We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Horse Lodge
Ranked #20 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 28, 2006

A group of friends stayed at Copper Horse Lodge in February and wanted to share our thoughts on this great little spot.
The location is great, we were skiing within a 2 minute walk from the hotel entrance. The hotel room was spacious, had super comfy feather beds and was very nicely decortated with lots of amenities. The restaurant does a great job, some of the best and unique pizzas I've tried and as a few others have mentioned, Paul at the bar makes the best Caesars in the Rockies! (I tried 4 just to be sure)
The couple who run the hotel (Paul and Stacey) take great care of everyone and make it an easy choice for hotel when we're back at Kicking Horse.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    12
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

Heading out to Kicking Horse Resort in the middle of summer, was intending to just looking for a quiet getaway, but ended up with a trip that left lasting memories, and only can't wait to get back. Copperhorse lodge is just beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the hosts are accommodating, and the food in Corks is amazing! It was nice to stay here and station ourselves to go hiking in the mountains for the day, and then back to this quiet lodge in the evening for a beautiful meal and a great nights rest on luxury featherbeds! Being a big skier - I can't wait to come back, I imagine this is the perfect place to stay in the winter - can't wait to sit in the hottub in the snow... and yes Paul the manager does make the most amazing Ceasar that I have ever had! It's worth the trip just for the drink. Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KBinBanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2005

We stayed at the Copper Horse Lodge for 2 nights. The owners were very friendly and remembered our names. They knew the area quite well and were able to answer all of our questions. The rooms were very big and beautifully decorated. The place had a quiet, cozy atmosphere. Restaurant downstairs (Corks) was very good but expensive. Would stay there again if the price was right!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, AB
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2005

Paul and Stacey were friendly, welcoming hosts. We will return there for another visit if it's only for their restaurant. It was so fantastic that we ate there both evenings. Thanks for making our 21st anniversary special.
Thanks for everything! Ed and Gayle

Helpful?
2 Thank gayle3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Excellent service from the moment we arrived, the hosts are very kind and helpful. We stayed in the deluxe suite which is very spacious, the feather bed was amazing. The bathrooms are huge with tiled floors and a glass shower, the jacuzzi tub has a big window, perfect for relaxing and watching the stars. Lots of nice touches that make it that much more perfect!!! We went to the Eagle's Eye Restaurant for supper which was delicious. Enjoyed our stay there, a lovely romantic retreat!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2005

What a fantastic stay in this very luxurious retreat at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort - both Paul & Stacey made our stay very special with their unique personal approach. The awesome room with incredible beds & what amazing meals in Corks Restaurant. What a hightlight of our trip to Canada. We will certainly be back in winter for skiing!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

Booked an online reservation 4 days before planned stay. Cancelled 2 hours later through websites "contact us" form. Was not contacted until the following day. Lodge was confirming reservations even though I had submitted contact us form explaining cancelation. Was told I would be charged a full nights stay for canceling because I did not cancel 7 days in advance. Did not even book 7 days in advance. No disclaimer on website stating a mandatory charge if booking/cancelling within 7 days. Contacted hotel was told I would be charged. Hotel owner claimed I never sent an email . Hotel charged my credit card 166.00. Owner was rude, and unaccomidating.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2005
Hello, my name is Paul and I am the manager who spoke with the guest this left this complaint. We are a small lodge, only 10 rooms and need to have a cancellation policy to protect our new business. We cannot afford to lose 10% of our revenue when guests cancel on the last minute. Our cancellation policy is clearly printed on the on-line reservation form above the line where guests enter their credit card information. The guest in question did not try to cancel until the next day and threatened to write to Trip Advisor and 'make my life miserable' if I did not give her money back. We send an automatic confirmation letter as soon as the reservation is booked, and actually left messages on this guest's phone, as he had questions about Golden activities. By then we had turned away business because we were sold out for the long weekend. Our lodge is brand new, the rooms are spacious, and the food in our restaurant is great, as all the other postings reflect. As long as you understand our cancellation policy that we have, you will have a great time at this Lodge and with my wife and I. I try not to be rude to anyone, and do my best to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible, plus I have been told I make the best Caesar in the Rockies.
For all the experienced travelers out there, a cancellation policy is a common thing. Depending on the size of the property, a policy can vary from a few hours to a few weeks. So for those of you who are new to traveling, make sure you take the time to read the reservation form you are filling out, and if you enter your credit card into a secure field, it generally means that you are purchasing space and, depending on the cancellation policy, may be held responsible for that booking. Remember, a cancellation policy for a hotel is no different from an airline cancellation policy, which is a non negotiable policy. At least we tried to re-sell the room and offer some great deals and free upgrades to these guests should they ever consider returning, despite the way we were treated. Hotel managers are people too, and should not be abused by people who do not want to follow the rules which are clearly printed on the reservation form.
To comment on this situation, please go to our website, at (commercial URL) for contact information and ask for Paul.
Thank you for taking the time to read this, and happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.0 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Golden Hostel, Kicking Horse River Lodge
0.4 mi away
Country Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Property: Copper Horse Lodge
Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing