We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Golden”

Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cedar House is a casual fine dining establishment that offers fresh, local and organic foods, made using produce from the on-site garden. Canadian wines, craft beers and fantastic cocktails! We are open at 5:00pm daily and last seating is 9:30pm.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Wow, I know this is going to sound like a cliche but YOU JUST GOTTA EAT HERE.
Especially now that Darrin is back at the helm, his unwavering attention to detail shines through with every mouthful. The atmosphere is undoubtedly back with exceptional food and service all washed down with a smile and a laugh.
Having just had a wounderful 3 course meal we came away totally happy and can’t wait to return and try out another delicious offering.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Hi andy c,

Thank you so much for the fabulous review of our restaurant!
We're please to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful meal with us and are already looking forward to your next visit.
Darrin truly loves looking after all our guests, restaurant or chalet and it is people such as yourself that keep him going.
Thanks again for stopping in to dine with us and we can't wait to have you back again.

Have the best day.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 393 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2019

Delicious food, great service from Darrin, and a lovely setting with a crackling fire! Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Yolanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Hi Yolanda W,

Thanks for the amazing review!!
I will be sure to pass on to Darrin and our Chef Kamil, they will be most happy.
We look forward to your next visit.

Have a spectacular day.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We had a great meal here. Service was attentive, and we were appreciative of the fact that the restaurant prepared high chairs for our babies before arrival.

Food was amazing as well. Lobster fondue and the expresso/whiskey rub bison short ribs were highlights, but most of their menu was excellent. We tried quite a number of dishes “family style” and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank henrycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Hi henrycw,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a great review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinning experience and we hope to see you very soon.

Thank you and have a lovely day,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Highly recommend Cedar House Restaurant in Golden B.C. The menu, staff and setting was all outstanding. An enjoyable evening and meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CNDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Hi CNDTravel,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a great review and Happy Anniversary!
We are very happy you enjoyed your dinning experience and we hope that you will come and visit us soon!

Darrin and the rest of the restaurant staff love to go above and beyond to please all our guests and even more when they are celebrating such important events such as your anniversary.

Thank you so much and have a great day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Upon entering the restaurant, we were warmly welcomed by the owner!

The service, food and atmosphere was outstanding. All staff were genuine and friendly with regular check in's to ensure our food and comfort was always looked after. We really enjoyed the burning wood stove which added to the overall ambiance and experience.

We highly recommend Cedar House Restaurant and Chalets and look forward to going back soon!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Selina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
top50, Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Hi Selina M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!
Happy to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience with us here in our restaurant, the wood burning stove definitely adds to the charm.
Darrin and the staff take great pride in making sure all of our guests are well cared for, whether they are a restaurant guests, chalet guest or both.

Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you again.

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing