We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential - Far from Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch
Ranked #32 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Potential - Far from Luxury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Golden Eco Adventure Ranch (GEAR) has amazing potential. It's location, nestled amidst picturesque mountains, is close to Banff, Radium Hot Springs, Yoho and Kootenay. GEAR also has a super friendly staff.

GEAR describes itself as "luxury" camping. Save for the beautiful shower/washing facilities, GEAR is far from luxury.

The tent sites are very small. A medium-sized tent would not fit. Compared to Provincial, National and KOA-type sites, GEAR's sites are roughly 1/3 to 1/4 the size.

What made our visit the most unpleasant was the over-abundance of mosquitos. No amount of insect repellent, campfire smoke or citronella would keep them from feasting on campers. I have camped in every Canadian province and have NEVER encountered mosquitos to this magnitude!

A quick survey of the grounds revealed many avoidable mosquito habitats. There was a pile of garbage in standing water adjacent to the camping area and the bear-proof garbage bins were overflowing. Also, the sites had poor drainage and thus had a great deal of standing water.

The mosquitos made outdoor activities at GEAR unbearable.

Mosquitos are unavoidable when camping, its part of the territory. GEAR has amazing potential but has been negligent in maintaining their grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campinGnat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent a night here on our short RV trip from Vancouver to Calgary. The ranch was easy to find and located just far enough away from the highway to be easily accessed and not hear traffic. Sure you will hear the train a lot but that's unavoidable it seems travelling through the Rockies. The sites are decently spaced apart and they have some very modern and clean showers, bathrooms and laundry facilities. The staff are friendly and generally seem to enjoy their job and want you to enjoy your stay just as much.

Room Tip: Great for RV's and Tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyGnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here a coupled days for my honeymoon and it was so much fun! We flew into Canada and could not bring a lot of camping gear so the yurts worked out great. The camp ground is located right next to a paragliding and hand gliding landing area and it was cool to watch them. Stayed here late august and the bugs were a non issue and it was sunny and warm the entire trip. We enjoyed golden and GEAR very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCA_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We drove into the campground in late July 2011 and noticed everyone was hiding out in netted shelters. Then we quickly found out that GEAR is basically located in swampland adjacent the river. It had been raining that day but not a lot and our whole site was surrounded by standing water including the fire pit. Upon exiting the vehicle we were swarmed by thousands of misquitoes. We have camped in Manitoba, Sask, Alberta, and BC and NEVER have I seen them this bad. Within minutes my toddler had bites all over her and she was wearing repellant.
The bathroom/shower house is gorgeous! However, we dont like to use our trailer bathroom unless its an emergency or late at night and there is only one bathroom and its a LONG walk.
We had booked the site for two nights but left early the next morning. Our site was so narrow there was no where to sit outside the trailer because there was water everywhere and the firepit was in the middle of a small lake.
Very unhappy with this place for mountain camping. We camp all over the Rockies and this was one of the worst we have been to. Would have preferred to stay in the National Park with no services which is what we did for the next night rather than continuing our stay here.

Room Tip: We were in site 54 - TERRIBLE!!!! Narrow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank campingmommaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Awsome campground. Has nice clean, private sites and great fire pits. The bathrooms are very clean, great free hot showers. If you;re a paraglider or hang glider, this is the place to be. You can land right inthe field at the campground and about a 1/2 hr to top of take off site. If you are a mountain biker, you can ride a few mintutes and be in the Moonraker trail system. It took me about 1/2 hr to ride to Kicking Horse on trail. Lots of moquitoes in Golden this year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

GEAR is a must for anyone traveling through Golden, or just wanting to make Golden their destination. The staff are very kind and go the extra mile when you need something, the showers and washroomare very clean, and the para-gliding in the meadow is a joy to behold.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2fromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you are looking for primitive wilderness, this isn't the place for you. But most sites are wooded. The bath house is awesome although a bit far from the tent sites. Even has laundry facilities. Evening activities like movies and cookout. The office has ice cream for sale along with free wi-fi. The property shares a field with a paragliding company so you are treated to fun to watch landings. Within 5 minutes of Golden and many hiking opportunities. Bring Deep Woods mosquito repellent though. They would do us all a favor by fogging the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ackHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
6.3 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
6.7 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
1.4 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tschurtschenthaler Lodge B and B
3.1 mi away
Kapristo Lodge
Kapristo Lodge
#14 of 42 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch

Property: Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch
Address: 872 McBeath Rd | Community of Nicholson, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Eco-Adventure Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing