We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing days after our honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Lodge and Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Alix, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing days after our honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here one night in 2010 when we first met and returned last October for a few days after our wedding. It was a quiet, cozy place to enjoy our first days as husband and wife. We brought along a chicken to roast and some of our vegetables which the owners roasted for us while we were off sightseeing. We then enjoyed a nice supper with them during our first evening. We enjoyed walking beside the river and relaxing in the hot tub - being off season, we didn't see another guest during our whole stay. The only complaint was that the bed was a bit hard - I didn't mind but my husband found it a bit too hard after a few days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are happy when our guests are happy and we hope to see you here again soon! Dinner with you was very nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Based on my communication with the owners of the Hillside, I had expected an amazing stay. When I arrived, the people who were keeping the chalet while the owners were away were extremely welcoming and kind. The cabins are very nice and cozy and could be very nice. I was very surprised when I arrived in my room to find several issues that cramped my stay. First, all the beds were very short, they appeared to be children's size. Both my head and feet could touch the ends of the bed at once. Moreover, the "king-sized" bed appeared to be two twin beds pushed together with a piece of foam covering the wood in the middle where the bed frames met. Second, the thermostat was fixed so that you could not turn the heat past 20 or so degrees Celsius. This would not have been a problem, but the lady sitting the chalet forgot to tell us that if we did not open a window in the Grizzly cabin where we were staying, then the fireplace flue would not work. As such, we could not warm the cabin by fire until after we had smoked ourselves in the cabin twice and asked her why the flue appeared not to work. Third, we were expected to leave dirty towels and garbage on the porch if we wanted them changed and put up a notice if we wanted service. Leaving garbage on the porch seems dangerous when bears are in the region. Furthermore, when we put up a service sign because we were nearly out of toilet paper in addition to our towels and garbages changed, no one came to our room. When we asked the service desk about this, they said no one puts out those signs so they do not often check for them. Forth, we had two bathrooms in our cabin, but had to pay an extra $25 if we wanted the second one unlocked. This was not a huge deal, but it seemed tacky to me. Finally, I would not stay here unless I had four-wheel drive on my car. We got suck driving up the steep narrow road on the way in one day and had to run to the office for help only to find the office empty. Although this sounds very negative, we made the most of our trip and had fun. But, I would not stay at this location again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

While this cabin is definitely cozy, and the owner friendly, sleeping on child-sized beds for four nights can give you a crick in the neck and really throw off a ski trip to Kicking Horse.

Our recent stay came with a semi-clean, very sparse kitchen, no maid service (even when leaving the sign on the door. No one came to check, "because no one ever leaves [their] signs out!", a faulty wood stove, a locked second bathroom with a charge of $25 to open it, two twins beds pushed together with memory foam in between (disguised as a King), and no outdoor garbage (not sure how that will work in the spring when the bears have awoken, and because there is no maid service you cannot expect the trash to be changed on a daily basis).

Basically for what this cabin cost, you can stay ski in/ski out in brand new, amazing condos for not much more... is it really worth it?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enuky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsideLodge, Owner at Hillside Lodge and Chalets, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I wasn't going to respond to this review because I am not quite sure how. Usually, we take criticism well and are happy to make changes to make people' stay more enjoyable but I am not sure what to do here. Our beds are standard size beds, the beds convert from twins to kings which is why the foam is there, the second bathroom was locked because this was a living social deal and you only paid $380 for two nights for 4 people INCLUDING a full breakfast. The maid service was an oversight by the person watching the lodge while we were away on our honeymoon and I do recall she apologized for that and got you what you needed. In any case, I am sorry you felt this way and hope you will one day return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I spent a weekend at Hillside Lodge and Chalets with my husband and my dog in January. It's a beautiful spot with Lovely cozy cabins. Great hottub too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsy9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a blast over New Years, the chalet was exactly what needed a wood stove and a kitchenette in the mountains! On top there was an amazing New Year's celebration organised by the owners. We joined them and other guests for an outdoor party consisting of a bonfire, fireworks, sliding & sing-a-long. We'll be back. Wonderful hospitality makes all the difference!

Room Tip: There are all kinds of options, depending what you are looking for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scully222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Had a two night stop here traveling through to Alberta. Could have stayed a week. Awesome location, great cabins. Loved the wood stove ! We will certainly be back when we are in BC again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and I have travelled BC extensively, so when we stumbled upon Sonja and Huberts paradise in the mountains we wished we'd known it sooner! Whenever we feel the need for tranquility and serenity we think of the warm hospitality at the lodge and the cozy comfort of the beautiful cabins. We hope that their children will carry on the legacy that we call Home at Hillside:)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
8.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
18.8 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#5 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
13.9 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
22.2 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge and Chalets

Property: Hillside Lodge and Chalets
Address: 1740 Seward Frontage Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 20 beautiful acres of riverfront property, we offer 9 cabins and 2 guest rooms. We have an amazing wedding venue - a rustic barn with just enough modern touches and beautiful exposed wood to make any event stunning! It's a must see property with lots to see and do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing