We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not up to Resort standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copper Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Invermere
Certificate of Excellence
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service not up to Resort standards”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are well appointed but the quality stops there. A central air conditioning unit is mounted in a separate room directly attached to the master bedroom. This provides cool air for both bedrooms and the central living area. Picture your furnace in your mechanical room and then picture your self sleeping 5 feet away. Very noisy and then the belt that ran the fan squeaked all night.
We also found out soon enough that the ice maker in our unit was broken and reported this to the front desk but this was never fixed.
The first morning after our arrival my wife pulled a drawer open which was broken. It fell right out of its spot and hurt her foot which she had to wrap for the rest of our stay. This also was reported to staff but never repaired.
We ended up on the main floor and found we could hear anytime some one moved above us or next door to us. For a place that bills itself as deluxe accomodations you would figure they would have done a little better with there planning.
Staff both poolside and in the Elements resteraunt were courteous but definitely understaffed.
My daughter called directly to Copper point to book a spa treatment. They provided her a phone number which she phoned and booked with. When we arrived she found out they booked her in there downtown location instead of the one at the resort. Disappointingly she cancelled.
Copper Point resort is nothing more then a time share unit but at resort prices with out the service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Castlegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmar P, General Manager at Copper Point Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide with your valuable feed back, we can certainly see your points. We did not respond to requests for service for the ice-maker nor the broken drawer and for that we greatly apologize. Our work-order system will give us some idea where we missed these calls. We will also double check the telephone number we have for Fusions Spa, why your appointment was scheduled in town is a mystery for sure. Depending on the suite, the air conditioning unit fan may indeed have to work hard to hold temperatures in large areas, and unfortunately these sometimes can be noisy. However, we do try to find units with faulty fans to address these guest concerns. Noise transference between guest rooms is something I have not been able to avoid in over 35 years in the hotel business, either in the hotels I have managed or stayed on vacation. There can be a vast difference in noise when comparing business hotels and leisure hotels. We are sorry your experience was not a happy one. Otherwise we hope you enjoyed our other facilities and the Invermere area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    458
    190
    82
    45
See reviews for
486
575
15
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from Copperpoint Resort and felt it important to let future customers and the GM and F & B Manager know about our experience there. We have travelled a great deal, abroad and within our country and this is the first review I have written and felt the need to do so. We booked a two bedroom suite for one night as our daughters were joining us to help us celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Our second night there was a standard room for just my husband and I. We did ask for the best view online and again over the phone and was assured by the front desk they would put in the request. Our view was the children's playground and the back parking lot which was very disappointing. My husband did go to the front desk to express our disappointment but it was afternoon and rooms were full by then.

The 2 bedroom suite with 2 1/2 bathrooms was pretty amazing.. Design and decor is very modern and attention to detail first class. We had a TV screen in the mirror of our master bedroom which we all thought was very cool. Beds were very comfortable and patios, yes we had two, had comfy wicker furniture.

We spent most of each day poolside which is beautiful. Great loungers and lovely, clean pool. This is where we first encountered the lack of staff to provide adequate service. Temps were almost 30 degrees C both days and one server was run off her feet. She was making drinks in the bar for herself and the other two servers and had to cover the restaurant and the pool. She also had two flights of stairs down to the pool and then had to serve the drinks. We were very patient with her as she always got our order correct and she apologized several times for the wait and by wait I mean 20-30 minutes. We were told we could go up to the bar but she was so busy running drinks there was no one there to take our order and a waiter would have to carry them to the pool. We also noticed the restaurant manager not doing anything to help out. We were planning on going to dinner at Elements but quickly changed our minds after the pool service. We did go into Invermere to a great restaurant called The Birchwood where our service was excellent and the meal was delicious.

We did have breakfast on the patio the following day. Service again was slow. Given coffees with no milk/sugar/cutlery by the time waiter brought it our coffee was cold. Once Samantha took our order things went smoother. What a sweet girl - she made our unpleasant experience better both days!

So with all that being said I hope managers will improve service at Elements and the pool. You have a beautiful resort but people will not return if the service is bad. Both our daughters and there friends travel from Alberta to BC and Montana on ski trips and long weekends - they said they would think twice about suggesting Copperpoint to friends because of the service.

We live in Nova Scotia were great hospitality and great service is a must to our visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NStraveller884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmar P, General Manager at Copper Point Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments. We appreciate that you would care enough and take time to write down your observations.
Your analysis of the slow servers has been noted and will be addressed as we add personnel and conduct more training.
There will also be some experimentation with a poolside BBQ and beverage station to alleviate those stairs you mentioned.
Thank you for your kind words about the guest suites, pool area and general ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This resort has it all, the amenities are excellent....pool was thoroughly enjoyed by our entire family. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. The modern look is very appealing and made us feel like we splurged on a luxury suite without paying ridiculous prices. We had two patios and made use of the (electric) bbq and ensuite kitchen for most of our meals.

If you are a light sleeper, you need to be aware that the sound between suites is quite noticable.....from people walking around in the room above, to the sound of people using the toilets next door.

We had no issues with the water temperature in our suite and the air conditioning was perfect. Underground parking on these hot summer days were appreciated!

Other than a little noise - which didn't bother me too much, this is a great place to consider taking your family for vacation.....I wouldn't say this is a romantic getaway for two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerelE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Resort and we loved it.
The Resort is somewhat far out side Invermere itself so you need a car to go into town or need groceries.

We had a bit of a rough start as the water in the room was stone cold and it took awhile before the finally found out it was the whole 3th floor that was without hot water.
And the next day the forgot to clean the room.

Did not go to the restaurant but it definately looks nice.

The property is well maintained but think there are still some startup issues.

Nevertheless would recommend the Resort

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for a weekend here and it is a very nice property. All new with a great location but it isn't ideal if you want to walk anywhere but the local Timmy's. It is completely on the other side of Invermere itself and you must drive if you want to get anywhere.

Got a great deal on Priceline.com for a pre-paid room; saved about $40 per night. Stayed in the lead in room which was comfortable with all new and updated amenities; microwave, fridge, wetbar, flatscreen tv, free wifi which even works at the pool! Did not like the beds however. They had a memory foam cover on them which is fine if you don't move when you sleep but if you do, it's just a lumpy mess. So not comfortable.

Shower left a bit to be desired. Was very on trend with dual flush toilet but the shower head lacks in efficiency what they chose it for in visual appeal. Took a while to figure out how the heck it works and didn't get used to it at all. It's opposite for cold/warm which throws you off when you climb in! The complimentary robes are spectacular especially for use when you go down to the hot tub/pool.

Pool and two hot tubs outside are fantastic when the weather is nice. Excellent indoor pool and hot tub that opens glass walls to the outside when it's warm. Really nice. Free towels for use so you don't have to bring your own.

Elements Grill leaves a bit to be desired. Very much a small town approach to hospitality. Incredibly slow service from the host who sat us and was supposed to bring us our drinks. We asked for a wine list and he brought it along with samples and a bottle of "his recommendation" of wine. It was not on the list and was VERY pricey... not really a stunner either. When we looked a the list it was by the bottle only. About 10 minutes later he came back and we asked for what they had by the glass. He said he'd be right back with it. Let me mention, there were four tables in the restaurant. Finally a server came by and we ordered our appetizer and entrees all at once. Again asked for the wines by the glass list from her and the host again. Our appetizer came before our wines by the glass menu arrived. We were starving and didn't care. In the end, the food was very good - surprisingly so considering the service issues. Kudos to the kitchen.

Copper Point has two golf courses and they are quite nice. The property actually overlooks the one and it's very nice and generally, the hotel is secluded. Lot's of families with kids that love jumping into the pool and screaming but you just have to put the headphones in and zone out.

Overall, nice property and I'd definitely return. Underground parking is a huge plus in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaTangoZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Fantastic facility for a holiday - not a budget holiday though. Beautiful rooms and fine dining. In the heart of the Columbia Valley, lots to explore, close to hot springs all around. We had a ground floor room with a patio table facing garden, great view of mountains. We were pretty isolated though as we booked using a Groupon, so we were in a "bargain" room and had a long walk to lobby. Even the discount room was excellent though. Restaurant a bit pricey and very upscale. Breakfast included OK nothing special.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side will have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an awesome resort. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a view and it was as good as a room can get. Kitchen, 1.5 bathrooms, in site wash & dryer, beautiful view from the walkout balcony, 2 nice flat LCD TV's, electric BBQ on balcony and free underground parking. The pool facility is fantastic. An indoor and outdoor pool with a total of 3 jaccuzis. Pool side service is a bit slow and under staffed however. The front desk staff is really good at what they do. In particular a young lady named Melissa was wonderful. She really went out of her way several times to help us with directions and several other requests. The one complaint that I have is that the bed was unusully hard and uncomfortable. We'll be back for sure. Well worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Rent the 1 bedroom with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiffypop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermere
1.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
373 reviews
14.3 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#9 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kanata Inns Invermere
The Kanata Inns Invermere
#3 of 3 in Invermere
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Point Resort

Property: Copper Point Resort
Address: 760 Cooper Rd, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Invermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copper Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with gorgeous Rocky Mountain views and a staff that loves outdoor pursuits as much as you do. After a day on our onsite championship golf courses or nearby ski slopes, float in the stunning indoor or outdoor pool. A soothing treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Point Hotel Invermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing