We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hard to Fault”
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Lodge
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at the Vagabond Lodge over New Years 2009/2010.
The place is very genuinely hard to fault. It is moments away from the lifts, rooms are lovely, the common areas are great, breakfast is a treat and the owners cant do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
I haven't been a fan of lodge or B&B style accommodation before, but with large rooms and plenty of common space, you can have as much or as little to do with other guests as you like. You can be social if you're in the mood and anti social if your not.
We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

Our group booked all ten rooms at the Vagabond Lodge for a 3-day weekend. Excellent choice. Some people went downhill skiing, some went cross-country skiing, some read books, some watched NFL playoffs, some just relaxed with a cold beer. Everyone had something to do and everyone was happy. The Vagabond is right on Kicking Horse Mountain, so the main gondola is virtually right outside the door. You can ski the mountain and come back for a free hearty lunch. The owners of the hotel are friendly and knowledgable. Three great restaurants neaby as well. Park your car on arrival and don't drive it again until you leave. An excellent escape from the city and just 3 hours from Calgary.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melcor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This was my fifth time to Vagabond Lodge.....and I will return time after time after time. The rooms was spacious and inviting....even with two adults and one teenager we were not on top of each other as you are in a hotel room. The breakfast is unbelievable. Scones warm from the oven, fresh fruit, and other continental foods available. There is a light lunch available as well if you wish to partake. Being the short distance from the Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain there is hiking, biking and bear watching to enjoy during the summer and unbelievable skiing opportunities during the winter. While they do not have a liquor license, you can bring your own spirits in and have them stored in the community refrigerator. This provides the opportunity to enjoy the company of fellow patrons each evening. There are other amenities as well - a hot tub and a family room for enjoyment of all.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank tfmvgmjtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Vagabond was great for us. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was roomy and modern. Breakfast was super, many tasty selections prepared and presented nicely. Free internet station and free WiFi setup. No liquor license but bring your own and stash in the fridge. The inn is located adjacent to Kicking Horse Ski Mountain altho closed during our stay. Owners are super nice and very helpful with sight seeing suggestions. Golden village isn't particularly noteworthy but proximity to Yoho National Park is a real plus. Very scenic, many interesting hikes, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, wildlife, etc. Drive thru Yoho to Lake Louise (about one hour plus) is spectacular. Altho Vagabond is 6 miles out of town up the mountain, it's such a pretty and comfortable place that it's worth the trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Having gone to Calgary towards the end of trip and deciding we did not like the city ! We went on a mini adventure, back up into the mountains, and stumbled across Vagabond Lodge. Laurie and Ken, are the most welcoming hosts, and having spent 30 years living in Edmonton and being keen skiers, they are fully up to date on all local knowledge and will check out various hikes and the must sees and do's in the area. Breakfast in the hotel is hearty, nothing fried, but the pancakes are to die for !
Rooms are large but dont have tea and coffee making facilities, however this is not a problem as there are facilities in the breakfast area, for you to use whenever. There is only one TV is the whole of the building, which is good, as there is too much to see and do out there. Make sure you book a stay here ( also there is a hot tub ) !!!!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Shaun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I was looking for a "get away from it all" kind of weekend - and found it at the Vagabond Lodge (four nights from July 2nd to 6th). Great hosts in Ken and Lori, super comfy beds that would have kept me under the covers until 10, except breakfast ended at 9:30 :O)

The breakfasts were very healthy and quite delicious. There was a power outage in the area on the last night and Ken & Lori were nice enough to feed all the guests (as most establishments had shut down their kitchens).

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBigMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vagabond Lodge for two nights in early July of 2009 and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Ken and Lori are extremely gracious and friendly hosts, and are very helpful with suggestions for activies and dining in the area. The lodge itself is fantastic - a bright and airy, open concept style log house with wonderful views of the valley and mountains. The decor and furniture are perfectly suited to a relaxing, mountain retreat with plenty of comfortable chairs and couches for reading, having a drink, or getting to know other guests. Our room was comfortable and serene. There are no TVs in the guest rooms, but there is a common TV on the ground floor of the lodge. Breakfast was included with the room rate and included a variety of delicious options including fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, scones, cinnamon buns, and homemade pancakes. Yum! It was slightly pricy for a bed & breakfast style accomodation, however, it is worth the price for such a comfortable and relaxing facility. Overall, we had a fabulous stay at the Vagbond and would highly recommend it to any travellers wishing to stay in the Golden / Kicking Horse area. Thank you to Ken and Lori for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
0.1 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
3.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
5.9 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#3 of 43 in Golden
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 1581 Cache Close | Box 177, Golden, British Columbia VOA 1HO, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $237 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vagabond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagabond Lodge is a 10 Room Boutique Lodge Located across the road from Gondola at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort Golden BC. All rooms are located on the upper level of this 3 story building. There is no elevator just so you are aware. The beautifully decorated rooms all have great views of the majestic Rocky Mountains. All bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower/tub enclosures and all bathrooms have heated floors. Vagabond Lodge does not have air conditioning but for the few days in the mountains where it may be considered hot by some standards, the windows all open to the fresh mountain air. Vagabond Lodge does not have televisions in the rooms but if you need a fix, there is a tv area on the lower level along with a pool table, and board games. A hearty and healthy breakfast is complimentary with nothing fried. There is absolutely no cooking facilities of any sort(not even a microwave) for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing