless internet, TV, DVD and fireplaces. Ski, golf, rafting & other activity packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mount 7 Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing