We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope is Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slumber Lodge Motel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hope is Fantastic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family of five recently stayed in Hope BC, which was half way between Kelowna and Vancouver. The Slumber Lodge Motel had clean rooms, a pool and was located in downtown Hope. I liked that the hotel had a two bedroom that would accomodate five without a pull out or cot. What I did not like was the windows did not open, so the room felt stuffy. We really enjoyed the city, the views of the mountains, the Fraser River, and the coffee from the Blue Moose were all fantastic. The wood carvings were so interesting, we enjoyed walking the town and discovering them all. We also hiked the Othello tunnels, a truly remarkable journey. We will visit Hope again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schaible_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
21
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed overnight with 4 grandkids; despite the posted pool hours, we were allowed to use the pool from 9:00 to 10:15 pm (after the Brigade Days fireworks) and again the next morning for over an hour. The room was large enough, and on the same side as the pool, so didn't have to worry about kids crossing the parking lot. Room and beds comfortable, microwave and small fridge handy when travelling with kids. However, the room was way too hot! the air conditioner was noisy, so we could be comfortable and listen to the rattle, or too hot and quiet enough to sleep; I was up and down quite a few times, and none of us got much sleep. However, the kids keep asking to go back, so it served our needs ok. Likely better when there isn't a hot spell. Family restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for the shady side (if there is such a room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have been staying at this motel for a couple of years - it is on the way to our cabin, and makes a good stop over if we leave home late on a Friday. THey have dog-friendly rooms (book ahead to book as there aren't many). There is a pool which we haven't actually used (only open 6 to 9 pm), but it looks good (small, but great for kids). Rooms are clean. Staff are friendly. Beds are comportable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finedinerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My partner asked me yesterday why I haven't written a review of Slumberlodge as we were there recently and I told him that I didn't want people to think I was on their payroll but he pointed out that we did stay there and we did rave about it to our friends in the area so why not do an update.
Well it remains the best motel that we stay in on our many trips to BC.
The rooms are not only spotlessly clean but they are furnished with cream coloured upholstered chairs and pale carpets so that you are in no doubt at all about their cleanliness. The rooms we stayed in (3 different ones as we kept checking out as we went out of the area, then returning) all had new mattresses which was much appreciated. Coffee and tea making equipment and supplies are replenished daily, as are the complementary toiletries and towels in the bathroom.
I don't think we are super nitpicky but we do expect cleanliness, lots of hot water and value for money and Slumberlodge never disappoints!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank muskokagal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've stayed here several times en route from Seattle to Silver Star. We find the price reasonable, the beds comfortable, the rooms clean and quiet, the free wi-fi functional, and the service pleasant. There's a good diner just across the parking lot too. There's an indoor pool, although it has been non-operational the last couple of times we've visited - so if this is important to you, check first.

Room Tip: We've always had a load of gear, stayed on the ground floor, and never had a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CohomomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The Slumber Lodge is completely acceptable for a night or two if you are passing through Hope and need a place to sleep. The choices for motels in Hope are pretty slim and this is probably one of the better ones in town.

The beds aren't the most comfortable and the walls are thin (I heard snoring from the room next door) but overall it is a decent place. Plus the price is reasonable (at least in winter) and it is located right across the street from Rolly's, a great breakfast spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Cycling across Canada in late winter is certainly a challenge; but what was difficult in finding a place to stay in Hope was finding a place that was cost effective (camp-grounds all currently closed) while being liveable and comfortable.

They certainly lived up to those standards and more and I am really impressed with how awesome they were. There have been complains of cleanliness and customer service by other posters and like a few others, I looked and genuinely tried to find something to complain about; unsuccessful in that here are my thoughts:

-this is not a Hilton, so don't expect it to be. The rooms are clean, the beds are tidy and there is no lingering odours from the previous guests (smell was brought up in one of the other reviews). There won't be a mint sitting on the pillow but I was happy to see a coffee maker with all the fixings for a good cup of tea.

-Desk service was courteous and very helpful; with one staff listing off all the great local eateries for a hungry cyclist on a budget. The manager (I stayed a little past checkout-mechanical trouble) was understanding and really helped me out.

I dinged points on Location and Sleep Quality simply because they are one of the furthest (by furthest in Hope you really won't have to walk over 1KM) motels from the down town while a lovely patron thought it would be funny to sound their car alarm near midnight.

I would definitely stay again and am putting the word out that they are very accommodating to cyclists. They ensured I had a ground floor room and the staff at the front desk even brought some ice to my room from upstairs when she heard I had crashed earlier in the day. If that isn't a good show of how great they are here than I don't know how much more proof you need!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Canada_Cyclist18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hope hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#5 of 20 in Hope
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Hope
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hope
Travelodge Hope
#12 of 20 in Hope
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slumber Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Lodge Motel

Property: Slumber Lodge Motel
Address: 250 Fort Street | Box 909, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Slumber Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Slumber Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing