We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient stop when passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“convenient stop when passing through”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is located right on highway one so it is easy to find. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and clean but the rooms were a little dated. The price of the hotel was very affordable and made this a good eal. The breakfast was coffe, juice, toast and muffins which was enough to get you started in the morning. I would stay here again as it was good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkeling13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    39
    17
    20
See reviews for
34
48
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a excellent exprerience staying in Ponderosa Inn when we visited BC. Hospitality was very good. People are very friendly and helpful. Room price is very affordable. Hotel is very clean. I would highly reccomend people to stay there if at all you get a chance to stay in Golden, B.C.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter, clean, and less noicier.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We are a family from the Netherlands taking holiday in Canada. Pondarosa Inn is on the highway but ist is quiet and cosy. There is a lot of light on the surroundings and in the room. Room is very clean and pretty. And we were welcomed by Kathy in a very pleasant way. We got a lot of information about things to do and see. Whenever I will be in Golden again I certainley stay at Pondarosa Inn.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed two nights and I had the best nights sleep of my holiday.I was there the day after the mud slide closed the Highway 1. The area was full of trucks, all overnighting. Also the Ponderosa is quite a way from the dreaded railway! Asking for a quiet room, Kathy, ( The Hostess with the Mostest) gave me a room around the back.Spot On!! Never heard a thing. I would make a beeline for the Ponderosa if in the area. Many thanks Kathy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had to stop while driving on the trans-canada. Service was great and got a nice deal from the clerk.
Rooms are what you would expect for a $ 70 a night - nice bedding.
Breakfast is very limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times when travelling between Alberta and BC. It is a great place to stay. The manager and her son could not be nicer people!!!! They always remember our names and go out of their way to ensure our stay is perfect. It is a great value, and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Ponderosa in Golden a couple of times. It is right off the highway but far enough to be quiet. It is well maintained and clean - and pet friendly! While coffee is available in the offfice after 7 am, there is none in the room. This for us is a big disadvantage as we like to get up early and head out, well before 7 am. However, the place is cheap and reliable. Has seniors rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmnarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Property: Ponderosa Motor Inn
Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing