We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern room in log house”
Review of Canyon Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Ridge Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A modern room in log house”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a very warm welcome when we arrived on a very wet day. They are so right to have a house on top of the ridge. With so much rain, you don't get flooded ;-). The location is very quiet (which we like), the rooms are very comfy, as was the guest lounge. We booked for one night, but we almost had to stay for 2 nights, because of a mudslide. They gave us all the information where to get updates about the road, the things we could do, since we had to stick around a little longer, so we went to Yoho. Lucky for us the road opened later the day, so we could continue our tour. On the other hand it wouldn't have been bad to stay an extra night. And don't forget the breakfast! The fresh fruit (so many berries), toast and much more, perfect! Kat and Paul, say hi to Boo. We liked your stories about him.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Guys,
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us =) Also, I'm glad you enjoyed your extra time in Yoho National Park, it's very beautiful, whatever the weather =) ...oh, and I will most certainly say hi to Boo @ Kicking Horse for you, before he puts his head down for Winter!
All the best for now
Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
162
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose this place b/c it is very close to Yoho National Park. Other than Field (within Yoho N.P.), Golden offers a variety of restaurants, motels and grocery stores to choose from.
We stayed with Kat, Paul and Roxy during our Canadian Rockies trip this year in July/August.
Their hospitality, advice on the area and the lodge itself have all been excellent. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you, right back at you =) We're really glad that we could help you with advice about the area and that you had an enjoyable stay with us here.
I'm glad you were happy with your choice of Golden as a nice alternative to Field or Lake Louise when visiting the Yoho, Banff, Glacier or Kootenay National Parks as Golden does have a nice variety of restaurants and stores etc but still a lovely relaxed small town feel.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we'd love to see you again if you are ever back in this area =)
All the best for now, Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Even tho are time there was very short, we definetely enjoyed the experience. Built in 2007, especially for a bed & breakfast arrangement. Kat & Peter were wonderful hosts! Also enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with an assortment of berries, toast, eggs, etc. Would definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your nice pictures and some lovely words about your stay. You are a lovely family and it was a pleasure to meet you all and have you stay here, even if it was a flying visit =)
If you find your way back to Golden, we'd love to have you stay with us again here at Canyon Ridge Lodge.
All the best to you and your family.
Many Thanks
Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmthout, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Everything was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and Kat was very helpful. The room was great , clean and very nice. Don't forget to jump in the hot tube ! The breakfast was also good. With Kat you learn also something about the real life in Canada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you! It was lovely to have met you and it's also really nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us =)
It's true, the hot tub is a nice way to relax after a long day of sightseeing/hiking for sure. Oh, and a good breakfast is definitely a great way to start the day.
Once again thank you for taking the time to share you experience, it means a lot to us =)
All the best for now, Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Finally a B&B which doesn't look like a used goods store. We enjoyed our stay and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and modern with a good size bathroom (we stayed in the 2 queen room). Breakfast was more than we would ever ask for.

Room Tip: The 2 queen room is very nice if you travel with kids or if you just want to have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for this really lovely review. Our Double Queen Room is a great flexible room for family's to share or for those who just like to have a bit more space and I'm glad that you liked your stay here with us =)
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in BC and wish you all the best in your future decisions. You are most welcome here anytime!
Warmest Regards.
Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lothian, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our two night stay with Kat and Paul at Canyon Ridge Lodge was one of the highlights of a great rockies adventure. Relaxed and welcoming, they provided everything we needed for a very, very comfortable stay- from the fantastic breakfasts (fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, breads, eggs) to an inspired, modern, beautifully designed guest room complete with very comfortable bed and linen, great bathroom with strong shower and flat-screen TV/wifi on tap. As well as providing useful maps, guides and booklets in the guest lounge, they gave us personal, well-informed information and recommendations on where to eat and where to visit locally- and we weren't disappointed. If we are ever over this side of the world again- we know where we will be staying!!! Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyannemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hi Guys, Aww... when I read your review, it was like you were back in the room. You are such a lovely and vibrant couple and it was a pleasure having you stay with us =) 5* guests for sure.
I'm so glad we were able to help give you some local advice on the parks etc and that you found your bed nice and comfortable too.
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation and you certainly are most welcome to stay here again if you find yourself in Golden.
All the best for now and perhaps we'll see you again sometime!
Cheers, Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful lodge. Kat was very warm and welcoming,
made us a really delicious breakfast. She was very helpful in giving us tips about
where to go in the area.
Everything is set up with the intent of giving their guests value for their money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdkoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatPaulandRoxy, Owner at Canyon Ridge Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted that you had a great stay and a delicious breakfast =) It is very nice of you to share your experience. Many Thanks and Best wishes for the future, Kat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.0 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Ridge Lodge

Property: Canyon Ridge Lodge
Address: 1392 Pine Dr, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canyon Ridge Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Ridge Lodge is a beautiful timber frame lodge. There are three lovely bed and breakfast rooms which all have their own en-suite private bathrooms. The rooms share access to the guest lounge, a big garden, patio and hot tub. For longer stays there is the spacious Purcell Suite, a king size, self-catered suite for up to four people. All rooms have towels and complimentary toiletries available for your use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canyon Ridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing