We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, clean and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swiss Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Village Inn
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent, clean and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The lady who obviously owned the place was friendly and never charged my charge account until we actually arrived.

It was pretty run down but it served the purpose. We were just there to sleep and shower and continue our trip.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if you want convenience. You can drive right up to your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
31
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel has seen better days. There were goog old fashioned keys instead of the security card for the room entrance, and the doors beat up from years of luggage banged against it. That said, the room was okay, reasonably clean, and the furnishings better than the exterior would suggest. No dining, so you can play 'dodge the bullet' trying to walk across the Trans Canada, or drive to eat. It was reasonable for the price, but for the same price, maybe there is a place where food is within walking distance

Room Tip: Check your dining needs before you commit to a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden hotels

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as we overnighted in Golden. Just needed. Bed and shower that were clean and this fit the bill. Nothing glamorous but friendly staff and clean. We parked our car and were able to bike everywhere in town. Close to quick food and highway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

theperson at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when it came to finding things in town. the room nothing fancy but it was spacious, very clean and reasonably priced. Will definately stop there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estrner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

we were just stopping over in Golden and this inn was a reasonable place for a reasonable price. we found it clean, quiet, comfortable, nothing fancy. the woman at the desk was friendly and willing to wait up for us, though in the end we arrived in good time.

the main thing i would have wished for it was location - it is not an easy walk to the town centre where we had a late bite to eat and a beer - just one beer as we had to drive to and from.

Room Tip: upstairs was slightly cheaper, and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

On the outside the building is certainly not the newest but my room was clean, nicely appointed, and quite spacious. The bathroom had definitely been upgraded, and was bright and new. The staff was very friendly and helpful; a very good place to stay on a Golden stop over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

now that i've stayed in golden for 5 days i've found the 'strip' hotels along hwy 1 are high priced and the value hotels are down in the city center. about a 3 minute drive. my room at the swiss village had these shortcomings: remote control didn't work, telephone didn't work, the one table lamp in the room didn't work. i starteded writing this review twice the morning i was to check out but got disconnected from the weak signal. the room was bare bones but for a refridge. shower tub was dirty with black hairs. incredibly there was no coffee maker and no coffee in the lobby. furthermore i think the place was built with balsa wood and duct tape as the person above me was one of those hyperactive overweight types making the floor thud and creak for hours on end. i paid $100 ($89 plus tax) for this? i move to Mary's Motel downtown and have twice the room at $15 a night less and peace and quiet. coffee too! need i say more?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.4 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ponderosa Motor Inn
#12 of 19 in Golden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Village Inn

Property: Swiss Village Inn
Address: 1107 14th St N | West End of Golden, Box 765, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing