We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, but great patio”
Review of Riverhouse tavern

Riverhouse tavern
Ranked #20 of 61 Restaurants in Golden
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Small place, but great patio”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I would expect this place to be a little crowded in the winter, but in summer they have a huge patio. Prices are very reasonable, good menu. However, they are kind of hidden away! If I had not been riding a bike and crossed the pedestrian bridge to Spirit square, I would have never found this place!
I highly recommend this place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Tried the food here a few times, was nothing special, however nice beers and nice staff. Will try it again, hopefully just caught it on a off day ??

Helpful?
Thank chefsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Manabi, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time of your life everytime”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

After investigating some of the competition the riv still has the best burger in town . Homemade patties served on a cheesebun. Other menu greats are the veggi lasagna with white sauce, the beet humus and daily soup creations . A huge variety of local and imported craft beers, and a blender that just doesnt quit . Take a load off this summer and relax at the Riv ...we do

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service and AMAZING beer”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We rolled into Golden after a seven-hour car ride, looking (hoping) for a patio somewhere where we could have a cold beer and a good meal, where our nine year old would be welcome. Not an easy task to accomplish sometimes.

Luckily we happened across the Riverhouse Tavern on TripAdvisor and decided to check it out.

An important point that we didn't see online: they accept kids on the patio until 8pm. Limited menu, though, in case you have a picky eater ... That being said ...

The food. OMG. So. good. The turkey burger and spinach salad were delicious (although the salad was overdressed) and the BBQ chicken pizza was a huge hit.

The beer. OMFG. They have Deschutes, which may be the best brewery in the Western and Northern hemispheres. They also have a lot more, including Canadian craft brews and the big guys (labatts, Molson, Coors) as well. The server we had was very well educated about his beers and had some great recommendations.

The only weird thing for me was that there's smoking allowed on the patio at the tables, which isn't allowed in Alberta.

If you're looking for a great patio with excellent food and beer, this place has it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scaiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time and delicious food!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Riverhouse on a Wednesday night when there happened to be a concert on the town square next to the restaurant. Even without the bonus of the live music we really liked the tavern. All the seating is outside which is good if there is nice weather. There is a decent beer selection and the vegetarian lasagne was absolutely delicious. Service was awesome and super friendly. We would definitely go back!!

Helpful?
Thank Frequent Travel... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverhouse tavern also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Riverhouse tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing