We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gravey” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Restaurant

Home Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrison Hot Springs
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gravey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed last night. Had the roast turkey dinner. Could not taste the food as gravy was smothered on everything. Gross
Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank NEILMAC264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    150
    47
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a "must" when passing through Hope, BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

easy off and back on the highway (Hope Princeton Highway) whether you are heading east or west. great home style breakfast, lunch and dinner options - good service, but usually quite busy, so plan to either get there just before the crowd or wait (worth the wait). reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeulahCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is such a great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We often pass thru or stay in Hope and we always eat here. Never had a bad meal and the price is always competitive. The quality of food, the presentation of the meal and the service is very good. Definitely suggest this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Titetown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent diner food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Busy restaurant; servers seemed a bit flustered but were friendly and helpful. The menu is standard "diner" type food. The green salad was the typical iceberg lettuce with a bit of grated carrot etc, and cucumber slices and cherry toms - fresh & crispy. Accompanying sandwiches were good - steak sandwich & chicken melt. Good lemon meringue pie - HUGE slice, big enough for two.

Prices are reasonable. Would eat there again; nothing fancy but it was well prepared.

Caveat: The servers seemed just a bit inefficient for the number of diners they were coping with; restaurant was aboult half full; I suspect that when it is really full things would be even slower. The food came out in a timely manner, and we got one follow-up visit, but no offers of drink refills etc. until after we were finished our food. We waited a while for our bill, then got up to leave, at which point our waitress rushed over, said that she needed to track down the Interac machine, and we waited a bit longer until she sorted herself out. But she tried hard, and was, as already mentioned, well-meaning and friendly.

Overall a cheerful atmosphere. I wish I could give a 3 & a half star rating - that would be most accurate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 'Home' cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Against advice from a local hotel owner, we gave it a try. We were so impressed by the service, quality of food and quantity. OK not a 'first' class resturant, it's a dinner but we found it great. The pie selection was fantastic, we had the cherry pie, mouthwatering. Would recommend to all passing through Hope. Go on give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Restaurant also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Home Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing