We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
157
153
37
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
157
153
37
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancake maker hi express one night pool and hot tub free breakfast king room nice breakfast bagels lake louise would stay again off the highway en route comfortable beds front desk staff hie pillows vancouver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 366 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We have found most HI Express hotels are nice places to stay. This one was no exception. Due to the fires at West Glacier, we had to change our plans. Spent 3 nights at this hotel as a base for exploring lots of areas in the Rockies. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Staff was nice and helpful.

Breakfast was the common HIE foods. Love the pancake machine. Otherwise, each morning hot food was scrambled eggs, cheese omelets and bacon and/or sausage.

We had points for our 3 nights, making it a great deal for us since the price seemed a bit high.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mlm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We stayed for five nights while we visited the Rockies. A perfect base, less than an hour from Lake Louise. All we wanted was a comfortable bed for the night and a good breakfast to set us up for another day in the mountains. The hotel provided that perfectly. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay of 5 nights at the Golden Kicking Horse. You are only 45-55 mins from Lake Louise and there are lovely local things around like the Kootenay National Park and the hot springs at Radium.

We enjoyed the breakfast remembering it’s at no extra cost. It’s best enjoyed avoiding the cooked breakfast though as the eggs etc aren’t that special. The pancake machine was great though.

We enjoyed eating at the Turning Point restaurant most in Golden in the evenings.

Two small issues for us: the water tasted very metallic at the hotel and we wished we had bought bottled water earlier; we didn’t think that all the disposable plates, cutlery etc at breakfast was in line with “Beautiful British Columbia”.

Some people commented on the pool being small and busy but we didn’t have a problem with that at all.

Should you stay here to explore the parks of Kootenay and Banff, yes!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JulianA250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way back from Edmonton, Alberta to Vancouver, BC. Since it was so warm and humid from our trip decided to take a shower but the bath tub was clogged. Phoned reception and complained but I was told nobody is available to do it and they will do it in the morning. Requested to be transferred to another room but nobody get back to me. We were so disappointed. Checked out the next day. This was the worst stay in Holiday Inn. It was an expensive overnight stay in Holiday Inn compared to my previous 2 nights stay in Calgary and Edmonton!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 62marissav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

This is a great spot to stop as you are passing through. The hotel is new and clean and a great oasis for those on a road trip. The location is good, right off the highway. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and new - a great night!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vmchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews