We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Golden
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
67
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long driveway downstairs suite surrounded by nature the dining room table bed and breakfast incredible breakfast wonderful room every morning bacon and eggs ensuite bathroom purcell suite we loved our stay highly recommend this b b home away from home golden bc perfect location stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2019

We absolutely loved Back to the Land! Sandy and Patrick are super lovely humans. We were spoilt every morning at breakfast with absolutely delicious home made, wholesome food. Sandy even nailed it with my vegan diet. We stayed in the Purcell Suite, the room and the view are like nowhere i have ever been before. So comfy and cosy! The B&B is full of beautiful big and little details. We were even graced with a glimpse of a bear cub crossing the driveway on our last afternoon there. Perfect location in the middle of many different national parks. There’s not enough room for the words to describe this place, it’s just perfect. It's not even all that far from the quirky town of Golden where there are a few good places to get meals or have a drink. We drove over each day.

Room tip: Purcell Suite has a Balcony and the view is mountains, need I say more?
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 85abi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandyr2013, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us. We’re so happy that you enjoyed the Purcell king room in our loft. The view of the Purcell mountain range is definitely something to get excited about. We hope you had a safe trip home and that you’ll find your way back to us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

We stayed here for 5 nights. Yes that meant we had 5 delicious breakfasts in Sandy and Patrick's dining room with lovely views out to the mountains. Our choice was the Columbia room because we could pull our car right up to the door with no steps to our private hide-away. This B and B deserves all the excellent ratings it has received. First of all and most important is that it is spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need to feel at home. The Columbia Suite has a separate living room with a large screen TV, small refrigerator with beverages, a leather couch and lounger, and most important for us was a Keurig coffee machine with a constant stock of coffee, teas, hot chocolate and mugs. Many pillow types, comfy beds, big bath towels and a very inviting deep soak bathtub (with a device to hold your book. Our hosts are very anxious to please and offered good suggestions for restaurants. Our favorite was Eleven22 and Turning Point. The icing on the cake was when Sandy knocked on our door to let us know we could see a bear from our window just on the other side of the driveway.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

We are honoured to have had the opportunity to host you for 5 nights and are pleased beyond words that you enjoyed your stay so much! The black bear doesn't always come to visit but when he/she does, we try to alert everyone. It's always a delight for us to see wildlife as well, so we're doubly gratified that we could share it a bit of the wild Rockies with you, despite all the rain! Best wishes for a safe journey home! Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two of the most fabulous days ever. This truly is a remarkable place with the most perfect hosts. The homemade breakfasts are the best we’ve had in Canada! Peaceful, quiet, beautiful surroundings. We’ll definitely be coming back! Thank you for a very enjoyable and tranquil stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sallyl580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Wow! Thank you for leaving us such a flattering review. We really appreciate it. And furthermore, we give you a perfect score as well. We do hope you find your way here again. Best wishes and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

I stayed at Back to the Land for a week August 2019. I've been to quite a few BnBs in my time, but I have to say that Sandy strikes what I would call a perfect balance in all the categories. I would highly recommend you book her BnB for your visits to the Rockies.

They are about a 5 or so minute drive out of town, with a long driveway through the woods and up a hill that opens onto a beautiful clearing wherein you see the loghouse and a spectacular view of the mountains. The interior is just as charming, especially if you are looking for that warm, cozy loghome feel with the sophistication of a recently renovated interior. Let's just say that no matter what season you arrive, you'll feel instantly comfortable.

Speaking of comfort, the BnB definitely has more to offer you in that category. Sandy, it turns out, is a sort of connoisseur of mattresses and a strong believer in the power of a good night's sleep. As such, she has put only the best quality mattresses in each room, complete with a selection of pillows and a gorgeous duvet. If you are upstairs, you'll eventually find yourself wandering into the mezzanine lounge where you have a mini fridge and a variety of coffees and teas at your disposal. Watch out: if you curl up in the reclining chair by the window (again, that view!) with a good book and a mug of coffee, you may never want to get out!!

To futher develop this idea of ultimate comfort: the food. You leave well-fed and ready to take on the mountains! Sandy prides herself in her breakfasts, and as guests who stayed for more than a couple days we did not repeat breakfasts even once. She has a wide variety of recipes that she makes for breakfast, all of which I'd call comfort food (of the breakfast variety). Bacon and eggs, spinach quiche, creamy balkan yoghurt with berries, pancakes and maple syrup... sip your coffee whilst you watch the hummingbirds flit around her birdfeeders. Keep your eyes out for their resident black bear who has been known to wander by the garden on some of his daily constitutionals.

Sandy and her husband Patrick are the typical Canadian model of sweet, friendly, and hard-working, yet incredibly laid-back people. They can advise you and help narrow down what day-trips to take (the amount of options can be overwhelming at first), what restaurants to visit, and what kind of car to rent before you arrive (hint hint: they know what they are talking about). They don't treat you like hotel guests-- you are in their home, but they also give you lots of privacy and don't hover over you either. They are always happy to chat if you feel like it. They are incredibly down-to-Earth, sincere hosts. Be honest with them if you have a request or preference about something and they will do their best to make it work.

Beautiful, cozy, clean home, rooms with balconies and ensuite bathrooms, great food, good location, and once you've looked at the prices of what you get for a basic hotel room in Golden you'll realise that Back to the Land is an absolute steal in terms of quality-price ratio. Don't hesitate to book this BnB. This way, no matter what happens on your trip, you're guaranteed to be very happy where you chose to stay.

Thanks Sandy and Patrick for making this trip to BC one we will never forget!

Other things:
The BnB's location works as an excellent access point to a number of national parks and other attractions. Everyone knows about Banff (incredibly crowded), but very close to the BnB is highly underrated Yoho National Park, along with Kootenay, both of which boast beautiful lakes, waterfalls, hikes, etc. Don't miss out!!

Room tip: Best view from the Purcell room
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deskrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you deskrabbit for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really appreciate your opinion and we're sure that other potential guests reading this will have a better understanding of what we offer at our B&B. Please come again! Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Back to the Land B&B was amazing!!. It was very clean. Bed was great. Sandy and Patrick were great hosts. My husband and I were on a Canadian Vacation celebrating our 60th birthdays. Sandy and Patrick made it special. Sandy made pancakes and put a sparkler in them. She also had birthday music playing. Both breakfasts were delicious. We also sat with a fire in the outside fire pit and roasted marshmallows with other guests. They have a very nice mountain view. I'd stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

You are very kind to leave us such a wonderful review. We give you a perfect score as well as we believe the ratings should go both ways. You were a delight to host and we're glad that we helped you celebrate your birthday. Best wishes for safe travels in future. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews