We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Ranked #19 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“August Wedding”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had our wedding at Hillside this month & it was by far the most amazing location we could have ever dreamed of. Having family & friends all together for a weekend instead of just one day was a big priority for us & the property is gorgeous. The cabins are all adorable & the lodge was perfect for the wedding party. The Sunrise honeymoon suite is to die for & the barn is gorgeous with an amazing bar set up. Also very helpful was the option for people to camp in the fields & use the guest showers in the lodge. The owners, Stefanie & Marc are a pleasure & Hillside Lodge is truly a gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Once again this year we made our way to Hillside for a summer retreat, We have actually lost track of how many years we have been going to this incredible hideaway but it doesnt matter as time is truly lost in the magnificent Sunrise cabin! Last year we found out from Hubert and Sonja that they had sold the property and our hearts fell until we heard the new owners were Steph and Mike, their daughter and son in law. We are so happy to let the world know that Hillside tradition CONTINUES and with the same incredible hospitality as before. We are always excited to get to Hillside, totally relaxed while there, and so sad to leave! This is our measure of a fine place to holiday and we will always make our way back to Hillside. Thankyou Steph and Mike for continuing the fine tradition of perfection!

Room Tip: For the view of a lifetime its the Sunrise Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is always nice to have returning customers - especially the ones that come back every year. It is very rewarding and it makes Mark and I strive to keep up the amazing work my parents have done in the past. Thanks again and we look forward to your stay next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went on a mini honeymoon to get away after our wedding. It was so gorgeous, quite and relaxing exactly what we needed. We were no more then 15 min away from the Golden town site. The view from our chalet was stunning. The food was great, and Stephanie and Mike were so pleasant and great cooks! The common room was very nice lots of options on activities to do. It was really clean and I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: The Summer Suite has a private hot tub, and an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are honored that you chose to stay here for your mini honeymoon!! Hopefully we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Atmosphere that inspires relaxation.
Out of the city center, on the way between Park Glacier and Lake Louise.
Pleasant reception, clean and quiet place. Breakfast fresh and delicious and serving aesthetic

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is so great to have guests from "far away" places like Israel!! Very exciting. It was great to have you here and maybe we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the lodge and just loved this place and plan to go back next summer. The room was very comfortable and beyond our expectations. The property is very clean and well maintained too. We were surprised when we also received a full breakfast (and not the standard continental fare). Amazing views of the mountains and very quiet too!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate it.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and we would love to see you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin City, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hillside Lodge & Chalets is located 13 KM west of Golden, but if you are using a GPS you are about 3 miles short of the address that shows up on your unit. The Chalet was very clean and in good condition. We stayed in the Grizzly Chalet which had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths. What I did not like about it was a sign on the second bathroom door that said if you use the bathroom, a one time fee of $25 will be charged. A fee would also be charged if you did not wash any kitchen dishes, glasses, or utensils that you used. If you're paying $235 I don't expect to be cleaning. This was like flying on an airline that charges all the extra fees that they don't tell you about until you are at the airport.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. As we recently took this lodge over, we are looking to make changes and the charge for the second bathroom has been mentioned before.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A very nice place located away from the highway with a lovely view of the mountains. The chalet we stayed in was roomy and very comfortable for 3 adults. The walk down to the river was nice - except for the mosquitoes, but they are not unique to this location. We did not make use of the dining room, but the main lodge looked pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCToronto-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
8.7 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
8.7 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
#14 of 43 in Golden
34 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 43 in Golden
62 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Property: Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Address: 1740 Seward Frontage Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 20 beautiful acres of riverfront property, we offer 9 cabins and 2 guest rooms. We have an amazing wedding venue - a rustic barn with just enough modern touches and beautiful exposed wood to make any event stunning! It's a must see property with lots to see and do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing