We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene and beautifull environment, friendly host, clean woodlodges” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldenwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldenwood Lodge
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Nederland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene and beautifull environment, friendly host, clean woodlodges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We past by on our Canada trip, but finally stayed for three days, It was great. If you like a beautifull and serene environment, with a friendly host in clean woodlodges, this is the place to be. Relatively close (30 min drive) to town, shops but also to wild watter rafting and paragliding. However in front of your lodge it is peacefull and undisturbed. Everything one needs to wind down and relax with a good book. All the facilities for a nice barbeque and leasure time with friends.
Do not go if you want nightlive, or want to goto "hot" places, this is a place were you go with your family for a nice outdoor experience. This is the ideal stop when you do a sightseeing tour in Canada.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaartenenPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

We just sat on our porch and stared at the beauty. We were stunned. We've been in the mountains A LOT but his place blew us away. It's set high up at the end of a valley about 20 minutes west of Golden and each of the homes/cabins is arranged so that the view is unobstructed. You can see Kicking Horse off across the valley. We stayed in the side by side one bedroom duplex with futon bed/couch in the main living area. The furnishings are basic as is the kitchen but you aren't here to spend time indoors. Each unit has an outdoor firepit. The hot tub is nice. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddyinbedtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed a couple of nights in a teepee and a night in one of the cabins at Goldenwood. It is set in a beautiful area of the rockies - quite different from the area around Banff and Jasper. Golden itself is not much to write home about but at least there are useful shops and petrol stations etc. The teepees are pretty basic but comfortable and it was lovely to sit out with a camp fire at night. The cabins are really nice and cosy too. The deer hang out in among the teepees and the friendly dogs show you the way on their regular walks. There is great mountain biking nearby and walks but you probably don't want to spend more than a few days unless you want to sit back and read a book, enjoying the views. If you are heading West when leaving, be aware that there are no petrol stations for a loooooong way so best fill up in Golden.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank squiddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

We've spent just three nights in this Lodge, but we wished we could stay longer.
The lodge is situated at the very end of a road just in the middle of the wood and near a river. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the silence and peace.
The owners are not too intrusive, but helpful whenever you need. They have three wonderful dogs that are very good company in walks through the wood.
They don't organize horse rides anymore, it's worth to know, because on their website they still advertise it. They explained us why, and we perfectly understood.
You can either choose an accomodation with kitchen or only the room and enjoy the delicious meals cooked by Barbara.
The rooms are simple, but very clean and well kept. And the best surprise during our stay was the presence of many deers wondering around the property. Simply amazing.
We are Italian, so for us distances are different. 100 km it's a long way to drive. But in Canada there is another approach to distances and the Lodge can be considered close to many National Parks: Yoho, Golden and Banff. The Emerald Lake is worth a visit. And if you have time enough, take the whole walk around the lake.
If we can go back to Canada again, we will certainly go back to Goldenwood Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoccinellaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Our group of 4 snowboarders stayed in their biggest cabin for 4-5 days. Everything was there to enjoy the kitchen (pots, pans, forks spoons, etc) with a BBQ on the terrasse, 2 closed rooms with 3 beds and a mezzanine with 3 extra beds (all single beds), a wood stove and access to an outdoor but covered jacuzzi.

Everything was cleaned every day, the couple who owns the place are just great.

The location is a little remote (10-15 min drive from Golden) but has fantastic view on the ski resort and the mountain range.

For the price, it is probably hard to beat.

We'll be back

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilGo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at this lodge. We had a tipi. It was an special experience to sleep in a tipi, i liked the idea. but even it was july at night it was very cold, even in the sleepin bag. if you like to stay in a tipi you should have warm clothes with you. the bathroom was clean. we liked it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

We stayed in the log cabin No. 8 bed & breakfast for four nights. The bathroom was very modern and everything was very clean. We had a really relaxing time, the view was just splendid. Barbara showed us how to light the log stove, and it worked every time, which made the cabin very cosy in the evening. A lovely walk to the river, with the dogs, Polar and Max, they came along and showed us the way! Barbara's breakfasts and evening meals were varied and well presented. Great horse rides with Gelda ,our lady guide. We would recommend Goldenwood Lodge if you want a relaxing break.
Sandra & John, Tyne & Wear, England

  • Liked — log fire made it nice and cosy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sanstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
13.2 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
28.5 mi away
Beaverfoot Lodge
Beaverfoot Lodge
#26 of 42 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#7 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
20.9 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#19 of 42 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenwood Lodge

Property: Goldenwood Lodge
Address: 2493 Holmes-Deakin Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldenwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet retreat in the Canadian Rockies right on the edge of wilderness. Comfortable 1 and 3 bedroom cottages, rooms, and teepees in beautiful setting. Natural pond; river access; abundant wildlife, great bird watching, spectacular views. Excellent breakfasts (also vegetarian) on request. Mountain bike rental. Wi-Fi. Lots of activities nearby. Close to 6 National Mountain Parks. We are a Green Lodge - committed to help save our planet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing