We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
53
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrounded by nature breakfast was delicious long driveway downstairs suite log home views are spectacular lounge area fantastic hosts pleasure of staying we loved our stay own bathroom close to town overlooking the mountains highly recommend this b b common room comfortable stay bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and we couldn’t be happier with our decision. There was a lot of snow on their long driveway and unfortunately our car got stuck because we didn’t have a 4WD or snow tires. If you have either of these, you wouldn’t have a problem driving up the driveway. Luckily, Patrick rescued us and towed our car out of the snow bank. Sandy and Patrick were very accommodating and understanding. Sandy offered us a refund because it’s a long walk up the driveway, but we insisted on staying and we were not disappointed! We loved our Purcell suite and my husband and I didn’t mind walking up and down their beautiful driveway! It was approximately a 7 min walk down and a 10 min walk up. We found the walk refreshing, especially after a big dinner :)
Sandy’s breakfasts are also amazing and we loved our stay there! Thank you so much Sandy and Patrick

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thetravelingdentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our lower level Columbia Room (not Purcell), despite the annoyance of getting stuck and having to walk. We felt so bad about that! It's good advice though to others that they must have authentic winter tires, or Mud & Snow (M&S) tires with 4x4 to get anywhere safely in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, and definitely our steep driveway since it is quite snow-packed in winter. "All-Season" tires are not appropriate for Canadian winters. We sincerely appreciate your sense of adventure and good humour. Best wishes for your future travels, Sandy& Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We loved our three night stay at back to the land! Phenomenal views, cosy atmosphere and scrumptious food. Sandy and Patrick are inviting and friendly hosts. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone - Cody & Andrea

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank hughesandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Cody & Andrea, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We very much appreciate it and wish you the best for your upcoming wedding! Blessings, Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with Sandy and Patrick for 2 nights, wish it could’ve been 5! Not only eco-sensitive but everything was entirely thought out and fantastic. Bedding, towels, complimentary bath products, coffee and breakfast were all exemplary. No detail has been missed. Look so forward to returning for another visit!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Can't wait to have you join us again! Thank you so much for this kind review. We really appreciate it. Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

My wife & I spent a wonderful 6 days/nights at the Back To The Land B&B. After driving up a long gravel road, we were greeted with a view of a beautiful log cabin in the woods. Our room (Yoho) was gorgeous & comfortable (the beds were amazing)- hence my wife's succinct description "Rustic Luxury". Each morning we were greeted with an incredible breakfast, shared each day with visitors from all over the world, or so it seemed. Our hosts, Sandy & Patrick were fantastic- we began the week as strangers & ended the week as friends. The location of the B&B is in close proximity to Banff & Jasper National Parks in the Canadian Rockies. The town of Golden, British Columbia, is small, but has all the amenities a traveler needs, including shopping & restaurants. We have already started planning on visiting Sandy & Patrick in the future & getting "Back To The Land."

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soccerdad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Soccerdad! Thank you for writing this gracious review on Trip Advisor. It helps potential guests decide if they want to stay with us. We particularly enjoyed that you stayed multiple nights with us, which allows for a friendship bond that one-nighters doesn't. Stay in touch with us on FaceBook for updates on our progress with the cabins. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us again!! Cheers, Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

This has been our fourth visit, twice in winter, once in springtime and now, summer. Each visit has been just as pleasing as the previous, plus we get the pleasure and privilege of calling Patrick and Sandy our friends.

As an outdoor enthusiast, I find the location great, just 10-15 minutes to skiing and mountain bike riding, and for conveniences like restaurants and shops, we like how quickly we’re shopping and dining.

The front porch with the beautiful hanging baskets, and welcoming deck furniture is new to us this summer, and a lovely addition to appreciate the view.

I’ve commented already on the great rooms and delicious breakfasts, and this visit just reinforces those great reviews. Sandy and Patrick pay great attention to detail.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rick2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRoecken, Owner at Back To The Land B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Thank you Rick2619! It's always a treat to have return guests such as yourselves, and especially nice for you since you've been able to see our home in virtually all seasons. And you've stayed in all of our rooms too! We hope to have you back again soon. Winter is just around the corner! Take care! Sandy & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews