We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Village Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over easter weekend and for the amount of time we actually were in the room it seemed ok, the beds were very comfortable, the room was very cold when we got there but after turning the heat on it quickly heated up! Check is was simple and really quick! the man with a cool accent was super nice. He allowed us to look at the room to decide if we wanted it or not and he also was very helpful with good places to eat and things to check out! The things we didnt like were.... The walls were paper thin!!!! You could hear every word that was being said! And also our neighbors were smoking in their room and we could smell it in our room, that sucked being that I'm allergic to smoke lol as for check out, the office was closed so we just dropped the key in the box! Then done! all in all it was alright, I'd stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funinthesun014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear funinthesun014 ;

Thank you for your review on TA. All feedback is very important to me. Our front desk prides themselves on providing great customer service and I happy to hear that you were pleased.

We are working on trying to soundproof the rooms a little better and are considering a major renovation. However I understand your concern and it something that is on the top of my mind. As far as the smoking incident, you will be happy to know that we have implemented a smoking charge to any guest found smoking in a non smoking room and they will be billed for the cleaning cost to the room at a rate of $500.00. We have had plenty of success with the program and have found more guests choose not to smoke or step outside away from the building.

Once again thanks for the feedback!

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean rooms and nice lobby. I had a good chat with the owner and he was a freindly guy.
The locations ok, next to a restaurant. Good food.
The only thing is that cars are parked in front of your door so if the neighbor gets a very early start, that could wake you up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Jeff C:

Thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to make sure all guests have a voice at our property. With your help our goal is to become a return stop for you and your family.

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the place to be adequate. Both the heater and air-conditioner were working. The beds were better than what we slept on the night before in Merritt. But that is all. The towels in the bathroom were almost threadbare!

Breakfast is not included and there was no fridge in our room. To cool some beer I had to put some ice in one of the garbage cans. Not exactly an elegant situation.

Our room was under $100 so that was a plus.

We were here on a Sunday night and there isn't much to do in Golden. We checked out the village and most things were closed. Luckily, the Kicking Horse Palace Chinese Restaurant on site was open and the food was actually pretty good. My partner commented that this was some of the best Chinese food he's ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear kanadai;

Thank you for your feedback on TA.

Since your stay we have addressed all the issues that you mentioned. Our goal is to improve quality control on all products and amenities as well the quality of your stay. We have also included fridges and microwaves in all rooms.

Once again thanks for all your feedback and I hope to see you back soon.

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

In Mid July 2012 i had occasion to stay there while travelling from Ont to Kelona for the first time
This was the most expensive place I stayed in and had the least desirable accomodations
tub was very dirty bed was an extemelly hard matteress laying on a piece of plywood no box spring
advertised price on sign was 69 dollars but of course that was for a single which of course there were none left at 5PM ended up paying 122 dollars with taxes
there was no fridge or microwave in the room which every other place we stayed provided and which they advertise
Chairs on balcony were filthy

Room Tip: Pass this one by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Gordon A:

Thank you for your feedback. Since your stay we have updated all our rooms. As far as rate are concerned we are reasonably prices in comparison to all other properties in Golden. Our housekeeping staff is working hard to make sure cleanliness is top priority. All our rooms now have fridges and microwaves. We have updated our property and continue to do so. I hope that you give us a second chance to prove we are worth the stay.

Thanks

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The sign said $69 a night, but that is for a single room. Double is $89 and with taxes was about $110. It did have free wi-fi, and laminate flooring, no yukky carpets, but other than that, not much to write home about. The toilet seat was round, on an oval toilet. The blankets had holes in them. The power went off in the night for about five minutes, with no emergency lighting. Even the phone was dead. There is no free breakfast. It was an okay room, with ample parking, and there is a Chinese restaurant next door if you happen to be there at lunch or supper time.
Oh, and another thing, the walls of this motel are paper thin, so be careful what you say.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same, facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croydonprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear croydonprincess:

Thank you for your feedback on TA. Our rates are based on per person occupancy and competitive with all the hotels in the Golden area. We do now have free Wi-Fi. We have updated all rooms and are currently continuing our renovation. This includes new blankets, linens, towels, and amenities. We have also introduced a new phone system allowing easy guest use.

I hope you give us another try in the near future.

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

When we came into the room, we noticed a strange smell. Towels were worn, grey and also did not smell nice. The worst thing, however, was a chair with a loose seat. When I knelt on it to fetch something, the seat broke into the frame and I hurt my leg badly. We strongly recommend not to go there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paganini58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Paganini58:

I am sorry to hear about your stay. I don't understand how the chair broke. However we are currently replacing all furniture. However since your stay in 2012 all furniture had all ready been replaced. I hope you give me a second try. Please email me at pavi@goldenvillageinn.com I would like to speak with you about your stay.

Thanks
Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Red Deer from Vancouver. We stopped cause it was only $69+tax. The pool that we were looking forward to was closed down at 8pm. So we just went to our room. You can tell they are slowing doing renos to the rooms. We found the rooms very cold at first and bare. No fridge, microwave or even clock. Front desk guy seemed nice and just a straight forward guy. Over all it wasn't too bad for only stopping over night along the drive. I will probably stay where theres breakfast and a working pool next time though. Just our preference.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vhubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Vhubley

Thank you for your feedback on TA. I hope we are in future travel plans. We have recently undergone and are continuing in a massive motel wide renovation and welcome you stay with us once again.

Thanks

Pavi Khunkhun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 17 in Golden
478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 17 in Golden
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.2 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Village Lodge

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Golden)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: $59 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing