We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Lodge is big but the rooms are so tiny - I had to sleep half meter from the frig. I heard it starting every 15 minutes. They do not cover windows by drapes or shutters so you can easily awake with the first light. They call the style - vacation style. It is probably vacation for the housekeeping and office workers for sure not for customers. They do not make rooms they do not add coffee and they are located more than 10Km from any store or restaurant. The mattresses are bad and you can feel the springs.

Room Tip: Do not take a standard room - it is tiny, tiny and you can feel your spouse every step.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NetanaiNetania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodges. We are very sorry your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as we would have liked to hear. The guest rooms are quite smaller in size compared to all of the other unit within the lodges. I would encourage a 1 bedroom unit (the next unit size larger), especially if there are more than two occupants staying in the room. We also have 2 and 3 bedroom condominiums that offer even more space.

Vacation style housekeeping services means that you receive housekeeping after your third nights stay. This is very common practice in a condominium style facility. The front desk always has extra supplies on hand if any extra coffee is required, and we will even deliver it to your room upon request.
All the restaurants here are privately owned and operated. They are open during the summer season from July to Sept, and then from Dec - April during our winter season.
Thank you again for your Trip Advisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on Friday evening and were upgraded to a kitchen suite, phenomenal room and view. With it being in between seasons we had the place almost to ourselves. The front desk ladies were most helpful in restaurant recommendations. Enjoyed the deck looking up at the ski hill and took in the sunshine. Will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackdayliles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments from your stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. The shoulder season at Kicking Horse offers plenty of quiet time, as well as a nice and peaceful environment as you have suggested. It is a great place to unwind, and take in the natural surroundings and the snow capped mountain views.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we had a great stay in a one bedroom suite; awesome balcony overlooking the base of the mountain right at the gondola. couldn't have asked for a better location. underground parking and outdoor hot tub was a nice bonus. our suite was in good shape; full kitchen, dining room table, comfortable sofa and great private bedroom. as others have mentioned, the tube-style TV could use some updating but this isn't a big deal when you are on a ski trip. overall we loved it; exceeded our expectations and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjh1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I’m glad you enjoyed your accommodations mountain view and the easy ski in/out access to the Gondola. Please be sure to sign up for Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Eclub to stay current with our latest news and packages. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The lodge is excellently located for skiing in Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. From the room via a spacious ski and boot store a direct access to the gondola is available. Perfect! The bars and restaurants in the groundfloor provide drinks and food at acceptable prices. The terrace is ideal for having a good pint of local beers at the end of a skiday.
The rooms (we had 2 bedroom suite for three people) were spacious and fully equipped. In the kitchen a starter set for coffee and cleaning was complimentary. In the adjacent store a restricted assortment of food and drinks is available - at relatively high prices.
In terms of rerstaurants, the choice is restricted, owed to the loaction on the hill, quite a way from Golden.

Room Tip: We had a room to the north side (view on pool and Golden) I think it is North Western side. Here you...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winfried4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments from your recent stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. The coffee shop and slopeside bar is a favorite place among skiers at the end of a hard ski day, especially if the sun is shining on the terrace. The on mountain store does carry a limited supply of items at a marked up price, which is quite common on a ski resort. We do reccommed purchasing groceries prior to your arrival if you do plan on dining inside of your room.
Depending on which side of the property you stay on, the views of either the Rocky Mountains across the valley, or the view up towards the ski hill are incredible. I am glad that you enjoyed the convienience of our excellent ski in, ski out accommodations here at The Glacier Mountainer Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Shared a 2 bedroom unit with friends. Accommodations were adequate. Kitchen was well equipped. Although we are not skiers, we enjoyed the end of season activities. Attended a wedding at top of Kicking Horse Mountain. Scenery is breathtaking. Had a very good meal at Eagle's Eye Restaurant. Outside of resort could use some maintenance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay at Kicking Horse. Even though Kicking Horse is known for its skiing and snowboarding there is still plenty to see and do for those who don’t partake in those activities. I’m glad you were able to experience the incredible views and amazing setting that the Eagles Eye Restaurant has to offer during your visit. I have made note of the maintenance from outside the building and will make sure it gets communicated to the appropriate party. Thanks again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is great, close in, not far from the lifts. Parking can be a little tough, very limited underground and across the street, but a big public outdoor lot is available. Ice machine was not working in the building, so I had to go over to the other building for ice.

The room is pretty small, even by mountain lodging standards, but certainly clean and functional.

Hard to get settlement statement at the end of the stay, as it was booked through KHMR

Overall a good visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community from your recent stay with us. I understand your concerns with parking and it can be difficult to find a spot in the underground during high occupancy days. I’m happy to report that a new ice machine has been purchased for Mountaineer Lodge and it will be installed in May. Should you return please ask about our one, two or three bedroom units which are more accommodating when it comes to space. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome time at Kicking Horse! Accommodations were very cozy and extremely clean. The skiing was not the best but it was still decent considering the lack of snow. Peaks Grill was great for après and Corks Restaurant was a nice spot for dinner on our last night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanL866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, Operations Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the kind review from your stay with us at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I’m glad you enjoyed your accommodations along with the great eatery’s the Resort has to offer. Please be sure to sign up for Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Eclub to stay current with our latest news and packages. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 18 in Golden
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
208 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: $118 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the base of the ski runs and just steps from the gondola are the Glacier and Mountaineer lodges. These beautiful executive style condos and rooms are fully furnished and were designed with creature comfort in mind. All condos have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and spectacular views. For your relaxation and enjoyment both lodges are equipped with a fitness room complete with a sauna, steam bath and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountaineer Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing