We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love the look and feel of the place; much good karma” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Lodge and Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
1 review
“I love the look and feel of the place; much good karma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I love the rustic style of the lodges, (esp. the wood stove), the jacuzzi area is excellent, and the owners are very kind, approachable people. One potential drawback would be the distance from Golden as far as convenience goes, but I like it that way. I forgot my favourite ceramic chef knife in Porcupine lodge; I'll have to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We looked around for a while for a place to stay as we wanted something we could call our own, off the beaten path, cozy, and allowed pets,

We found this at Hillside Lodge, the owners where good to deal with when we needed as for the most part we just keep to our selves enjoying the great outdoors.

The cabin was clean and comfortable, the lodge was great, had a sitting room for movies with fire place, an out door hot tub with change rooms and snow shoes if you wanted to take a nice walk though the trails.

All in all we a great stay here and would recommend to others that want a nice quite relaxing place to stay with pets,

Travis And Treena Fort Murray, AB

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Treena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our second visit to Hillside Lodge and Chalets and we absolutely loved it. The cabins are very quaint, and have everything you need for a weekend away. The owners were happy to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible with movies to rent in the main lodge and snowshoes to borrow for wandering through the snowy trees. We stayed in the smaller cabin for 2 this time and loved how cosy and comfortable the cabin was.
A few years ago when we visited last, we happened to be going through the process of purchasing a house on the day we arrived. The owners were incredibly helpful and let us use their computer, scanner, and landline for the never ending phone calls and contract revisions until midnight. We were so thankful that they were so accommodating.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

As we drove up, we were a little "underwhelmed", but coming around the corner and in among the cabins, the place cast its spell. By the time we got up to the lodge, we were already saying we thought maybe we'd found our new favourite mountain escape.
The lodge was just beautiful, impeccably kept, our room overlooked the river valley. Gorgeous. We had requested special arrangements for one additional guest cot, and asked a million questions about accessibility when we called...and emailed...and called again to arrange the booking. Even working around our crazy late hours because of the wedding reception, there was a beautiful breakfast laid out for us in the morning. Everything was handled exceptionally and with obvious pride; the family were honest, helpful and so friendly!
My brother had come with us to the wedding all the way from Japan (via Calgary) - he said the stay in the lodge just made the whole trip. This place deserves international acclaim! Bravo.

Room Tip: Overlooking river valley in the lodge is an ideal spot to have morning coffee on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had spent 2 nights here for a family wedding. It was a beautiful location, beautiful rooms. The lodge was so welcoming and comfortable, it felt like home. the cabins were perfectly spacious and great for the kids (ages 2 and 3). The family running the lodge were very friendly and accommodating. We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: We had Beaver Cabin, the beds separated from a king to two twins, I am not sure if were were suppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starla G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks Starla and Mike! We were happy to accommodate you guys and it was a very enjoyable wedding weekend for everyone!
Guests like you are why we love this business! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked @ night, last minute, about 15 minutes from the location with the husband. Upon entering the tiny room, the bed was all messed up (we thought perhaps that it was a very quick turndown but thought it was a little odd bc it was very "slept in" looking) As we went back to the car to get our suitcase, we got called out to work again & had to cancel & continue our drive. Called the husband, he said it was ok & no charge (we literally walked in & out). Today, the wife Stef called us in an extremely rude fashion, accusing us of lying & treating us as if we had stolen from her & we had to defend our integrity. I am extremely offended, sad, angry & cannot believe that she, as the owner of this company, had the audacity to treat us & speak to us as she did. We will definitely NEVER recommend this place & NEVER have our wedding there as we were dreaming about. Thank you Stefanie for showing us how you truly treat your customers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelissaCraig21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Melissa,

Our policy in regards to cancellations is that the full amount is charged within 72 hours of the arrival date, which we waived for you since you booked last minute and because of your circumstances. Another policy we abide by is that all our cabins are cleaned and a quality check performed after each cleaning, no matter how busy we are.

From our perspective, a cabin with crumbs on the table, a used bathroom and the bed laid in generally means that a guest used the cabin which obviously results in charges.

I apologize if my questioning materialized as being offensive - I thought I would give you the benefit of the doubt and call you before any charges were applied to your card. Your reaction didn't allow me to explain our policies to you and as you are aware, no charges were applied.

We apologize for this incident and hope to be able to make it up to you in the future.

Hillside Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Buffalo Cabin for a family wedding. The cabin was clean, cozy and perfect for a family of four. The area itself is beautiful with great views of the mountains and Blaeberry River. The wedding reception was held in a barn that looked fantastic when decorated. Our kids had a fantastic time exploring the area. The owner's were very friendly and welcoming. Just wish there were no mosquito's!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipage80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
8.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
18.8 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#5 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
13.9 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
22.2 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Property: Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Address: 1740 Seward Frontage Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 20 beautiful acres of riverfront property, we offer 9 cabins and 2 guest rooms. We have an amazing wedding venue - a rustic barn with just enough modern touches and beautiful exposed wood to make any event stunning! It's a must see property with lots to see and do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing