We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best place to stay in KH/Golden”
Review of Copper Horse Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Horse Lodge
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Easily the best place to stay in KH/Golden”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I've been coming to Golden and Kicking Horse since 2004 and I can tell you after staying at multiple other properties, the Copper Horse is the best/ only place to stay. It's the perfect place to get your day started with a fantastic breakfast and after a long day of skiing, the best place to relax and eat great food (corks). The rooms, the hot tub, the staff, are all amazing and will go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be.

I'll see you there,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    11
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms could use an update a bit in terms of updated amenities such as new trash cans, televisions, etc. The rooms are beautiful but the outdated amenities make the rooms seem dated.

We love this place, though! The folks who manage the lodge and the restaurant are amazing, friendly and engaged. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Copper Horse and couldn't have found a better place to stay. Cozy and intimate spot steps from the mountain. The staff are very friendly and helpful, from check in to service in their fantastic restaurant (Corks), it feels as if you are amongst friends visiting in their beautiful chalet. The rooms are great and comfortable, the lobby offers comfort by a fire, and the restaurant downstairs offers great local beers, good wines and great food (loved my steak dinner). There is hot tub area out back which is a great place to kick back after a day on the mountain with your friends or visit with a few of the other guests. I would highly recommend Kicking Horse for a great ski destination and stay at the Copper Horse Lodge, you'll be happy you chose this place.
Tom G.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Copper Horse Lodge. The accomodations and food were excellent. The proprietors, Troy and Corrina, went out of their way to make us feel at home. I would have no hesitation recommending Copper Horse to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Copper Horse lodge is the perfect little getaway. The staff are the most gracious of hosts. Corks is an amzing restaraunt which bosts a deep cellar and perfect pairings on the menu. I loved my stay, loved the food, and loved the people. A+++

Great job

Room Tip: You cant go wrong at the copper horse lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at Copper Horse Lodge from jan 27 until feb 3 - in the large deluxe jacuzzi suite and had a really nice week. The room was clean, huge, the bed comfy and we had all the space we needed to relax after a long day out skiing. Looks much better and bigger live than in the pictures on the website. The jacuzzi was great and the bathroom was equipped with spa products and lots of clean towels. The room was also equipped with a refrigerator, kettle and a coffee press pot and bags of good strong coffee. (really nice when we woke up at 5 in the morning from jet-lag) The lodge also have a ski- and drying room for boots and an outdoor jacucci.
Downstairs is the restaurant Cork's - with really nice food. Not a michelin star restaurant - but you dont need a M.star to make great food. We ate at most of the places in KHR but preferred Cork's.
The staff was really nice, friendly, serviceminded and made our stay worth the long journey all the way from Norway. Thank you Corrina, Troy, Brooke & Chad:-) ..have to warn you - we'll be back - hopefully next year:-) R&AK

Room Tip: Room 9 the large deluxe jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A wonderful experience!

Exceeded all expectations! Brooke, Corrina and Troy are fantastic hosts, and really personalized our experience. Troy is amazing and really super sharp.He managed everything for us to enjoy our stay.

We were a groupe of 6 co-wokers and we all agreed that we will come back soon the Copper Horse!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialized8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.0 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Lodge

Property: Copper Horse Lodge
Address: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Horse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel, offers an exceptional lodge experience including modern, spaciously appointed rooms and a delectable home-made breakfast for all guests. Located just steps away from the resort's gondola, the lodge is the ideal location for both winter and summer sports enthusiasts. Each of the 10 suites feature spa-like bathrooms, deluxe European-style featherbeds, plush down duvets and room essentials such as robes and hairdryers to make you feel at home. The lodge's deluxe suite is a perfect romantic retreat with a private Jacuzzi tub and over-sized living space. The main level of the lodge includes a guest lounge with wood burning fireplace, secure ski/boot room with boot warmers, access to private hot tub and ski memorabilia collected by lodge owner/operator, Olympic athlete and World Cup champion Felix Belczyk. Copper Horse Lodge also features an unparalleled mountain dining experience at the newly revamped Corks Restaurant. The carefully chosen, classically inspired menu is as refreshing and memorable as our stunning mountain backdrop. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Horse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing