We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Food - Employee Issue”

Sharon's Deli & Lunch Bar
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“OK Food - Employee Issue”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our first time in Hope, a lovely small town along the Fraser River. Stopped in to Sharon's hoping to capture a little more of that quaint hometown feel. It was dated and a bit rustic as one could plainly see from the storefront and that was ok as we were just looking for a light lunch. However, due to the crowd waiting to be seated we ordered to go and planned to eat across the street in Hope's lovely Memorial Park.

Here's where the employee issue came in. About 5 minutes after ordering our food TO GO the kitchen staff Sharon(?) asked if our order was "to go" so we said "yes" so Sharon(?) told the waitress to remember she needed to write that on the order form. The waitress, right in front of us mind you, told her we never told her we wanted it "to go". Then, when the take out was ready my wife observed the waitress go into the kitchen, handle our food with her unwashed hands and wrap it. My wife then called her over and told her she observed this and wanted the food prepared again. The waitress vocally denied she ever touched the food. Sharon(?) had no comment.

In lieu of making a scene in front of other folks waiting to get in we paid and left which was probably not the way to have handled it. What food we did eat was unremarkable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Unity, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely ladies, limited menu”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Homey feeling, very pleasant staff. No gluten free or paleo/primal options for those on modified diets. Run of the mill deli sandwiches, though they were made fresh and they don't skimp on the fillings. If you know that all you want is soup, sandwich and coffee, they have an $8 deal that is pretty hard to beat. Be warned - they serve ripple chips as a side to their sandwiches - not the nutrition I need to fuel my day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0seiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice Lunch. the ladies serving were very nice in there. had a world map on the wall and we signed it as many others have from all over the world. us being Aussies. I'm glad I could have the opportunity to say I thought this place was fun and good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
“Cheap, clean, ample, simple food in a small town”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Sharon's is bright with big windows and varnished wood picnic style tables. There is a lunch soup and sandwich special which includes coffee or tea, self-serve. The soup was ahamburger type soup, filling and tasty and the sandwich was a regular ham and cheese with lots of lettuce and tomato. Coffee is served in a big urn, help yourself. the whole experience was friendly
and downphome. She also has deli meats and cheeses to take away and make your own lunch. It's nice to find a decent place to eat when you're on the road in a small town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passasinglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sharon's deli is the best place to go if you have an empty stomach that needs filling!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Sharons deli has a wonderful environment her cheery mood always makes my day better, not only is the food awesome, the price is awesome aswell! Cant get any better than that !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misskrissylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharon's Deli & Lunch Bar also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Sharon's Deli & Lunch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing