We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wicked” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwater Grill & Bar

Rockwater Grill & Bar
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the heart of Golden, the Rockwater Grill & Bar is your place for quality invotive food, large groups, almost daily live entertainment. Summer time find your self on our rooftop and riverside patios. Kids welcome everyday till 9pm.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wicked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place was awesome came in from Vancouver and there was a dj in town. Great music great food. Also had amazing bar service. Really friendly and helpful staff. Loved the out door patio right on the river perfect space to be in the summer. The atmosphere made it all worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dining - then dancing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is a nightclub, that serves dinner until about 9pm. Or maybe it is the opposite. This sounds like a weird place to eat, but it was actually very good! The service was very good, the food was very delicious and the wine list was good. The steak they served was superb and cooked very well and the desserts were yummy. We went with a large group and they were very accommodating and set up a private area for us. And then we stuck around for the beach party after they cleared out the tables!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

A group of 7 of us went to the Whitetooth Bistro for dinner on a Saturday night, however it was full so the waitress informed us that they shared the kitchen with the Rockwater Grill next door and there was lots of room there, so we went. We were immediately overcome by a strange smell in the air and were surprised to see it was Beach Night, with lame palm trees that looked like they were dug up from the basement and put on display, some Lei's were thrown around, and our waitress informed us of a "wet t-shirt contest" that was going on later! Its March in Golden BC...what are they thinking? What made our experience worse however was the poor service we received from our waitress. She had a notepad with the days specials that she could not pronounce and when asked for further detail, she could not provide any. When asked to repeat the soup of they day, she had to take out her notepad again!! She seemed flustered and annoyed when one of our group changed their orders. I ordered a beer and one of the girls ordered wine, which came out in a filthy wine glass, that we asked politely to change, which she did about 15 minutes later. Meanwhile I had finished my beer and was looking forward to a second, when she went missing for 20 minutes...literally 20 minutes with no sign of her, and then I had to flag her down. I felt like getting up and going to the bar myself. The food actually was very good, however a little expensive for the portion sizes (this is a bar, not fine dining - $28 for 2 finger size sausages basically), and was also a little cold, probably because our waitress had left it sitting somewhere. At any rate, the ambiance sucked, the waitress sucked, the food was good, but cold and overpriced. Would not recommend unless going for beer n wings and wet t-shirt contests!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrekker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What happened to our food?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

After waiting for more than one hour for even an appie to appear, we left as no food was in sight. Our server confirmed that our order was not even in the queue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoozieQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely variable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have visited this establishment a few times now, as they have Arrowhead IPA on tap (is a good beer!). The service is highly variable, at best. Every time I go in, the wait staff is different. Some staff are helpful. Some are rude and inflexible; e.g., "this is how we cook our burgers and that is that." The food quality is quite variable also. E.g., one time I went in and got nice, crispy fries. On another occasion, they were complete mush.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockwater Grill & Bar also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rockwater Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing