We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved every moment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Golden, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RaniM59
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved every moment”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The cabin was excellent . Clean, large, very well equipped .
The location is a bit out of town though it's quit and surrounded by nature.
We highly recommend !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfPatro...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Smiley Wolf - "a gem in the woods"”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My husband had booked Smiley for our family to stay at. Not until we actually pulled up to the front did we have any idea what kind of wonderful get away we were going to. Breathtaking!!! Smiley Wolf was the PERFECT place for relaxation. It was fully equipted and we were impressed by the cleanliness and the warmth of it all. Between having a fire and roasting marshmellows at night, BBQing on the deck, relaxing in the hammock or going into the hot tub, Smiley Wolf is a wonderful place to go and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. I keep telling my husband that I want to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the beds and bedding were awesome
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeLuke
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality cabin in beautiful and quiet surroundings”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We stayed at Smiley Wolf for a relaxing weekend in November. The cabin is top quality: the kitchen is rather well equipped, the beds are perfect and with two bathrooms and a hot tub there's plenty of opportunity for a soak. The large plot provides privacy yet it's not remote. Golden is just a five minute drive and has everything you'll need, while there's virtually unlimited opportunity to enjoy the outdours in the immediate surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great place to warm up after a day in the outdoors”
Reviewed October 25, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The Smiley Wolf was a great place to return to after a day spent canoeing and fishing at local lakes. The chill of the fall day was easily replaced by the warmth of the hot tub and wood stove. There was lots of room for my young sons and the three adults in our party to relax in comfort. Property manager is very helpful and everything is as advertised!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marla_p_h...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super cozy and relaxing”
Reviewed April 22, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

We've stayed at Smiley Wolf twice now in the winter and have thoroughly enjoyed both of our visits. This cabin is nestled in the trees on Mount Seven, just outside of Golden. A round trip from the house to the grocery store in Golden and back again takes less than half an hour (and that includes time in the grocery store!). It is only about 30 min from door to lift at Kicking Horse Mountain or the Dawn Mountain ski trails and very close to several local hiking and biking trails. But beyond the benefits of the location, there is something just special about this place. It is impossible to feel anything but relaxed when you walk in the door. The log walls, wood-burning stove, hot tub, open kitchen all invite you in and say "sit down and enjoy!" The bedrooms are very well appointed with log furniture and very comfortable beds, and the main floor is stocked with everything you need for a wonderful break from the real world. Oh, and I almost forgot.... just outside the cabin your little ones will find a pint-sized play house that promises to provide hours of entertainment (at least it did for my kids!). And if you are travelling with kids, there is a lovely old claw-footed tub in the upstairs bathroom....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smashleyr...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous New Year's - relaxed and homey stay, but with HOT TUBBIN!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Great place. Spacious, clean, cozy, gorgeous lot and view of the mtn from the hot tub after a wicked day skiing. It's a winter wonderland. I can hardly wait to go back in the summer and enjoy the sunny decks and walks through the forest behind the house!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJN100
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Lovely comfortable cabin near great downhill and back-country skiing!”
Reviewed April 2, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Very comfortable beds. Nice fireplace with gear drying rack. Large comfortable hot tub with great views to the mountains across the valley. Easy 5 min drive into Golden, 15 minute drive to Kicking Horse ski hill, 30 min to Rogers Pass back-country skiing. Even with the 7 adults we had, there was still plenty of room for cooking, eating, gear storage and relaxing. Wifi worked with no hitches to get weather reports and avalanche info. Very clean throughout!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$218
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing