We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Couples Getaway”
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copper Horse Lodge
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I booked Copper Horse Lodge through LivingSocial for our anniversary trip. When we got there we were informed we were upgraded to the deluxe suite. It was a perfect room! We ate at Corks downstairs and had the best food we've had in a while. The hosts were very knowledgeable and very friendly. We met the manager Brooke and she was really nice as well. They had a great DVD selection and the hot tub was perfect. The bed was REALLY comfy too! We will definitely be booking this lodge again and be referring all of our friends there. Thanks for the PERFECT stay!!!

Room Tip: Book the deluxe suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nestled in what can only be described as one of the most breathtaking places on earth sits Copper Horse Lodge. The rooms are beautiful, the service was stellar, and the beds were extremely cozy! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

beautiful quaint little hotel, it felt like we were staying at a b&b, very nice staff, very accommodating. Huge room, huge custom shower, loved the big window with the cushioned window seat. Decorated very nicely and in great clean shape. For those to know: there is no balcony, and no elevator. I loved this- it felt more quaint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had the Bessst time here! We did not want to leave! The hosts were so friendly and welcoming. The room was spectacular, the bed was super comfy and the spa shower was unbelievable. The breakfast the hosts prepared was so great! everything was fresh and delicious. definitely recommend this to everyone...super relaxing and fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms have great views from either side, so serene and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ml0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Amazing place, the whole atmosphere was great. We where we'll taken care of by Jesse and Chris who were running the front desk . Loved the restaurant . The service was awesome and I had the best salmon dinner I have ever had! The rooms were very clean , and that bed was very hard to get out of. Loved It. The breakfast was well prepared and the. Food and service was great. I cannot wait to go back

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I could understand charging a 50$ fee per extra person per night, but we were completely upfront about being three people when we checked in and were then told that we'd be charged 50$ per night but that all the cots were taken so that the three of us would just have to make due on two single beds and weren't given any suggestions about where we could buy an air mattress or anything! The lady was completely unhelpful but very happy to charge for providing zero extra service. It was ridiculous. I ended up sleeping on a boxspring and it was one of the most uncomfortable sleeps of my life.

We also had to ask several times anytime we needed anything, there was rarely anyone there and every time we saw her she was drinking alcohol and always had a glass of wine behind the desk. The rooms also aren't at all sound proof and since our room was close to the common area we were kept up late into the night while people were yelling and playing card games.

The restaurant on the other hand was really great and had good service and was especially accommodating for people with Celiacs. I'd recommend skipping the hotel for sure, but the restaurant is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the common area because the room is not even remotely soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietisthenewloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL M, General Manager at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that you had a negative experience. I appreciate that you have brought this to our attention so this does not happen again. I have gone ahead and refunded you for the extra person for both nights. I also wanted to contact you and offer you to come back and have a complimentary stay with us at the Copper Horse Lodge.

Thank you,

Brooke
1.877.544.7644

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Terrible bed! what first appears to be a king sized bed was actually two single beds tied together with two single feather beds placed across them to hide the crevasse in the middle. this might has worked had the underlying single beds not been sagging and well past their prime. the net result was a stiff back and a horrible sleep.
the in-house restaurant was closed the night we arrived due to a wedding reception. there were quite literally children running down the halls of the guest areas in the hotel and around vehicles in the parking lot. after arriving back later in the evening after dinner in town, I complained to the manager about the noise level from the party (complete with live band). he seemed sincere in his empathy, but ineffectual in doing anything about the problem as the noise continued at a disruptive level until well after midnight despite his assurances that it would not. the following evening, we tried to eat at the restaurant, but we were told they were sold out of entrees due to the previous night's festivities, rendering our $20 food voucher useless.
the room itself was average other than the bed issues, however the shower drained poorly, and there was mold in several places. the room was not cleaned during our visit, nor was our bed turned down, but the host did call to ask if we needed fresh towels.
not sure if the current owners are out of country (there is a for sale sign out front), but there is plenty of evidence of cheap finishings or shoddy workmanship: 2" gap under the door to our room, cockeyed shower door that would not close, crooked handles on faucet, tiny tv, desk fan but no a/c etc etc.

save your money and stay anywhere else. we will be pursuing a refund from living social.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHL M, General Manager at Copper Horse Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we can improve. I have passed your feedback onto the owners. I would like to provide you a refund for the $20 for the Living Social Voucher, or you can use it next time you are in town! As I am not too sure of your full name, can you please contact me at stay@copperhorselodge.com or at the number below so I can issue you a refund, or to see if you will be coming out this way.

Thank you,

Brooke
1.877.544.7644

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.0 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 17 in Golden
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Lodge
Vagabond Lodge
#8 of 43 in Golden
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.0 mi away
Rondo Motel
Rondo Motel
#11 of 17 in Golden
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $140 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing