We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had the Buffet!”

New Golden Star Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 43 Restaurants in Hope
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We had the Buffet!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister was visiting me in Hope, and felt like Chinese food so we headed over to the New Golden Star Restaurant. We had the Buffet and it was just put out so the food was hot and fresh. There was also ice cream. For a small town my sister thought the buffet was pretty good and so did I.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinnalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK Chinese food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Average Chinese food.

Nothing special.

Smorgasbord offered - it's incredibly average. But, for $14 you can fill your face if you want to.

I'm from Victoria BC where we have easily a dozen great places to go for Chinese food. This place is average.

To much batter on the chicken balls - that was below average. Other than that it was OK.

With that being said, I would go back if I was staying in Hope again and wanted Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well cooked”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everything was exceptionally well cooked. I do recommend to other customers that make sure you call to place an order instead of going there to order because this place is packed on Saturday, so save yourself some time and call before you come and pick up the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

All youcaneat buffet is very good and tasty at a reasonable price!
Love the desserts!
The other Chinese restaurant food is too oily and too much batter with MSG(face turns red)and no chicken wings in their buffet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeZaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Reasonable price and nice woman who cleans well..very clean and open.You can watch the main street so you see people shopping and the buffet does not make my cheeks red like the other place so I think no msg..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank agnes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Golden Star Restaurant also viewed

 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to New Golden Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing