We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's Day Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaverfoot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaverfoot Lodge
Ranked #26 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's Day Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the dream chalet for Valentine's Day weekend this year. Myself and my girlfriend along with another couple. We were expecting a scenic rustic cabin and Beaverfoot lodge exceeded all of our expectations. The cabin was beautiful and was perfect for our stay. The hosts were amazing and had our fireplace lit so our cabin was warm when we arrived. The buffet breakfast was delicious, including homemade bread and preserves. It was a very welcoming environment with beautiful scenery. I highly recommend it for anyone looking to get away from the city.

Room Tip: The dream chalet has a room for everyone whether it be the loft beds or the two queen sized beds dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    13
    5
    16
See reviews for
41
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great place to get away for the weekend. We stayed in a cabin and were glad of the privacy and quiet. Top features: wood stove, snowshoeing paths, fresh baked bread, hike to Wapta Falls, our hosts and Sasha the dog.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firewalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks and we have been very fortunate to have so many friendly guests visit this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My GF and I traveled to Golden from Calgary after purchasing a two night stay at the Beaverfoot Lodge; our husbands were unable to attend so we packed up our three dogs and stayed in a quaint cabin with a wood burning fireplace overlooking the Rocky mountains.

The managers, Rahf and Catherine were two of the most hospitable people we have dealt with in the hospitality industry, willing to go out of their way to create and great experience that felt like home away from home.

We were given suggestions for a hike to one of the most beautiful waterfalls we have seen and relaxed on the acreage with the horses; the managers dog was always around to play and their two wonderful children entertained us at our family setting dinner on our second night. The cabin we stayed in was referred to as the "rustic cabin" but offered a comfortable, cozy home like setting with a living area, three bedrooms (and some of the softest bedding I have used).

If we needed something Rahf was right there to get it for us. He always checked for what time we wanted dinner (which by the way us home made and INCREDIBLE!! (Catherine, you are a divine cook), and was up every morning to make us breakfast with fresh coffee and fresh daily made bread in tow; I think my GF and I stole half a loaf for the drive home it was so good!

If you are people who enjoy the outdoors and take an appreciation for a down-to-earth atmosphere than I don't know how you won't love coming here. Some of the more elaborate cabins the Lodge has to offer are beautifully decorated and clean kept, with full kitchens and multiple bedrooms. We are DEFINITELY returning in the summer with a group of our firefighter friends and family to take advantage of this gorgeous landscape.

Our experience was incredible and could not have been possible without the warm and friendly management and team that make this place desirable. Thank you Rahf, Catherine and team for opening your arms to us and our dogs and giving us a little piece of winter paradise for the weekend. See you in the coming months!!!
:)

Room Tip: Pay attention to the e-mail Catherine will send you on how to get to the Lodge, it is off the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley-ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Beaverfoot Lodge is a piece of paradise -from the picturesque mountain view to the horses who roam freely on the property, this is a must visit!! What really makes this lodge spectacular are the managers, Raph and Catherine. What lovely and wonderful people!! Their kids are equally amazing and the staff are also very welcoming and helpful.

My friend and I stayed in cabin 2 which is the only cabin that allows pets, that was such a bonus to us who are both dog people! Our dogs (3 of them) LOVED being out in the wilderness and having the freedom to run around. We were able to view some of the other accommodations available and they were amazing! Our cabin was rustic and great but we can't wait to bring our husbands and some more friends back to stay in the 10 person cabin this summer!

The food is incredible! Breakfast was delicious - freshly baked bread that Catherine makes every morning is so good I think we ate a while load to ourselves, Raph scrambled up some eggs and bacon for us, we had choices of two homemade granola's, fresh coffee was always brewed upon our arrival in the mornings. Dinner was above and beyond of course too, Catherine cooked for us that evening and it was so good! We both wanted all her recipes.

I was blown away by their hospitality and know this is relationship we will continue to have as we will definitely keep coming back!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Raph, Catherine, Alicia and Alec!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grap3fruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Raph and Catherine and their kids are an absolute joy and the food is second to none!
The lodge is the way it is supposed to be. My friends from Germany loved the lodge and the hosts. I am definitely going back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came out to stay in the Beaverfoot Lodge for a night and were surprisingly upgraded to the Dream Cabin! Raf (the manager) and his family were nothing but kind and welcoming the entire time and we enjoyed getting to know some of the staff. The surroundings are so peaceful and beautiful, and the Dream Cabin was awesome! It had beds enough to sleep 10 (including a cozy loft for the kids or more adventurous adults), a kitchen with natural gas stove, and two bathrooms. The wood-burning furnace made this place feel especially rustic and the scenery is incredible.
We loved staying out there and already started thinking about our next visit. We would definitely stay more than one night next time.

Also, the bacon was delicious.

Room Tip: The cabin had a wood burning fireplace which you had to keep track of during the night to maintain a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraDanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Glad you guys could enjoy the cabin!! And we have solved the stove issue for your next visit.......

Cheers
Raph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beaverfoot Lodge was an amazing choice for a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is nestled in the mountains (which are stunning) and feels like home. The manager and his family are wonderful people who try their best to make you feel so welcome and comfortable during your stay. I would recommend Beaverfoot to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
24.0 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
24.0 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
23.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
7.7 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#19 of 42 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
19.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaverfoot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaverfoot Lodge

Property: Beaverfoot Lodge
Address: Beaverfoot Forest Service Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaverfoot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernized wilderness log-built lodge originally constructed as a hunting cabin in 1928, offering a relaxing atmosphere, 11 comfortable rooms and great home cooking. Adjacent to Yoho National Park in the heart of Canada's Rocky Mountains, Beaverfoot is also an ideal setting for family reunions, club meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Beaverfoot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing