We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, no complaints”
Review of Rondo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rondo Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, no complaints”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rondo as a pit stop between destinations so it was a short stay but very comfortable. Has everything you need, they could do with new linen but it certainly wasn't bad. We particularly appreciated the free parking right outside the rooms and close proximity to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Buttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    52
    52
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
56
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A nice simple motel in Golden, BC.
Good way to give back to the local community and local people. Looks like a nice independent motel in the heart of the town of Golden, BC. Close to the downtown area. Close to grocery stores and Convenience store. Also some nice restaurants within walking distance. Here you get a very nice accommodation for fraction of the price of what you pay for at the resort. Sure it is nice to have a ski in ski out property beside the lift. But for one person 300 a night is a bit steep.
At Rondo Motel, you get a nice parking spot by your door. Makes it easy to store your skis inside after a day on the slopes. You are no more then a 10 minute drive from the Kicking Horse Resort.
Area is very safe and quiet. You will not hear anything to disturb your sleep at night. Check in was the fastest I have seen in the world. I show up at the desk and guy gave me the key. Nothing said or signed. very fast.
Each room gets WIFI all included. Good hot water. Microwave, Fridge, clean carpet. And all towels cleaned everyday. Always that new carpet smell every day I came back from skiing.
Would Recommend this motel to single, families, couples ,seniors or anyone on a small budget. Good bang for the buck. Would stay here again as I will be coming back in 2014!!.

check out www.excitingworldtravels.com

Room Tip: Take ground floor. As it is handy if you have lots of gear to take from car to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wow! Value for money is exceptional. At only $60 a night for a room for two, spotlessly clean, with a microwave and fridge, this little motel competes with the larger much more expensive motels in Golden. Great to be in the townsite and able to patronize the small cafes and shops in the center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Rondo. Our unit was on the second floor and hauling the luggage up the stairs was a bit of a chore. While the unit was clean, the decor and furniture were clearly dated. The washroom while clean was a bit spartan and the linens were a bit thin. I would stay here again if no other location was available but I think it is over-priced by about 10-15% given the age and condition of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

we had some prejudice about cheap hotels in the small town of Golden, but the Rondo, despite being relatively cheap (in Canadian terms, especially compared with Banff and Jasper) proved just as adequate, if not as posh, as other, more expensive hotels and motels we stayed in, and offered great mountain views.
It has wifi, a microwave and a small TV, and uniquely, an electric kettle, where you can prepare instant coffee, even more disgusting than the horrible brewed coffee available in more expensive places. Otherwise, for the prize, its great

Room Tip: upper floor rooms probably have better views - but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Room was clean and quiet but smaller than normal. Motel has not been refurbished for years. No frills,. No pool. Hot tub "closed for summer." Located in older section of town with city adminstration buildings in neighborhood. Outside looks like a rundown dump but rooms okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerdude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Golden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
450 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.0 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondo Motel

Property: Rondo Motel
Address: 824 Park Dr | PO Box 258, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rondo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rondo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing