We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best burgers I ate in 2013”

The Island Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can stop in for a continental breakfast, quick soup, salad or sandwich, or relax and dine on one of our Asian inspired starters followed by an entrée of local game. Dishes prepared using our fresh produce grown on "the Island". Come ask for a tour!!Convenient Online Reservations on our website.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best burgers I ate in 2013”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stopped both on our way east and back west, our server Jen was awesome and the hand formed burgers and home cut fries were fantastic! They are great with kids and even made some very good lattes to go! Stop here anytime passing thru, well worth it to relax for an hour!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJDIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    190
    45
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A Definite Must”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I go out of my way every chance possible to swing by here in my travels. The service is fantastic and friendly. It is a comfortable and inviting atmosphere in a neat AND easy to find location. And the food.....Oh my goodness, the food! The Fresh Scallops are the best you may ever have. Ever. And if you love Salmon, they have something that you may have never experienced before! Be sure to put Island Restaurant on your list of Must Do's!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always worth visiting!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great food! Friendly, efficient and respectful service. Terrific atmosphere in a beautifully constructed log building. Sensible pricing. This is the kind of place you dream of finding in your travels. Cant wait to make a return visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“REAL Home Style Cook'in”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our visit with close friends in Nicholson gave us the opportunity to stop by The Island early one cold Golden morning to find a fabulous breakfast and excellent service awaiting our arrival! I have to say this is truly one of the best breakfast spots I have ever been to in my travels across North America - and to top it off fantastic service and hospitality! Every morsel was mouthwatering and cooked to perfection!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViaReggio28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
“Great spot”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As we passed though Golden, BC on a drive from Calgary to Kelowna in November we were looking for something a little better than fast food for supper. Well we found something MUCH better! The Island Restaurant is less than 5 min off the highway and well worth the drive. It has a great atmosphere and a menu to match with a full gluten free menu as well for those that prefer gluten free. Petra served us that evening and she was great. The food came faster than we had expected and if my wife had not ordered the Rosehip Creme Brulee for dessert (which she says was awesome) we could have been back on the road in 35 minutes from the time we arrived. As it was, we were back on the road in under 50 min. Apparently creme brulee is something to be savoured.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Restaurant also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing