We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldenwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldenwood Lodge
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights in June and were not disappointed. Stunning views of the Purcell mountains from all vantage points and so peaceful. We stayed in a chalet which was absolutely immaculate and totally equipped. We loved having the fire pit and enjoyed a roaring fire each night - remember that the sun sets late so depending on how much hiking you take in you may not make it to sunset! We really didn't need to go anywhere else. The views from the chalet were absolutely beautiful. We choose to prepare our own meals, but Barbara's culinary delights were evident when we checked in with the smell of homemade bread lingering in the air. Goldenwood Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature, lots to do nearby. The Teepees looked amazing as well!

Mary-Anne & Jim
Oakville, Ontario

Room Tip: Not a bad view in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Outdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed at Goldenwood 3 times and each visit has been a delight. We love the cabins with their fire pits and barbecues, with just the deer watching us while we cooked! We also stayed in the main house on our last visit and the accommodation was really good value. Barbara's breakfasts are delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived at Goldenwood - the location is wonderful, with breathtaking views. The cabin we stayed in was immaculate and well equipped and served us very well for the few days we were there. We enjoyed a great breakfast every morning and on our first night Barbara cooked us a delicious meal. The whole experience was topped off by seeing a black bear on our walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipsandEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thank you Barbara and your husband. We couldn't get over how beautiful the views were and how amazing the spa etc was. Thanks for everything. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feejay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed in a teepee for 2 nights in July and absolutely loved it. Reasonable price for teepee with 3 beds, mattresses and mosquito nets. It was like luxurious camping which we liked a lot. Clean shared bathroom and huge kitchen with all appliances. Loved the experience and will go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at Goldenwood Lodge for three nights and could happily have stayed for a lot longer! We stayed in the studio cabin with a view of outstanding beauty and deers that visited us in front of the cabin every night! The cabin was spotlessly clean and cleaned daily with a lovely log burning stove and an outside fire pit. The mountain surroundings change on an hourly basis with the mist and the sun giving breathtaking views and you just want to sit outside in the evening by the fire taking it all in. The stars at night are magnificent! In the mornings we went up to the main lodge for breakfasts where Andy and Barbara were wonderful hosts supplying a plentiful breakfast and always offers of seconds! Goldenwood also can provide an evening meal and we eat there on one of our evenings. A lovely meal was provided by Barbara at a cost of $28 each which was great value with all fresh ingredients, a lot of vegetables grown by Barbara. The trails to the rear of the lodge down by the river are truly beautiful with stunning scenery and charming wildnerness and sounds of nature. We had a wonderful stay here and cannot recommend it highly enough. Everything was great and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

The view from these lodges is stunning. All you can see is forest stretching 20 miles or more, only ending when the mountains rise on all sides. Not quite in the wilderness, but it has that feel to it. A great spot for wildlife, we had seen a humming bird and two types of deer within minutes of being there. We could have sat on the deck and admired the view for hours. A quiet and tranquil spot. Friendly owners. The cabin we stayed in was clean, tidy and adequately equipped and spaciuos enough for the two of us. An outside fire pit and inside fireplace add to the charm, just a shame there was a fire ban when we were there. Could have done with more comfortable seats in the lounge as the settee provided was not easy to sit comfortably in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
13.2 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moberly Lodge
Moberly Lodge
#7 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#20 of 42 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
19.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
4.3 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenwood Lodge

Property: Goldenwood Lodge
Address: 2493 Holmes-Deakin Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldenwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet retreat in the Canadian Rockies right on the edge of wilderness. Comfortable 1 and 3 bedroom cottages, rooms, and teepees in beautiful setting. Natural pond; river access; abundant wildlife, great bird watching, spectacular views. Excellent breakfasts (also vegetarian) on request. Mountain bike rental. Wi-Fi. Lots of activities nearby. Close to 6 National Mountain Parks. We are a Green Lodge - committed to help save our planet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing