We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place”
Review of Canyon Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bells, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This home was one of the nicest and cleanest B&B's we have stayed in. Hosts Kat and Paul were so kind and they really enjoy their B&B and it shows. Their home and rooms were immaculate. We stayed in room 1 which had two queen beds, small desk for computer and a very nice bathroom with heated floors and even a heated towel rack. The yard had a hot tub and seating area with a screened in tent to keep the mosquitoes away. Paul even arranged our dinner plans at a local restaurant which was quite nice and great food. If you are looking for a great host and clean home, do not look any further. This is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
158
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a great stop for me on my way to Jasper. Beautiful home, immaculate clean, very comfortable and great location. There are restaurants within walking distance and easy access to hwy. But the best part of this b&b is the hosts. They were so helpful to me without being intrusive. I told them I was meeting a friend in Jasper who had MS and I wasn't sure what sites she would be able to hike to. They were so helpful to me to tell me what are "must sees", which hikes were easy and where I could have handicapped access. This was key information that made our trip a success. Thank you Paul and Kit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan5124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Three years ago some of my girl friends and I have started a tradition to go white water rafting in Golden. Finding an good accomodation was tougher than facing the rapids. The first hotel was far less then desirable, having to ask for clean sheets before going to bed. The second hotel was much cleaner but the room was quite small for us to be comfortable. This year we decided to try a B&B, couldn't be much worse, right??? WOW! I can't say enough great things about this place. The locations was perfect, nice, quiet and a beautiful view. The owners were funny, friendly and very easy to get along with. They went out of their way to make sure our private entrance apartment was customized for us as we changed the number of guests the last night. Relaxing in the hot tub eased the bumps from the day on the river. I actually have a problem writing this review as the next time we go to Golden I hope they are not too busy to have us stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We used this B&B as our base for exploring Yoho, Banff, and Kootenay National Parks. We stayed 5 days in the Purcell Suite. Excellent, clean, quiet, large, comfortable one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and our own separate entrance. Our hostess was super kind and patient. Due to the great Calgary floods, we had to make a number of last minute changes to our trip and she patiently worked with us and was super accommodating as we finalized our plans. She also booked us a great white water rafting trip with Glacier Rafting. This was truly a home away from home. It was an easy 5 minute drive to town for food shopping. Soby's supermarket had the best bakery and we got some scrumptious cakes and croissants from there. We were able to prepare our lunches for super picnics during our hikes. A real plus allowing us to really enjoy the beautiful scenery at leisure.

It was about a 45 minute drive through a beautifully paved and gorgeous highway to Lake Louise. We saw tons of animals on our drives. There was no traffic congestion and the drive was very pleasant.

Yoho is just 20 minutes from Canyon Ridge (see my review on Yoho) and the hot springs of Kootenay is about 1 hour away (see my review on Fairmont Hot Springs).

Everything about Canyon Ridge is excellent. Only one little suggestion: The suite does not have air conditioning. It is not a problem as it never got really hot or muggy. However, the duvet provided was a bit heavy on the hotter nights and a lighter covering would be more comfortable for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Canyon Ridge Lodge for 3 nights in July and I must say that this is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in - and we do a lot of travelling!

The host, Kat, was fabulous and could not have been more helpful - and a fellow Brit! Breakfast was of a very high standard and plentiful - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as cooked options, make to order by Kat each morning while she tells you the best places to visit in the Rockies. The bedrooms are also of a very high standard together with a fabulous bathroom, really top end finish. There is also a large separate lounge, just for guests to use, where you are also able to make your own tea and coffee, with a small fridge where you can keep your wine chilled before you jump in the hot-tub. Bliss.....

Cannot recommend more highly - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneUK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We only had the pleasure of staying one night. This was the first time we ever stayed at a B&B. Boy did we ever set the bar high for expectations after staying here. Our first impression was why we never tried B&B's before.

Kat was the prefect hostess. She was very friendly and loved to mingle with the guests. She engaged everyone staying there and passionately promoted the area. It was just a great start to our holiday. The breakfast choices seem endless.

An amazing place to relax.
Thank again Kat (I love your accent too)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B was absolutely wonderful. Kat (sp), the owner/hostess could not be more accommodating. The place was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and a great value. The breakfast was extraordinary! Berries of all kinds on the table with a choice of breads, muffins, spreads, and eggs. Kat also served as a concierge giving prudent advice to the choices of activities of the area. Unfortunately, there were flooded out roads during our stay, and with her assistance, we were able to efficiently navigate our way to the next destination. We rate this the maximum amount one can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
3.9 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ridge Lodge

Property: Canyon Ridge Lodge
Address: 1392 Pine Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyon Ridge Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Ridge Lodge is a beautiful timber frame lodge. There are three lovely bed and breakfast rooms which all have their own en-suite private bathrooms. The rooms share access to the guest lounge, a big garden, patio and hot tub. For longer stays there is the spacious Purcell Suite, a king size, self-catered suite for up to four people. All rooms have towels and complimentary toiletries available for your use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canyon Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing