We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Canyon Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We used this B&B as our base for exploring Yoho, Banff, and Kootenay National Parks. We stayed 5 days in the Purcell Suite. Excellent, clean, quiet, large, comfortable one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and our own separate entrance. Our hostess was super kind and patient. Due to the great Calgary floods, we had to make a number of last minute changes to our trip and she patiently worked with us and was super accommodating as we finalized our plans. She also booked us a great white water rafting trip with Glacier Rafting. This was truly a home away from home. It was an easy 5 minute drive to town for food shopping. Soby's supermarket had the best bakery and we got some scrumptious cakes and croissants from there. We were able to prepare our lunches for super picnics during our hikes. A real plus allowing us to really enjoy the beautiful scenery at leisure.

It was about a 45 minute drive through a beautifully paved and gorgeous highway to Lake Louise. We saw tons of animals on our drives. There was no traffic congestion and the drive was very pleasant.

Yoho is just 20 minutes from Canyon Ridge (see my review on Yoho) and the hot springs of Kootenay is about 1 hour away (see my review on Fairmont Hot Springs).

Everything about Canyon Ridge is excellent. Only one little suggestion: The suite does not have air conditioning. It is not a problem as it never got really hot or muggy. However, the duvet provided was a bit heavy on the hotter nights and a lighter covering would be more comfortable for sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Canyon Ridge Lodge for 3 nights in July and I must say that this is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in - and we do a lot of travelling!

The host, Kat, was fabulous and could not have been more helpful - and a fellow Brit! Breakfast was of a very high standard and plentiful - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as cooked options, make to order by Kat each morning while she tells you the best places to visit in the Rockies. The bedrooms are also of a very high standard together with a fabulous bathroom, really top end finish. There is also a large separate lounge, just for guests to use, where you are also able to make your own tea and coffee, with a small fridge where you can keep your wine chilled before you jump in the hot-tub. Bliss.....

Cannot recommend more highly - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneUK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We only had the pleasure of staying one night. This was the first time we ever stayed at a B&B. Boy did we ever set the bar high for expectations after staying here. Our first impression was why we never tried B&B's before.

Kat was the prefect hostess. She was very friendly and loved to mingle with the guests. She engaged everyone staying there and passionately promoted the area. It was just a great start to our holiday. The breakfast choices seem endless.

An amazing place to relax.
Thank again Kat (I love your accent too)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B was absolutely wonderful. Kat (sp), the owner/hostess could not be more accommodating. The place was spotlessly clean, comfortable, and a great value. The breakfast was extraordinary! Berries of all kinds on the table with a choice of breads, muffins, spreads, and eggs. Kat also served as a concierge giving prudent advice to the choices of activities of the area. Unfortunately, there were flooded out roads during our stay, and with her assistance, we were able to efficiently navigate our way to the next destination. We rate this the maximum amount one can.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We felt utterly spoiled with our too brief stay at Canyon Ridge Lodge
Cat is a fabulous host, breakfast is seriously sumptuous (greatest variety we've seen)
A choice of 3 rooms (B&B) sharing a lounge or a separate self contained unit

Room Tip: A must stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay with Kat and Paul and Roxy in the Canyon Ridge Lodge added a lot to the pleasure of our holiday tour in British Columbia and Alberta.
Kat's breakfast, made while nicely chatting with her in openness and frankness, gives power for a whole day. Her tips for what to do and where to go were very useful.
The room was of an example of how a good b&b should be and the bed was hard to leave.... The garden, well taken care of by Paul, is beautiful and offered unexpected surprises; the hot tub is a source of relaxation.
Roxy's pebble-bracelet is a lovely souvenir to help us remember this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ineke en Koos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

A night in Golden was not originally planned, however due to the rain and consequent flooding in Alberta, especially Calgary, our itinerary changed direction. Golden was a safe drive from Banff as we had managed to get a last minute booking due to a cancellation. We were so pleasantly surprised by our welcoming hosts, Kat and Paul, as they went out of their way to introduce us to their home and our accommodation for the night. We had a comfortable queen bed, luxurious ensuite bathroom and shared sitting room. Plus access to the outdoor jacuzzi if we desired.
We stayed on a Saturday and they helped us book dinner at late notice in a local restaurant, which we loved, called 1122. Included was breakfast, which surpassed our expectations, sumptuous does not do it justice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
0.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
0.2 mi away
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Home Lodge
Home Lodge
#2 of 19 in Golden
183 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tschurtschenthaler Lodge B and B
23.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ridge Lodge

Address: 1392 Pine Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range: $97 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyon Ridge Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Ridge Lodge is a beautiful timber frame lodge. There are three lovely bed and breakfast rooms which all have their own en-suite private bathrooms. The rooms share access to the guest lounge, a big garden, patio and hot tub. For longer stays there is the spacious Purcell Suite, a king size, self-catered suite for up to four people. All rooms have towels and complimentary toiletries available for your use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canyon Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing