We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A treasure of a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A treasure of a find”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We hadn't really intended on visiting Golden, but wow, are we ever glad we did. The drive to the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort was awesome, our round of golf was fantastic, and the people everywhere are are so helpful and kind. Finding the Cedar House Chalets online was a treasure of a find - the Sun Suite is beautiful, our hosts were fantastic, and we really enjoyed our BBQ salmon on the patio! And the view - well, I just sat there for hours each morning with my coffee staring at the mountains, watching the birds and para-gliders floating by. What peace and serenity! Out of of Banff, Lake Louise, and Jasper. our daughter picked Golden and the Chalet as her favourite destination of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSL260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
108
213
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay--things were organized, neat and perfectly clean. The provisions were top notch and the view fantastic (yeah, God!). What a great place to take a family for some quality time in a extremely comfortable setting. The hosts were most magnificent and went over and above the call of duty to make our stay one to remember!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I and my whole family were there on June 23 and 26, 2011. It is only 5min drive after you get into Golden city. The cedar house became the first view point and fun place of our 5 days banff trip. As soon as we settled down in the cedar house, we forgot all the fatigue of the long way driving from Vancouver. The design of the house is awesome, even much more comfortable than a 5 star hotel. It is like our private home. Love the snow mountain view especially when we enjoy the time in the huge hot tub.
Darrin, the owner, is a very nice guy. We were happy to say "happy birthday" to him on the day we leaving. I just want to say: thank you again. And this place will be our "must stop" and the first and last place to live for our next time's banff trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuangling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Hi Amy,

Thank you again for the birthday wishes and the positive feedback. I look forward to seeing you and the family again.

Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I love Golden BC :)
I also adore the Cedar House Chalets... I have stayed in the Cedar chalet twice now as it is perfect for a couple or even a small family as it provided a full seperate bedroom with a pull out couch for the kids....
I stayed there with my mom & my daughter all of us as adults, we enjoyed the hot tub soooo much :)

Darrin is an absolute gentleman to deal with pleasant & open to chat with! He will make you feel welcome right away

I got to view the Green chalet which is nothing short of a masterpiece & not just a chalet the on-line pics do not do this unti justice!
Also my next visit will be in the AMAZING Sun suite completely brand new with heated tile flooring throughout! This suite also has an enclosed sun room with breathtaking view!!!

YOU will not be disappointed in these chalets! Do yourself a favour & indulge in this hidden luxury gem which is unbelievably priced well!

Thanks Darrin we will be back again & again!
Karen, Ruby & Ashley

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful compliments and for bringing three generations with you to the Cedar House. I look forward to your next visit with us!
Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Cedar House is a truly hidden gem in Golden, BC. I planned a trip for 18 people and we stayed in all 3 chalets. Everyone was happy, comfortable, and many people said they'll come back. The quality of the property was great; The smaller chalets are very charming, The big chalet is a perfect place to stay for a bigger group. The views are amazing, especially from the big chalets deck/hot tub. The owner Darrin was extremely friendly, helpful and hospitable. I highly recommend the Cedar House!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SChomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrinderosa, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Hi there S,

Thanks for the positive feedback! It sure was nice to see the whole property booked and everyone happy with their stay at the Cedar House.You are all welcome anytime! Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Went to Cedar House Chalets for a weekend with 17 other friends for a bachelor / bachelorette weekend and had an amazing time. Everything about the Cedar House Chalets was great, the smaller chalets were rustic but modern (hard to explain) and were very well kept. The largest chalet was furnished extremely well and everything seemed brand new, the view from the hot tub was amazing. I would highly recommend this place, we normally take a trip to Fernie each year for a weekend of fun but we're going to change it up and start going here because of the fantastic time we had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Hello Jonathan,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad it worked out so well for your private function. It sure was nice to see the whole wedding party reserve the Cedar House grounds for the weekend.
i look forward to your next visit.

Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 nights at the Cedar House Chalets in Golden, in the adventure Chalet. Our hosts gave us the grand tour of all three chalets, and were an invaluable source of information for our mountain biking excursions. (there is a trail from the chalets directly to Mount 7). The Adventure Chalet has a great hot tub with fantastic views, and a bed so comfortable, we both slept later than we have in years. Very quiet and private. Our dinner at the restaurant was 5 star. Thanks Darrin and Tracy.
Kory and Julie, Squamish BC

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Hello Kory and Julie,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cedar House and for the wonderful feedback you have to say about us! It sure means a lot to have someone say "The Best In Golden" it just makes it all worth it!

Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
6.1 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
6.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets

Property: Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Address: 735 Hefti Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Chalets are located 5 minutes south of Golden B.C. And provide accommodations for 1- 40 guests in 7 unique guest houses. Each chalet is privately situated among towering spruce and surrounded by mountains. All chalets feature private hot tubs, beautifully decorated interiors, locally milled wood accents, comfy beds with warm down duvets, spacious bathrooms, full kitchens,wireless internet, TV's, wood stoves, and private decks with hot tubs and gas BBQ. All private chalets are conveniently located within a short stroll to our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing