We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding food”

Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cedar House is a casual fine dining establishment that offers fresh,local and organic foods,made using produce from the on-site garden.Canadian wines,Craft beers and fantastic cocktails! ***TEMPORARILY CLOSED FROM APRIL 18, 2016 MONDAY TO MAY 17, 2016 TUESDAY***
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were very impressed by The Cedar House Restaurant. The food, atmosphere, setting, and hosts were fantastic! A definite must when going to Golden.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    31
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secret Getaway”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We wanted to go somewhere different for dinner the one night we were passing through - this was three years ago! The concierge at our hotel recommended the Cedar House. It is off the beaten track, 5 kilometers off the highway up in the mountains. Very secluded. Our dinner was great. The ingredients were locally grown - I think the menu featured many "organic" dishes. We sat on the patio overlooking a beautiful lawn where you could actually see the big vegetable garden where the veggies for our meal were picked. The sun was setting, the temperature was perfect for sitting outdoors, the birds were singing and the odd bunny rabbit hopped within our view. It was romantic to say the least. The service was also good and had we known that you could actually rent a cabin there, we would have. If you really want time away from the hussle and bussle, this is the place to be.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PandSMacHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“love it!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

great food, great view. often not open when we visit golden only yearly. always will try to see if open tho.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gormet dining at its best!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Incredibly good food with service second to none! This is one place we never miss dining at when staying in the Golden BC area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had a great meal here as part of a trip through town; save room for dessert as it was out-of-this-world good. In addition to great food, the service was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RyanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets also viewed

Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing