We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Invermere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night in the Golden BW and overall we had a great experience. We had a odd number room so we had a view of the mountains and ski runs. The even rooms would have a view of another hotel. The BW is 1/2 block off the service road and we heard no traffic from the busy HWY 1. Breakfast was not a included in the stay but they did have a small cafe on site which made great fresh food. Staff were very pleasant to deal with and they allowed us to get into the pool early so we could have a swim before checking out. Pet friendly rooms.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms to get mountain view. Even rooms have view of another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast in the Lobby Cafe. Our professional staff is always happy to accomodate our guests with special requests whenever possible. They look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    84
    38
    16
    13
See reviews for
85
81
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had to stop in Golden, BC on our trip through BC and did not a reservation at a hotel in town. We stopped at the Best Western because it was 1 block off the highway, it looked presentable and the Best Western chain has a good reputation. They had room for us and made sure that we were away from the elevators. The room was huge, the bathroom was huge, the bed was comfy and it was really quiet! What a great deal for such a modest price.
The next morning, we had breakfast in the cafe and we were amazed. No meager buffet with tired food. It was a full breakfast menu made from real ingredients by a server/cook who cared about what you wanted to eat! They have real eggs - not Egg Beaters, real has browns - not the frozen ones! What a delight! I will definitley stay here the next time I am in Golden, BC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in upholding the Best Western I Care standards so that our guests have a comfortable, dependable stay. We hope that we can be a part of your next trip through BC as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Best Western and the Prestige Hotels in Golden belongs to the same chain, they are located one besides the other and they share some services like the the online reservation system.

However, they are totally different, being the Prestige the upscale version. Be carefull, because you will end paying $150+ for a room at the Best Western which is much lower in quality than a regular Motor-in.

This Best Western in Golden is all different than the others I know: This one is Noisy, old matrixes, smelly pillows, super loud toilets that you can here all night long from any room on the floor, etc, etc. Very bad exeperience.

Room Tip: Instead book a room at the Prestige Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining Best Western high I Care standards. I will send you a private message to gain further information as to the room you stayed in as there seems to be some items that have slipped through our usually high housekeeping standards. Your input will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for giving us your feedback and we hope to welcome you back so that you can experience us at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
280 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Also a disappointment is the bed covering that seems to be the new BW standard. Your choice is a overly-warm comforter, or just a sheet. Could I just have a blanket please?

If you dislike the smell of smoke, beware. Many of the rooms were formerly smoking rooms, and have not been properly converted, as other guests found out. I paid extra to stay in a (very large!) "family" room that had never been a smoking room.

Disappointed at no hot tub. Just a pool. Come on hotels! This is one of the things that (to me at least) separates a hotel from just a motel. A hot tub after long hours on the road is something I eagerly anticipate.

On the plus side, all the usuals that you would expect are in place - clean, quiet, very comfortable bed. Once my room cooled down to a reasonable temperature I slept great. Despite the hotel being right by the highway, I heard no road noise. Wi-fi signal was good, and the speed was excellent for a hotel connection.

In short, remarkably average. I'm not sure it's worth the price they charge, but since it's in a resort area it's to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you had a good night’s sleep and apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. Our staff is available around the clock to assist our guests with needs such as blankets during their stay. We hope that on your next visit to Golden, you will try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
300 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is pretty much your typical Best Western inn. Things I liked were:

1.Location. It is half a block South of the Trans-Canada highway, behind the slightly more upscale Prestige Inn. I heard no traffic noise from the semis on the Trans-Canada.

2.Room size: Above average, I'd say about 30% bigger than your normal Best Western room.

One nitpick: The hotel provides the bane of the 2 and 3-star accommodations -- the shrink-wrapped disposable cup. Not even the see-through plastic kind, but the waxed cardboard kind. How can you enjoy a cup of coffee, much less a glass of wine from one of those cups?

I thought the price pretty steep -- after a supposed AAA discount I still paid $314 for a single room for two nights, with no breakfast. But I guess if they can charge that much, I don't blame them.

Room Tip: The even-numbered rooms face the parking lot and the Prestige Inn, from the odd-numbered ones you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Feedback from our guests is always appreciated and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. I apologize that you did not care for the shrink wrap disposable cups. As we do not have a professional grade sanitizing dishwasher on site, we choose to take Best Western International’s suggestion in using the shrink wrapped cups. These ensure our guests of sanitary cupware. We hope you will appreciate our dedication to our guest’s safety and comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkinsfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Mountainview Inn on Aug 11. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the usual. Every time a dish was getting low they refilled it so there was lots to eat if you were really hungry. The room was huge, the bathroom vanity was about 8 ft so you had lots of room to spread out your stuff. The pool was extra large and very well maintained.....didn't have that chlorine smell which means it is balanced properly, The pool was cool but very refreshing. We would highly recommend this hotel for a stopover. We didn't do anything else in Golden so we can't comment on the services in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramma885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the compliments. It’s wonderful you had an enjoyable stopover in Golden. We hope that on your next visit you will have a chance to enjoy some of the great adventure opportunities in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had been here before was not going to stop in Golden this time but had to due to car trouble, our room was large and very comfortable with a great breakfast .
Large room with 2 queen beds and a very spacious bathroom

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I am so glad we were able to make your unexpected layover a pleasant one. It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to our team. I hope on your next trip, you will be able to include us in your itinerary from the start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Address: 1024 11th St N | Box 2400, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel situated off the Trans Canada Highway, 45 minutes west of Lake Louise. Spectacular mountain views. Deluxe family-size guestrooms, indoor heated swimming pool and guest laundry. Each guestroom features deluxe furnishings, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board and pay-per-view movies. Close to National Parks, hiking, skiing, golfing, whitewater rafting, snowmobiling and heli-skiing. Sport and Lifestyle packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainview Hotel Golden
Best Western Golden
Golden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing