We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and Educational experience”
Review of Beaverfoot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaverfoot Lodge
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a wonderful place to get in touch with nature! I stayed for a month and have never had such a beautiful holiday. Views are breath taking, woke up to mountain views with horses in the paddock everyday. Food was wonderful, with an emphasis on healthy eating. Home-made granola and fresh baked sour-dough bread every morning! Staff were more than happy to accommodate any additional requests. My kids were included in any of activities and made to feel welcome. Kids were thrilled to see real wildlife! Crisp, clean, 100% cotton sheets & down duvets, a luxury in the midst of wilderness!

Room Tip: This is a relaxed and easy going atmosphere, with some ruggedness. Be prepared for the real Canadia...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

The pleasure was all ours. Like you said "no bad attitudes allowed at the Beaverfoot Lodge" It was nice when you guys would emerge for a bit and entertain us all!
Sincere thanks from us and especially the wwoofers for the tip you left!! The month went by so quickly!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Beaverfoot Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very poor stay and have to say the Management is rude, Will not recommend to anyone. Raf was very rude and not nice towards my friends and I that stayed there. The rooms were very un-sanitary. The food was ok but I would not recommend to any family and friends. Not happy with the stay at all :(

Room Tip: Very poor stay and have to say the Management is rude, Will not recommend to anyone.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfoot, General Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

You are definately the worst human being that I ever met. It would be worth you writing 100 bad reviews so long as we never have to SEE your face again. Hope your life gets better and you one day see the truth and aren't so mean and jealous - that's right I should have been a psychologist.
Cheers
Raph
it's spelled Raph
do you have a name? Course not - your a NIC. Nameless internet coward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week-end in a rustic cabin. The innkeepers, Raf & Catherine, were gracious and accomodating. The cabin was cute and tidy with a lovely comfy bed. The food was quite good and we were very appreciative of their efforts to satisfy our vegetarian diet. Outstanding were the home-made breads, lasagna, interesting salads and freshly baked desserts. We noted that the chef also prepared gluten-free options for another couple.

This is the epitome of the great out doors, take in the scenery, snowshoe and sled and giggle like kids, as we did! Shout out to our constant companion, Sasha.

Room Tip: The hosts were kind enought to let us check out the Dream Cabin. We hope to snag it when we return w...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DealSeekerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Both Catherine and Raf were extremely friendly, and quickly made us feel at home. The location is second to none - surrounded by mountains and truly off the grid. A good chance to turn to clock back and enjoy the basics of a wood burning stove, and a home cooked family meal. Looking forward to a visit in the summer!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the dream chalet for Valentine's Day weekend this year. Myself and my girlfriend along with another couple. We were expecting a scenic rustic cabin and Beaverfoot lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The cabin was beautiful and was perfect for our stay. The hosts were amazing and had our fireplace lit so our cabin was warm when we arrived. The buffet breakfast was delicious, including homemade bread and preserves. It was a very welcoming environment with beautiful scenery. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to get away from the city.

Room Tip: The dream chalet has a room for everyone whether it be the loft beds or the two queen sized beds dow...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great place to get away for the weekend. We stayed in a cabin and were glad of the privacy and quiet. Top features: wood stove, snowshoeing paths, fresh baked bread, hike to Wapta Falls, our hosts and Sasha the dog.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firewalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks and we have been very fortunate to have so many friendly guests visit this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My GF and I traveled to Golden from Calgary after purchasing a two night stay at the Beaverfoot Lodge; our husbands were unable to attend so we packed up our three dogs and stayed in a quaint cabin with a wood burning fireplace overlooking the Rocky mountains.

The managers, Rahf and Catherine were two of the most hospitable people we have dealt with in the hospitality industry, willing to go out of their way to create and great experience that felt like home away from home.

We were given suggestions for a hike to one of the most beautiful waterfalls we have seen and relaxed on the acreage with the horses; the managers dog was always around to play and their two wonderful children entertained us at our family setting dinner on our second night. The cabin we stayed in was referred to as the "rustic cabin" but offered a comfortable, cozy home like setting with a living area, three bedrooms (and some of the softest bedding I have used).

If we needed something Rahf was right there to get it for us. He always checked for what time we wanted dinner (which by the way us home made and INCREDIBLE!! (Catherine, you are a divine cook), and was up every morning to make us breakfast with fresh coffee and fresh daily made bread in tow; I think my GF and I stole half a loaf for the drive home it was so good!

If you are people who enjoy the outdoors and take an appreciation for a down-to-earth atmosphere than I don't know how you won't love coming here. Some of the more elaborate cabins the Lodge has to offer are beautifully decorated and clean kept, with full kitchens and multiple bedrooms. We are DEFINITELY returning in the summer with a group of our firefighter friends and family to take advantage of this gorgeous landscape.

Our experience was incredible and could not have been possible without the warm and friendly management and team that make this place desirable. Thank you Rahf, Catherine and team for opening your arms to us and our dogs and giving us a little piece of winter paradise for the weekend. See you in the coming months!!!
:)

Room Tip: Pay attention to the e-mail Catherine will send you on how to get to the Lodge, it is off the highwa...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley-ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
23.7 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#16 of 43 in Golden
44 reviews
28.8 mi away
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
#23 of 43 in Golden
39 reviews
48.4 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#7 of 43 in Golden
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 43 in Golden
193 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
19.6 mi away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaverfoot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaverfoot Lodge

Address: Beaverfoot Forest Service Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range: $77 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaverfoot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernized wilderness log-built lodge originally constructed as a hunting cabin in 1928, offering a relaxing atmosphere, 11 comfortable rooms and great home cooking. Adjacent to Yoho National Park in the heart of Canada's Rocky Mountains, Beaverfoot is also an ideal setting for family reunions, club meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beaverfoot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing