We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the Garden Chalet with my partner and mother in law in early June and had such a special time at the Cedar House. The chalet itself was immaculately presenter with a gorgeous sparkling clean hot tub with views of the mountains - perfect to unwind in after a day of sightseeing or riding the rapids in the Kicking Horse River.

Darrin was so warm and welcoming and checked in regularly to see that we had everything we needed.

We ate at the wonderful restaurant on site and were treated royally by the chef and manager.

Cedar house really is the perfect place to get away from it all - 5 stars!

Room Tip: We loved the Garden Chalet but the newest Chalets like Dragonfly also look fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 426 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mountain View chalet for a week, and it was absolutely perfect. We took full use of the barbecue and hot tub while overlooking an amazing view. It was a treat to have a fully wheelchair accessible chalet, were accessibility was top of mind when building the chalet. Darrin was the perfect host! 6 out of 5!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I hosted our wedding at Cedar House in March this year. We stayed in the Green Chalet and most of our guests stayed in the surrounding chalets for the entire weekend. Our wedding, on the Saturday, was held in the restaurant. We had the short ceremony on the deck and then drinks followed by dinner in the restaurant. The whole weekend was amazing from start to finish. The location was perfect - stunning views, fantastic accommodation - the hot tubs were a real winner! The owner was very helpful and accommodating. The staff at the restaurant were amazing - everything ran smoothly, food was delicious and service outstanding. The owner and staff at Cedar House (both the Chalets and restaurant) really helped make our wedding perfect and provided so many happy memories for us and our guests. I look forward to getting back to Cedar House soon for a less hectic break and enjoy again the wonderful location and amenities on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you want to feel like a millionaire, spend a few nights at the brand-new Mountain View Chalet. With the finest finishings and no-detail-overlooked specs on this gorgeous, three-bedroom chalet, you’ll find yourself want for nothing.

Unassuming on the outside, once you open the door you’ll first wonder if you’re the inaugural guests because the chalet is spotless. The views of the Purcell Mountains are stunning, the windows huge, the deck astounding and everything is of exquisite quality.

The photographs speak for themselves. Mountain View Chalet is the newest and most private of the guest houses on this property, has the best views and the sound-proof windows ensure you’ll sleep in utter silence. The heated floors are luxurious and the view from the hot tub is just… jaw-dropping.

Darrin did an amazing job creating this spectacular getaway and Dana, our lovely hostess, was welcoming and provided excellent client services.

Grab a friend or two and treat yourself. And don’t miss treating yourself to an excellent dinner at the restaurant nestled on the property: it is exquisite.

Stay here. Just do.

Room Tip: I just don't see know how you can top the Mountain View Chalet. Ever.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were 2 couples staying in the "dragonfly" chalet at the Cedar House Chalets in Golden, BC. In one word, FANTASTIC in every possible ways!!!!!!
The owner, Darrin, made the start of our stay very special by greeting us on the very next day and came back on our last day so I called this, super friendly, carring and amazing personal customer service.
The rustic feel chalet has it all !!! And the view from the deck is to die for with its private hot tub and felt clean as this was my own home!!!
With no doubt, we will go back to Cedar Chalets in Golden, BC !!!
A 5 star ++++++++++ !!!!
Thank you Darrin !
Caroline and Christian :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Cedar House in the Sun Suite which has two bedrooms but can sleep six (futon in the sun room). For four 30-something city dwellers, it was perfect - private, relaxing, quiet and just a five-minute drive from downtown Golden.

The suite was immaculately clean, fully equipped and everything seemed brand new. Every evening we BBQed, soaked in the private hottub, spent a day whitewater rafting on the Kicking Horse River nearby and just enjoyed the serenity.

Even the check in and check out were hassle-free.

What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have stayed at Cedar House Restaurant and Chalets twice now, and it has become our base camp when we stay in Golden and hike or ski in Yoho, Banff, or Rogers Pass/Glacier Park. The chalets are all nicely built and come with all the amenities of home; including a hot tub and barbeque on your private deck. You get great views of the Columbia Valley below and the Purcell Mountains. The grounds are well kept and the place is very quiet. There are great hiking trails/mountain bike trails out the backdoor. The kitchens comes equipped with everything needed to make great meals, and if you don't want to cook, the restaurant is excellent and only a quick walk from your chalet.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Sun Chalet in September and this is a great chalet if you don't mind folks...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandMaryMissoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
4.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
6.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
28.8 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#7 of 43 in Golden
255 reviews
6.0 mi away
Glenogle Mountain Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets

Address: 735 Hefti Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $176 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Chalets are located 5 minutes south of Golden B.C. And provide accommodations for 1- 40 guests in 7 unique guest houses. Each chalet is privately situated among towering spruce and surrounded by mountains. All chalets feature private hot tubs, beautifully decorated interiors, locally milled wood accents, comfy beds with warm down duvets, spacious bathrooms, full kitchens,wireless internet, TV's, wood stoves, and private decks with hot tubs and gas BBQ. All private chalets are conveniently located within a short stroll to our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing