We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cold stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon our arrival, the heat was off in the room. It was an exceptionally cold (-25C) weekend, so it was freezing in there. I told the front desk staff that it was off, and they confirmed that it was intentional. The floors, especially in the bathroom, were too cold to stand on. So we cranked up the heat and explored the town for a couple of hours to allow the room to heat up. Thankfully, the heater in our room worked very well. Even so, it took a good 24 hours for the floors to warm up to a comfortable level.

The breakfast was only offered from 7-9AM, so the first morning of our hockey tournament, we had to eat elsewhere. On the morning we did eat there, the food was decent, but a pretty small selection (both hot and cold cereal, waffles, toast, fruit, boiled eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, tea).

The kids seemed to enjoy the pool, though it was so foggy in there, they could hardly be seen. (The extreme cold weather contributed to the fog situation, I'm sure.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marajoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    60
    26
    17
See reviews for
87
46
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

It was late and we needed a cheap place to unexpectedly stay in golden because of the highway closures, and travelodge worked out well. The admin girl at night was wonderful, helpful, and nice...the pool area was a hit with the kids!
Parking was tough, we had to park a ways from our room which isn't fun in the cold. The room needed to be warmed up after we got into it(it was about 15 degrees C when we got into it.

This is a great chap place to stay if you have kids that will use the pool and waterside, and good enough if all you want is sleep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aarman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the first review I've felt the need to write, and I am writing it from the motel room I'm reviewing. There are some things to like about this place, but none of them can make up for the fact that when I peeled back the covers to my bed, I found blood stained sheets. And not a spot, or even two, but the amount of blood you might expect to be left from a kidney transplant. I'm sure the sheet has been washed, but really..!? I've stayed in a few dives in my life, but this is a first.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden hotels

Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked this hotel for the pool and waterslide for the kids. It didn't disappoint as they had great time swimming. The rooms are a decent size with new flat scene TVs, microwave and fridge. Nothing overly special about the place but was clean and a good place to stop.

Room Tip: Access to pool is outdoor so if in winter ask for a room close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Maybe this is an ok hotel for single rooms, but it has terrible service for groups.
Front desk staff is rude to almost everyone and breakfast service could not be any worse
Showers with poor water pressure

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauVgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is very like the mjority of North American Travelodges: comfortable, reliable, on the outskirts of town, good but not outstanding. The rooms are spacious and clean. Continental breakfast is included. There is a pool (good size) with a flume and hot tub. We asked to move rooms as the room we were allocated was very dark since it looked out on the stairwell. There was also an issue with the rate: we hd booked online at a discounted rate, but were not given this. After some discussion, the manager was called and the matter sorted to our satisfaction, but it took some time. The confirmation of our booking was actually in the fax machine! The hotel has views of the mountains from most rooms. There is a good diner and a Mcdonalds nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view- it should be easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, as my friend was getting married in Golden. The motel was clean, and the staff were very friendly. I will definitely stay here again the next time I need to stay over in Golden! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia22M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge

Property: Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Address: 1200 12th St N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Sportsman Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Golden boasts pool with waterslide, hot tub and sauna. One of only 2 accommodations in Golden with a great FREE continental breakfast. One of Golden's most popular accommodations centrally located within walking distance from a dozen restaurants, service stations and a 15 minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Great package deals all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing